Facebook

Stephanie P. (stephaniep123) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 875
Review Date: 11/11/2010


I loved this book! Not only does it share a beautiful experience of the afterlife, it takes you on the journey of caring for a loved one after a horrific, life changing event. It gives perspective from the injured, and the family members who now become caregivers. I gave this book to the people I love at Christmas last year. I think this book can be healing for people who have unexpectedly lost a loved one.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Loved, loved, loved! My teenage daughter read it after me and we agree that this book is a MUST READ! Couldn't put it down.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 4/26/2011


Everyone, I mean EVERYONE, loves this book. My 17 year old daughter read it, I read, my mother read it. It may very well be the best book I will read in 2011.
We should all have a "big book of bright ideas."
I almost hate to trade this book, it was so wonderful.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 670
Review Date: 10/9/2010


I just couldn't put the book down! I even had a dream about it. Compelling, sometimes uncomfortable, just an all around great read.


Family History
Family History
Author: Dani Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Couldn't put it down. Unexpected twists and turns. A mother cuaght in a struggle to protect both of her kids, sometimes from each other.


Hope Street: Hope Street\The Marriage Bed
Hope Street: Hope Street\The Marriage Bed
Author: Judith Arnold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Fast read, "feel good" book.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1051
Review Date: 10/26/2010


Meh. Kind of all over the place, no real timeline in the book. Had to add stories of other similar experiences from other people. I would have thought that the amount of time the author spent with the family would have revealed some interesting background. Pictures would have been very interesting.


Mother of the Believers
Mother of the Believers
Author: Kamran Pasha
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Many characters, difficult to keep track of, and I found this to be a difficult read. Parts of it are captivating, but I ended up quiting about halfway through.


Oxygen
Oxygen
Author: Carol Cassella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Great read. Unexpected twists and turns. Nothing predictable here. A story about a little girl who dies on the operating table and all of the people this affects.


A Piece of Cake : A Memoir
A Piece of Cake : A Memoir
Author: Cupcake Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/3/2011


Roller coaster. Many sad situations for a young woman that breaks your heart, but so inspiring. I didn't want it to end. This was the best book I read in 2010. Buy the book NOW!


This Is for the Mara Salvatrucha: Inside the MS-13, America's Most Violent Gang
Review Date: 6/3/2011


I like this book... a lot! WEll written, easy to follow plot. Takes the reader into the unknown world of a hard core gang. Couldn't put it down.


Wives and Sisters
Wives and Sisters
Author: Natalie R. Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/26/2010


Decent read, finished in two days. More interesting for me than the story plot was the inside story on growing up in a Mormon family. Too much drama, not believeable.


1 to 12 of 12