Facebook

Meg O. (JoyfulatHome) - - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Captain, My Captain
Captain, My Captain
Author: Deborah Meroff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Captain, My Captain is a romantic novel based on a true life account set in the days of the California gold rush and the New England shipping boom.
Mary Patten barely knew her new husband Joshua before they set sail in a clipper race from New York to San Francisco around Cape Horn. Immediately the bonds of their new love were strained as Mary's flamboyant views on women's rights, her flair for the good life,
and her insistence on helping to operate the Neptune's Car pitted her against Joshua and his quiet, more spiritual nature. It seemed their love would run aground.
And then Mary found herself struggling to save both Joshua's life and the ship. Against the forces of sea and gale, and against a crew who felt her presence aboard the ship was "bad luck",she wrestles valiantly, torn between her roles as surrogate captain and wife. Not only did Mary and Joshua Patten discover the secrets of enduring love, but they encountered the one true Captain who alone could safely guide them.


From Dust and Ashes (World War II Liberators, Bk 1)
From Dust and Ashes (World War II Liberators, Bk 1)
Author: Tricia Goyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/27/2008


Wonderful story of love found in the midst of trying circumstances.


The Oak Leaves
The Oak Leaves
Author: Maureen Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/14/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book was a wonderful book about perseverance through trials and dependence on God.
It reminds the reader that every child is a gift from God no matter the circumstances and He has a purpose for placing him in his family.


Plain Pursuit (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 2)
Plain Pursuit (Daughters of the Promise, Bk 2)
Author: Beth Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 8/20/2009


Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you were seeking forgiveness or someone was seeking to be forgiven by you? Have you found yourself in a place where you felt led to help someone else no matter what your feelings were towards them?

This was an excellent book. I would recommend it to all especially those who enjoy stories regarding the Amish. It is a wonderful book dealing with the need to forgive.
I was going to repost this book but it is a keeper. I have several dear daughters who would enjoy it as well. This is the first book I have read by Beth Wiseman but I know I will read others. This one made me cry. (Tears of joy!)


The Promise
The Promise
Author: Beth Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/12/2015


This was an excellent book. It is extremely well written and although it is fictional it is informative about the extent people will go to fulfill their own agenda. It gives the reader a different perspective.


Sex, Love, & Romance
Sex, Love, & Romance
Author: Hugh F. Pyle
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/24/2008


Dr. Pyle offers principles that will guide the young teen in moral standards. What does God say about kissing, embracing, courtship, engagement, marriage, conception, childbirth, home problems, and divorce? Why not find out from God who made us all?


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3069
Review Date: 3/18/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't care for this book but did read it to the end. My Almighty God and Father is too big to be reduced to washing dishes and cooking meals. This was just too far from the Biblical text. I know it is a work of fiction but could be extremely misleading for anyone not grounded in the Scriptures. I waited a long time to read this and borrowed it from the library, thankfully. I would not want to have spent money on it.


The Sister Circle (Sister Circle, Bk 1)
The Sister Circle (Sister Circle, Bk 1)
Author: Vonette Z. Bright, Nancy Moser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/14/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book was full of heartwarming moments between the women in the book. After the loss of her husband Evelyn decides to take in boarders and is blessed with a house full. There are trials and joys all along the way and each women faces who she truly is. It was hard to put down once I met all the characters.


A Stranger for Christmas
A Stranger for Christmas
Author: Carol Lynn Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I have ever read. It reminded me of all the people who have given so much in their lives and find themselves disconnected. It is a heartwarming story that will impact the way you view family and those less fortunate than yourself.


Thin Air
Thin Air
Author: Bette Nordberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


As a wife and mother of three and as a respected biologist Beth Cheng is well equipped to tackle the various challenges that come each day. But when survivor is suddenly added to those challenges, Beth isn't certain she has what it takes to make it through alive.

This one made me cry. We all have struggles and sometimes we come across others that live drowned by their own struggles. Be encouraged and inspired by this story of a women who learned to reach out in her own place of danger.


To Love a Stranger (Wyoming, Bk 4)
To Love a Stranger (Wyoming, Bk 4)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/27/2016


This was an excellent book by an author I have enjoyed for a long time. It reads fast and keeps the reading guessing what will happen next. Loved it.


Unwrapping Christmas
Unwrapping Christmas
Author: Lori Copeland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/4/2020


Just finished this book in the off season. It was such a well-written story and gave me much to ponder as we will soon be in this hectic holiday season. It caused me to consider how Jesus would have me spend my time throughout the year. Is my focus on all that needs to be done or on the people around me? It is well worth the time to take an afternoon off and read it cover to cover. Loved it!


The Virtuous Woman: Shattering The Superwoman Myth
The Virtuous Woman: Shattering The Superwoman Myth
Author: Vicki Courtney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/20/2012


This is an excellent book. It is one of the best books I have ever read dealing with Proverbs 31 and the role of women in the world today. Vicki uses some light humor and some very clear examples from her own life to make a point. As an older woman it has inspired me to continue to grow in my role and to reach out to the younger women in my life and help them to see God's plan for all women.
Vicki deals with stereotypes and how things have changed over the years without straying from the truth.
If you find yourself discontent in your role then please, read this book. It will inspire you and help you see God's big picture and what will give you real joy in fulfilling your role as a wife, mom, or single woman.


1 to 13 of 13