Mindy W. - , - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Book of Longing
The Book of Longing
Author: Leonard Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/1/2015


****A Thousand Kisses Deep*** Do you know it? Yes. I am judging an entire book based on just one singularly beautiful poem taken from it,and giving it five shining, shimmering stars. When I saw the movie titled "A Thousand Kisses Deep"(2011) it struck a deep resonating memory of love and sadness. Unforgettable and-- wait a moment.. how would a sci-fi mystery evolve into the poignancy of this... time travel romance?! Truly remarkable, but it works. Dougray Scott is amazing. I want this book!


Carnal Desires: In Heat / In Smoke / In Mist
Carnal Desires: In Heat / In Smoke / In Mist
Author: Crystal Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/27/2015


Exotic and erotic in the true sense of "animal magnetism" gone wild! When her sleek, sexy cat heeds her wildest need for satisfaction, her royally gorgeous mate turns her from meow into panting growl which he answers with a snarl, until, dear reader, who's begging whom...now???
Tigers and dragons and 'weres--- OMG =D


Catch a Fallen Angel
Catch a Fallen Angel
Author: Kathleen Kane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/16/2010


What a fun combination! A cowboy fantasy with humor all over the place. Our hero(GABE) is an anti-hero but so charming you'll root for him to overcome all the bad luck that has followed him to his own hanging. And any guy who's a better cook than the woman(MAGGIE) running a "restaurant" serving terrible food is likable and oh-so-charming! When the fantasy spoof comes into play you'll love the little unexpected twists at the end and a cute sub-plot with a gal named Sugar who is anything but sweet!


Flirting With Danger (Samantha Jellicoe, Bk 1)
Flirting With Danger (Samantha Jellicoe, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 1/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Do you like a little steam with your romantic mystery? Then here you go: Wondrous writer Suzie Enoch tries her hand at a modern day romance and succeeds marvelously. The criminal capers keep you wondering as we get to know what drives 2 new characters you'll love.They may seem to be worlds apart, but perilous danger draws the H & H into a inescapable and sexy romance. How does she keep it sizzling between them while all the money power and greed are thrown into the mix? Ah, dear reader, that's what what makes her Suzanne Enoch!


Fortune's Fire
Fortune's Fire
Author: Barbara Cummings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/17/2010


I've always liked when an author takes the time and does the research to use authentic dialect and an Irish brogue is one of my fave. You should know that the setting begins with an aristocrat who has no experience as a "common man" but finds his way into a lowly groom/trainer job run by his "servant family" including a determined, Irish lass who breeds magnificent horses and instills jealousy among the rich.An immediate chemistry with him develops but she & the horses must flee to the Colonies to escape an unjust English arrest warrant. Maryland is a fresh start for her racing stable. But politics and prejudice cause more trouble as Cathleen and animals must once again escape Maryland to avoid them being used and abused by both Loyalists and Rebel armies at the beginning of the American Revolution. Add in the spice of sexy sensuality throughout to make this a winner.


How to Tame a Willful Wife (Shakespeare in Love, Bk 1)
How to Tame a Willful Wife (Shakespeare in Love, Bk 1)
Author: Christy English
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/8/2017


Judging a book by its sex scenes: few authors have the talent, skill and possibly experience(?) to pen more gripping and interesting love scenes. These are the gems.

To insert sexual interludes disapoints when they happen too often and lack delicious sensual tension. They don't build up the chemistry and electtrifying sizzle before a genuinely believable heated encounter,a wondrous experience that satisfies so beautifully! That's what I want:to be there and feel his touch,not count the orgasms and complement the hero on how often and how quickly he can recover to do it again!
****** POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT***********

What is really bothersome is when villain goes unpunished when the time period demands that a lady's virtue can only be restored by a duel. Why this did not happen is unexplained. And very annoying.


The Lady's Tutor
The Lady's Tutor
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Wow--who knew such erotic sensuality could exist in Victorian times--oh my! Arabian heartthrob frees the inner woman who until now has existed only as a repressed, unhappily married politician's wife. While she becomes an A student in lush tingling sensation, her hubby gets furious but has his own secrets he wants under wraps. Plot thickens as hubby threatens revenge in a nasty way. Throughout all, she and her Sheik make steamy love sing along the pages of an unexpected plot.


Lucavarious
Lucavarious
Author: Stephanie Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/31/2015


Sometimes quoting apassage from the book is better than my humble opinion...
"Dark shuddered as her own passions began to overwhelm her.She had never performed such an act on anyone before and she found that she liked it. It gave her an intense sense of control while heightening her awareness of her mate...'Now, Lucavarious,'she managed as sharp stabs of desire rocketed throughout her system. 'Now, I am done playing.'"


Master of Swords (Mageverse, Bk 7)
Master of Swords (Mageverse, Bk 7)
Author: Angela Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 2/23/2017


How do you like your Supernatural Sensuality? Beautifully built heroes? Who blaze with medieval magic and seek their soul's life-mate, no matter how evil are those who try to destroy their eternal blood bond? How about some HOT Knights of the Round Table cuddling with strong, powerful witch mages, in naughty medieval romance? Plot intricately involves fighters from many realms up againts seriously nasty ancient dragons whose minions seek destruction by treachery. All the while that sizzling only spices up the plot that holds its nicely.Don't miss this one.


Midnight Angel (Stokehurst, Bk 1)
Midnight Angel (Stokehurst, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 6/3/2014


Midnight Angel is the story of Tasia who, though of royal birth, must escape execution from tzarist Russia.Spirited away to distant kin in England, she desperately seeks a remote refuge to protect loved ones who risk their lives to save her. She finds herself in the lowly position of governess to the "tween" daughter of Lord Stokehurst- Luke: long-widowed and VERY clueless as to raising a rebellious chit on the brink of womanhood who's driving him NUTS! He's soon lusting after the mysterious woman whose attitude and regal bearing deny her lowly status, yet is doing wonders for his troubled daughter they both hold dear. Luke's smitten, but she's in total denial, fearing for ALL their safety, knowing that she cannot prove her innocence in the murder of the hated man she was to wed.
Kleypas as always explores well-researched & unique settings rich in history, using complex (and sensuous!) characters who deny deep emotional fulfillment until it enflames them (yum ;~D ) With retribution closing in, how will Luke & Tasia find a way to free her from guilt & fear and the passion they can't deny?


Passion (Berkley Sensation)
Passion (Berkley Sensation)
Author: Lisa Valdez
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 7/20/2015


Can you take the heat? My question involves the kind of graphic sensuality and details that are a fiery turn on IF you're in the mood to sex up the night and grab a hunk of your own to practice the techniques.VERY nice for we women who need a spicy world in which to lose oneself in total fantasy of being there, looking that gorgeous and sharing very naughty excitement. Not for all the time, but hang onto for re-visiting that kind of moth to the flame can't resist!


Show & Tell (Harlequin Blaze, No 81)
Show & Tell (Harlequin Blaze, No 81)
Author: Rhonda Nelson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/25/2010


Okay, I admit it: I was "tantric curious" before reading this little tease, but I'd read some trash by Jade(not my real name)Lee that read like Sex Anatomy 101! Yawn. So I picked this one up and found it saucy and racy, but not at all tacky, i.e. crude.This one makes you giggle at what could be,um..awkward techniques actually espoused by this weird tantric sex routine.The 2 lead characters, Noah & Savannah, have fun with it, though they choose to refuse some bogus "lessons in love." Meanwhile their own chemistry starts to sizzle and the rest of the romp is just fun. Not deep, but fun.


Silken Tiger
Silken Tiger
Author: Cynthia Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Vividly sumptuous descriptions of an India I knew nothing about--and the attempted exploitation of its beauty and its people by the English in 1856.Gorgeous sexy romance of mysterious Prince RAYN who fights for justice but cannot help but be captivated by one daring English woman(MERIAL) so feisty he calls her his prickly English Rose.She's his "captive" but she dares to enslave his heart!


Tempted
Tempted
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 11/8/2013


Tempted
Author: Megan Hart
Have you ever seen a more PROVOCATIVE, SENSUOUS, SEXY COVER TO MELT YOUR SOX OFF? (I want to be in the middle! Wink-wink-in my dreams) Luscious fantasy comes to life with all the ways two gorgeous men can pleasure a woman without the need to touch each other...oh yes, that is what we want: A dreamy,steamy,& may I say "well orchestrated" mènage a trois. Notably, nothing crude, ugly or twisted. And, heavens,there's even a well thought out PLOT!! As believable, complex and multi- layered as the characters themselves, which is surprising.Even the secondary characters draw you in and make laugh & hurt. A UNIQUE & worthwhile read.
From the back cover
**I HAD EVERYTHING A WOMAN COULD WANT...
My husband James. The house on the lake. My life. Our perfect life. And then Alex came to visit. The first time I saw my husband's best friend, I was wary.Didn't like how James changed when he was around, didn't like how his penetrating eyes followed me everywhere. But that didn't stop me from wanting him. And, surprisingly, James didn't seem to mind. It was meant to be fun. Something the three of us shared for those hot summer weeks Alex stayed with us. Nobody was supposed to fall in or out of love. I didn't need another man, not even one who oozed sex like honey & knew all the secrets I didn't know, the secrets my husband hadn't shared. After all, we had a perfect life. And I loved my husband. But I wasn't the only one.


The Viking's Bride
The Viking's Bride
Author: Julie Tetel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2010


Let's begin with the cover featuring a very YUMMY and delicious Fabio! Something about him as a "great blond-haired Viking who strode out of the night and demanded payment of a debt in gold or goods..OR 'a woman's fairest treasure'" makes me tingle in anticipation! And do you believe this complex story has history and political intrigue thrown in as well? Well-developed characters? THEY'RE IN THERE! More depth than you'd imagine with a back cover that purrs,"Why did his very presence set her blood racing and her limbs trembling, blinding her to everything but an irresistible desire to taste his salt-kissed lips and drown in the depths of his stormy passion?"


Where's My Hero?: Against the Odds / Midsummer's Knight / A Tale of Two Sisters
Review Date: 4/21/2014


**So many reviewers expressed EXACTLY the same feelings as I have regarding compilations from even the very BEST AUTHORS, award winners tho' they may be. We all feel that rushed to completion, shorter story about characters so endearing, they deserve MORE. "Where's My Hero" includes 2 of my fave writers and though it was good, I was hoping for more in the "wonderfully fulfilling" range. Alas, that honor would still go to another collection also including Julia Q, but sadly not Lisa K.(a dynamic duo to be sure)but two other writers I'd thought weren't as good. Imagine my surprise when Eloisa James and Connie Brockway spun a seamless tale combining all their talents so wonderfully! It bubbles with mirth (I'd never heard it called a pump handle before ;~P )and clever mini-plots with engaging, well-developed characters and a satisfying, all-encompassing conclusion so hilarious you could almost feel the effects of much too much champagne. A 4.9-star gem!


The Yin-Yang Butterfly: Ancient Chinese Sexual Secrets for Western Lovers
Review Date: 1/18/2016


The Yin-Yang Butterfly introduces readers to the poetic and lascivious language of ancient Chinese lovers:jade stalk, cinnabar grotto, scarlet pearls, and coral juice. You'll laugh, or get aroused--or both by the naughty ink drawings of the,EXPLICIT, X-RATED positionS utilized thousands of years ago. The names are hilarious but oh, baby do they invent ways nobody's even thought of in the USA--not "Wild Ducks Flying Backward", "Humming Ape Embracing a Tree or especially "Spider Trapped in Its Own Web--involving parallel bars!! The author even gives Tantric techniques to keep you playing with paint brushes and butterflies you will want in your house-guaranteed!Wow!


1 to 17 of 17