ROB L. (mrrob) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
Abhorsen (The Abhorsen Trilogy)
Abhorsen (The Abhorsen Trilogy)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 12/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It all started with a visit to a new thrift shop in my area. When I left, I had 8 more books in a bag that I had found and was anxious to read. One of those books had a strange title "Sabriel". It was written by an author named Garth Nix from Australia. I'd never heard of the author, and the story looked like it may be interesting, but a bit strange.
Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down - strange ideas and all. When I finished it, I did a search on PaperBack Swap and found there were two more books along the same lines, which I promptly ordered. I've since finished all three - the "Abhorsen" being the recent one.
Garth Nix weaves a great story; one that will grab you and will hesitate to let you even take a break from reading. Once I started reading, I felt I was reading about a real world, with real people, and real magic! I highly recommend these books to anyone who enjoys fantasy and is willing to stretch their mind and wander into Garth Nix's wonderful and fantastic world!


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 660
Review Date: 5/29/2016


I'm just going to say this much about this book:
If it weren't for all the dysfunctional characters in the story, I would have really enjoyed it. However.......


Altar of Eden
Altar of Eden
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 7/13/2013


Yet another good story by James Rollins. What I like about Mr. Rollins, is he doesn't keep writing about just one group of characters. This book is a good example. A fresh group of characters, story line, and a great imagination fuels this story. I really enjoyed reading it, & recommend it highly to anyone who likes a good mystery/adventure. I would love to be able to write stories the way this author does!


Ancient Images
Ancient Images
Author: Ramsey Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/5/2009


The cover looked interesting and the write-up on the back cover looked interesting. The story, however, wasn't.


The Atlantis Code (Thomas Lourds, Bk 1)
The Atlantis Code (Thomas Lourds, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Brokaw
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/13/2013


A wonderful, fast action story! Charles Brokaw keeps the reader on his toes. If you like thriller/action stories, I predict you'll find you just can't put this book down! I highly recommend it!


The Aztec Heresy (Finn Ryan, Bk 4)
The Aztec Heresy (Finn Ryan, Bk 4)
Author: Paul Christopher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/27/2013


I really enjoyed reading this book. It flowed very well, didn't dwell on too much detail, and was full of good, believable characters. The story line was also really good; it flowed well and wasn't a "Dan Brown" copy-cat story like so many are these days.
I'll read more of Mr. Christopher's books for sure!


Bad Spell In Yurt (Wizard of Yurt, Bk 1)
Bad Spell In Yurt (Wizard of Yurt, Bk 1)
Author: C. Dale Brittain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/8/2010


Great story filled with mystery, magic and demons. A fun book to read, it's hard to put down. The author has a good imagination and a good sense of humor. I highly recommend it!


Birds of Prey (Courtney 3, Bk 1)
Birds of Prey (Courtney 3, Bk 1)
Author: Wilbur Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 11/3/2013


A wonderful & exciting adventure! This story will keep you coming back for more, and rooting wildly for the heros of the story!
There is a lot here for everyone: wars, romance, cheating, revenge...you name it! Highly recommended!


The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 8/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a really good detective story. I don't know why, but I pictured the main character, Harry Bosch, as a pudgy, overweight, "Columbo" type of guy. But he's described as a wiry, nice looking, sharp detective. Oh well, that's my imagination, and has nothing to do with the story.
This story will keep you on your toes wondering just who is behind everything!
A good, quick read & highly recommended!


The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 8/22/2013


Connelly's detective Harry Bosch is as good and flawed as ever in this 2nd "Harry Bosch" series. A really good story that's both sad and good at the same time. A different twist from the 1st story which I think is good - it doesn't depend upon the reader having to read the 1st book in the series.
Once the reader gets into the story, ideas form as to who the culprit is. But don't quit there - you'll be surprised when you get the the end.
Another great read from Mr. Connelly!


The Book of the Dead (Pendergast, Bk 7)
The Book of the Dead (Pendergast, Bk 7)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 5/19/2014


I found this story a bit too complicated. It has a good plot, but too many sub-plots spoiled the main story in my opinion. The authors build the reader up, reach a climax on a sub-plot, then, when you think the story is ended, it continues by building up again. It does this at least 2 or 3 times. I almost stopped reading it completely - I did, however, stop temporarily so as to read a more exciting book, then finished it after I completed the other one! Although I did like the story, I wouldn't recommend it.
(Sorry, guys!)


Breath of Magic  (Lennox Family Magic, Bk 1)
Breath of Magic (Lennox Family Magic, Bk 1)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 12/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When I placed my order for this book, I thought I was getting a fantasy story about magic, no a romance story. However, as it turned out, it is of course, a fantasy story about magic, but also a romance story! And a fun fantasy/romance story it is. I enjoyed it very much; just when I thought the story would end, there was more! The author really knows how to spin a good tale! I highly recommend it for anyone who likes both fantasy and romance novels.


The Client
The Client
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/4/2013


Great story! This is the type of writing that keeps the reader wanting to know what's next from the first page. I actually felt like I was reading a story about actual people and events, it was written so well.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes great writing with a bit of suspense.
I give it 5 stars!


A Companion to Wolves
A Companion to Wolves
Author: Sarah Monette, Elizabeth Bear
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/5/2009


After reading the back cover, I was really anticipating reading this book. However, once I got into the story, I just had to stop. I'm not homophobic, but I do not enjoy reading of men's sexual exploits with other men. I couldn't continue. It's probably a good story, and I'm sure I'd really enjoy it, if it weren't for the authors thinking they just had to put in the gay sex factor....


Alex Cross, Run (Alex Cross, Bk 20)
Alex Cross, Run (Alex Cross, Bk 20)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


If you've been following Mr. Patterson's character, Alex Cross for some time, you probably know Dr. Cross is anything but a superhero. But for those of you who haven't realized that fact, you certainly will once you read this latest Alex Cross novel! In my humble opinion, this is probably the best Alex Cross novel Mr. Patterson has written yet. (Even though I haven't read all of the books in the series, I think I've read enough to come to this conclusion!)
This novel will keep you reading - you won't want to put it down. There is so much going on, you'd think Dr. Cross would go crazy trying to keep everything straight! I really liked this novel; this is the type of story I would be tempted to re-read sometime down the road.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who likes a good crime mystery/thriller!


Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 6/24/2009


I really enjoyed this book. I've only read one more book by Patricia Briggs, and loved the story. She is an excellent story teller. (Just HOW do these authors do it?) Even tho Anna comes across as a meek, sometimes whiney person, I doubt if I would have done any better were I in her shoes. She does, however, find herself and ends up quite the heroine. I'd read more stories about her and Charles.


The Dark Reaches (Hidden Worlds, Bk 3)
The Dark Reaches (Hidden Worlds, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Landon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/29/2010


The last book in her "Cold Minds" trilogy, author Kristin Landon does a great job of not only continuing the saga, but creating a story that actually stands on its own. I haven't read the first two books and wasn't aware that there were two previous books that dealt with the "Cold Minds". The "Cold Minds" were referred to early on in the book, and later also, giving me the assumption that there might have been at least one book before this. Checking the list of books by the author, I discovered that this was, in fact, the third and final in the trilogy.
The story keeps one interested all the way through from front to back. It follows Linnea Kiaho and her fellow pilot Iain sen Paolo as they return to Earth's solar system to discover how humans have survived there after the "Cold Minds" had destroyed life on Earth six centuries ago. The excitement just builds from there.
I highly recommend this trilogy (I'm sure the other two books are just as good!) to anyone interested in Sci-Fi!


Daughter of God
Daughter of God
Author: Lewis Perdue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/31/2016


Excellent story, great thriller. This book makes one think - are the religions of today as honest and pious as they want us to think? Do they all have something to hide?
Hmmm....


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2046
Review Date: 5/29/2010


Author Charlaine Harris does a great job keeping the reader enchanted. This was one fun ride! Sookie Stackhouse is a real heroine - even though she does have this "disability".

And the woman on the front of the cover - isn't that Anna - from the TV series "V"?? Sure looks like her....


The Death of the Necromancer
The Death of the Necromancer
Author: Martha Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book by Martha Wells I've read. She does a great job of telling the story, keeping the reader turning pages to see what happens next! It's apparent she has done quite a bit of research of the 17th and 18th century of Old England, as that is what I gathered from the way the story is written, that she based it upon, giving different names for the countries, and languages. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy.


1 to 20 of 73 - Page: