Barbara S. (barbelaine1) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 20


This was a wonderfully written book. I absolutely could not put it down. I loved the characters, and cried continually because of the pain they suffered. The ending is satisfying and realistic. Read this book if you are a parent. Read this book if you have a heart! Kudos to the author!!


Big Girl
Big Girl
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 7/20/2010


Could've been a great story. Poorly written. Predictable. Unrealistic characters. I find it hard to believe that Steele herself wrote this one. If she did, it is time tyo take a break.


The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank
The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank
Author: Ellen Feldman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/7/2007


Thought provoking book -- what if Peter had lived???? Did NOT disappoint!


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 7/13/2006


Serious stuff here. Hard to put down. An absorbing read.


The Christmas Wedding
The Christmas Wedding
Author: James Patterson, Richard DiLallo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 11/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Disappointing. Full of cliches. The main character and her Christmas mystery was the most annoying woman I've met in a book. I seriously doubt Patterson wrote any of this drivel.


The Church Ladies
The Church Ladies
Author: Lisa Samson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/11/2006


Christian author. Good read. Contemporary story. Not the least bit sappy.


Club Sandwich
Club Sandwich
Author: Lisa Samson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/3/2007


Good read.


Common Passions
Common Passions
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/7/2006


I really enjoyed it.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 4/9/2006


fun read


The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat Friend)
The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat Friend)
Author: Kody Keplinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/14/2012


Not quite a YA book I'd recommend. The author tried to make us believe these were high school kids, but the situations presented were more like college dilemmas than HS problems. A lot of swearing, alot. A lot of focus on sex. Not impressed (and I am not a prude).


Echoes in the Darkness
Echoes in the Darkness
Author: Joseph Wambaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/3/2007


Fascinating story. I graduated from this high school a few years before this happened.


The Girl She Used to Be
The Girl She Used to Be
Author: David Cristofano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 6/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Riveting story of a young woman who has been in the Witness Protection program for 20 years, and who has reached a point in her life when breaking away from it becomes a possibility. Held my attention to the end.


Good Harbor
Good Harbor
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/10/2007


I loved this book!


Heaven is For Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 8/20/2011


I couldn't help but think this book was written by the father to pay off medical bills. It just struck me as false.


In Her Shoes
In Her Shoes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1114
Review Date: 4/9/2006


better than the movie


In the Groove (NASCAR, Bk 2) (Harlequin NASCAR)
In the Groove (NASCAR, Bk 2) (Harlequin NASCAR)
Author: Pamela Britton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 9/9/2006


a Nascar romance


Julie of the Wolves (Julie, Bk 1)
Julie of the Wolves (Julie, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 4/17/2006


I love this story of survival and nature! Young woman heroine.


Man with a Past (Harlequin Temptation, No 45)
Man with a Past (Harlequin Temptation, No 45)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/19/2007


Could not get into this book. The opening "love" scene was a rape portrayed as hot love making. Rape is rape...this bothered me.


Mothers and Other Liars
Mothers and Other Liars
Author: Amy Bourret
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 10/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


For me, a very annoying read. The author's overuse of similies and metaphors drove me crazy in the beginning. Some characters well-developed, the motives of others severely lacking. Unbelievable resolution to the story.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4036
Review Date: 9/9/2006


great read


1 to 20 of 48 - Page: