Donna C. (darkcoffeeclouds) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 110 - Page:
Comeback
Comeback
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 5/6/2017


I thought this was a good book even though it took me a bit to get used to the different British lingo. I guess I haven't watched enough BBC TV. Peter Darwin works for the Civil Service and is given a new assignment in Gloucestershire, England where he lived as a child. His mother worked as a secretary at the horse races then so he grew up around them and had wanted to race himself one day. He is interested in seeing his old neighborhood again. He befriends a man there that is a local Vet and surgeon to the racehorses. He confides in Peter that he is worried about his reputation because recently several horses have died unexpectedly. As Peter begins to learn more about this mystery he is also recognizing names and places from when he was a child.


The Crowns of Croswald
The Crowns of Croswald
Author: D.E. Night
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2019


To be honest, when I first started this book I thought it was just a Harry Potter wannabe but it didn't take long to see how very different the story was. I am really glad it was different too. I actually loved it and especially love the creative mind of the author. I loved the idea of black unicorns driven by the dark Queen and shorehorses. All of it actually! I wanted to go there and be a student at the Halls of Ivy. The story is about Ivy who was an orphan who worked in the kitchen at one of the castles. The slurry fields around the castle blocked magic so she never knew she could do magic until she had to leave. A lot of amazing things began to happen immediately as she left that place and she received her invitation to the Halls of Ivy, school of magic. There she was finally able to make some friends and eventually, learn about herself and where she came from. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.


A Darker Place (aka The Birth of a New Moon)
A Darker Place (aka The Birth of a New Moon)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/11/2018


Anne Waverly, a respected University professor who specializes in alternative religious movements, goes undercover again to learn more about a community called Change that has branches in Arizona, England, and Japan. She found it easy to get into the community when a young girl, who looked a lot like her dead daughter and who hadn't been speaking took an interest in her. The young girl spoke to her and even laughed. She learned about her brother Jason and found herself determined to keep these children safe. She was slowly learning the secrets of the Change community in Arizona but not enough to call in her FBI counterpart to take over. Then she, along with the two kids and one other child were sent to the England branch for more advanced training with Jacob. They quickly realized things were not the same at the England branch and she was scared for herself and the kids and decided she needed to contact Glen with the FBI and fast! The problem was, he had no authority in England.

This book was slow moving but held my attention until the end but the ending was very abrupt and left me with a lot of questions.


Deadline
Deadline
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/27/2018


This story got my attention very early on and kept it the whole way through. It was a good story. I really like the way it sounded like an old detective novel only it is about a journalist. Walker is just starting work at the Tribune in New York but before he gets there he happens to see a fire and hears people screaming at a small carnival. A circus tent was on fire, the fabric going up like paper. He went to help and a fireman asked for his help carrying a small body out on a stretcher. It was the body of a young girl and seeing her young form affected him deeply. Later, as the number of deaths increased, he kept tabs on the story and was surprised to learn that no one ever came to claim the young girl's body. He had been given another story to work on but he wasn't interested. He began trying to figure out the identity of that little girl who was eventually buried in a pauper's grave by the coroner. He knew there must be a big story there and there was. It was so big in fact, that finding out might cost his life.


The Deed in the Attic (Annie's Attic Mysteries, Bk 9)
The Deed in the Attic (Annie's Attic Mysteries, Bk 9)
Author: K. D. McCrite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/11/2017


I had a hard time getting into this book. I felt that the characters were again seeming out of character. The way Annie was bossing Alice around seemed rude and unlike her and then there was a lot of silliness when they were checking out the property. It didn't get interesting for me until almost at the end when all of the answers came suddenly and all at once.


Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?
Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?
Author: Steven Tyler, David Dalton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/30/2018


Terrible. So I knew they were crazy, did a lot of drugs and assumed a lot of crazy sex but I didn't not expect that to be pretty much the whole book. I did enjoy the first few chapters about his childhood. I looked up the people and songs he mentioned and listened to some of them online. Then, he starts talking about doing drugs and doings sex and fighting with his band mates and he sounded like a whiny child. He truly only thinks about himself and justifies his actions while at the same time acknowledging he was wrong and sorry. This book was a rambling mess and unfortunately there are things you can't unknow.


Dolphin Song (Animal Healer, Bk 2)
Dolphin Song (Animal Healer, Bk 2)
Author: Lauren St. John
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/24/2017


I am 45 but really enjoyed this book. I read the first book in the series about a year ago and loved that story too. I plan to read the other books in the series and any others that come out. I think Lauren St. John is a great writer and I love it that she is teaching children to be more conscious of animals and our environment. This story was full of adventure. Martine and her classmates go on a class trip to see the sardine run and help count the dugongs. The other kids are not kind to Martine or Ben, a boy whom no one has heard speak at school. While on the cruise they did see the sardine run and also some dolphins but then a terrible storm engulfs the boat and several students are lost overboard. What happens next is terrifying and amazing.


Don't Tell
Don't Tell
Author: Karen Rose
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 10/11/2017


This book is very similar to Stephen King's Rose Madder which I just happened to have read last month. The basic story line is the same.

An abused wife is put in the hospital by her husband but she can't get help because her husband is a cop. The other local police don't believe he would abuse his wife and just take his word for it that she is clumsy. When he comes to visit her in the hospital her tells her she better keep quiet or he'll finish the job next time. She knows he will. She finally comes up with a plan to escape with her son and lives for several years before he figures out what happened and comes looking for her. She had just met someone and had fallen in love with him but she knows she can never marry him because she is still married to her husband.

I enjoyed this book even though I don't like romance. The story kept me interested and even when I wasn't reading I was thinking about it.


Emeralds in the Attic (Annie's Attic, Bk 10)
Emeralds in the Attic (Annie's Attic, Bk 10)
Author: Jan Fields
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/17/2017


This cozy mystery was interesting and a quick read. I like that it didn't start the same as so many of the others. The group of women did go up to the attic looking for something but the mystery wasn't immediately found there. It still involved something that was found in the attic but it because of what happened later. I liked this author's writing style better than a lot of the others. The ending was rather uneventful but I still enjoyed the book.


Every Little Thing About You (Yellow Rose, Bk 1)
Every Little Thing About You (Yellow Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good little book with unforgettable characters. The writing is very light and easy and makes me think back to the days of watching the little house on the prairie as a little girl. This book was not in my preferred genre but once I read the summary I couldn't put it down. The old western feel of the story and the wonderful characters pull you in. I can't wait to read the other two books in the trilogy, A Texas Sky and City Girl.


The Face on the Milk Carton
The Face on the Milk Carton
Author: Caroline B. Cooney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 9/15/2016


I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I read it in one evening. Now I want to read the other books in the series.


First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1706
Review Date: 2/17/2018


Lindsay is an inspector for the San Francisco Police Department. She gets hit with world shattering news about her health the same day she meets Chris Raleigh, who has been assigned to work with her on a potentially messy case. He works for the mayor and his job is to keep things neat and contained as much as possible while also helping with the case. They are trying to catch a killer who murders newly weds. Cindy, a reporter for the Chronicle who is trying to get a scoop on the case somehow manages to get up to the floor of the hotel where the first murders were committed. She gets a peek at the groom on the floor by the door before she is found and hauled out. Later, Cindy sees Lindsay go into the ladies room in an emotional mess and follows her. She didn´t just push for details though, she was kind. She is smart and a good reporter but also seems to be human and possibly a good friend. Later when they meet again where another newly married couple have been reported missing Lindsay decides to make a deal with Cindy to keep things under control. They end up becoming friends in the process. Lindsay, who is dealing with this new shock about her health decides she has to solve this case and decides to ask some female friends for help. She and three other women who have also clawed their way to the top in their respected fields decide to put their heads together and work on the case independently. They meet regularly to discuss the details of the case while Lindsay and her partner track down more leads officially. It was the start of the Women´s Murder Club.


The Fleet Street Murders (Charles Lenox, Bk 3)
The Fleet Street Murders (Charles Lenox, Bk 3)
Author: Charles Finch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/26/2017


In this book Lenox is interested in a double murder he read about in the papers. Two journalists were killed within 5 minutes of each other. When they arrest a man Lenox is certain they have arrested the wrong man but he can´t look into it seriously because he is suddenly whisked off to Stirrington to campaign for a seat for Parliament. He was planning to run after the current seat holder retired but when he suddenly passes away Lenox only has a few weeks to campaign. A lot is going on in London and he yearns to be back but he has to do his best to convince the people of Stirrington that he would look out for their bests interests.


Flight of the Sparrows (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
Flight of the Sparrows (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
Author: Annie Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/18/2011


I love mysteries and also love books that keep God in mind. This book is written in easy language that children could also follow and enjoy. Kate and her friend Bonnie are getting ready to enjoy some birdwatching, especially the upcoming festival planned for watching for some rare sparrows expected to come their way. Only instead of seeing a lot of birds they see a lack there of... especially in a certain area. They meet some odd newcomers and talk to some other people from town who are acting oddly and try to piece together the details. Kate is known for solving mysteries but can she figure this one out?


For the Least of These (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
For the Least of These (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
Author: Charlotte Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/1/2011


This was such a great story. I loved how Kate took the time with these kids giving them jobs to do before she really knew what was going on. Think about it, how would you really react if a scroungy looking kid came into your yard like that. Most people would run them off thinking kids are more trouble then they are worth. Turns out these kids really did need help and they didn't know who to turn to because they mom told them to not talk to anyone.... but where was she? And why hasn't she come back?


Ghosts of the Titanic
Ghosts of the Titanic
Author: James Cameron, Charles R. Pellegrino
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/23/2017


This book was the answer to (almost) everything I ever wondered about the Titanic. This is a book of immense detail and overlapping accounts of survivors to paint a thorough picture of the events that occurred. It is a more scientific telling (or puzzle piecing) than a novel so many will not like the excessive detail. I enjoyed it, even though I did have to take breaks at times to read something lighter because this story was so sad. It isn't really a story to "enjoy" but it is fascinating to read some of the stories and I also enjoyed the details about the wreck and how they were able to use it together with science to answer questions about how and why things happened.


The Gift
The Gift
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 1/1/2019


This is a great book to read at this time of the year. It is sad but doesn't leave you sad because the story comes wrapped up with hope. It is like the story of Christ and how he died, but he died for a purpose and presented us with his gift. This book is about a little boy named Collin who also had a gift. He was a very sick little boy with cancer and heart failure and he had a little sister who loved him very much. He lived with his mom, Addison, who worked very hard to make sure he and his sister were taken care of.

Nathan Hurst met this little family in a crowded airport when a snow storm shut down all flights and the roads leading to the airport. The airport was full of stranded, tired, and very frustrated people. Nathan's employer provided him with a hotel room at the airport but many people were out of luck and had to sleep in the chairs or on the floor. When Nathan saw the woman with the sick little boy and his little sister who was very tired he offered her his hotel room. He was also very sick with bronchitis and she didn't feel right taking his room. It turned out that he ended up with the only room left, which was a suite with two rooms so they decided he would stay in one and the little family stayed in the other. Later, when they were getting to know each other something amazing happened. The little boy put his hand on Nathan's head and healed him. He didn't just heal his bronchitis but also his Tourett's syndrome. Nathan didn't say anything at first because of how ridiculous it sounded. No one would believe him, but he knew that little boy was special.

Collin's mother didn't want anyone to know about his gift because every time he healed someone, he got sicker. She knew everyone would be begging for his help and it would kill him. What she didn't expect was people trying to use his gift for monetary gain. It was bound to happen and it eventually did. Someone saw Collin work his magic and the chaos began.

This story hits on a few other topics as well, like greed and forgiveness, especially forgiving yourself and letting go of the pain. Nathan had been holding onto something very painful that happened when he was a child. He never talked to anyone about it and it was like a festering wound that was preventing him from really living his life. Collin helped him realize that it was time to let it go and to finally start living. I know from experience that can be very hard to do, even when you desperately want to. This book doesn't take long to read but it is worth the time.


Girls in Pants (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Bk 3)
Girls in Pants (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Bk 3)
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 5/10/2017


As usual, this was a heart-warming read. I love reading about these girls. They are all growing up now and finding boyfriends and getting ready to head out into the world. I wish I could have read these books when I was their age but I don't think the story was written yet then. I find I am enjoying the books better as the girls get older - not that I ever really grew up. Carmen's story was the best for me. She realizes how selfish she has been. She runs into a cute guy at the hospital and then keeps running into him while she is helping other people. She realizes that it probably appears to him that she is a lot better person than she really is and is worried he wouldn't like her for who she really is.

All in all, it was a good read with LOLs and tears, both happy and sad ones.


A Good Yarn  (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 807
Review Date: 1/27/2011


This was a great read. I loved every word! Debbie is wonderful at creating characters and breathing life into them. When you are done with one of her books you can't wait to get the next to see what happens next to these people.


Graveyard of Dreams - Dashed Hopes and Shattered Aspirations Along Alaska's Iditarod Trail
Review Date: 2/23/2017


This is a great book following the Iditarod race of 2010. There is a map showing the trail and the stops along the way. The author took a unique approach in following those at the tail end of the race and describes their trials along the way. Many dreams were broken and tears were shed but there were also tales of amazing strength and courage to continue on.  I also enjoyed reading about the connection between the mushers and their dogs. They are not just slave drivers and one person dropped out of the race because his dogs were unhappy. Throughout the book, there are chapter heads with a map outlining a section of the trail and you can read about what happened there and the mushers who ended up scratching or being withdrawn there.  The end of the trail and the book has a history lesson about the original serum run and how it happened along with the story of the red lantern winner who was so happy to make it to Nome despite being last.  


21 to 40 of 110 - Page: