Karla F. (KarlaF) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 107 - Page:
Curious George's Are You Curious?
Curious George's Are You Curious?
Author: H. A. Rey
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/4/2006


Probably my favorite Curious George book, engaging feelings and humor, in board book format.


Cybill Disobedience: How I Survived Beauty Pageants, Elvis, Sex, Bruce Willis, Lies, Marriage, Motherhood, Hollywood, and the Irrepressible Urge to Say What I Think
Review Date: 3/4/2006


She is very funny, an entertaining and interesting read, even if she is a little self-absorbed at times.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1734
Review Date: 2/17/2006


I think this is a wonderfully written book. I can't believe how quickly I read it, was pretty much unable to put it down, and I care nothing about fashion, magazine publishing, or the young, hip, NYC lifestyle. I think that the author draws you into the main character's life and you become engrossed in it, in the same way that the main character became obsessed with trying to please her obviously psycho boss. Not a deep book, or one that is designed to evoke thoughtfulness, but good escapist fiction (although I am pretty sure this is based on the author's experience, as it rings just a little bit too true).


The Difference : Discovering the Hidden Ways We Silence Girls - Finding Alternatives That Can Give Them a Voice
Review Date: 6/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is written for parents, yet it is a substantial book based on applying the recent research on silencing in girls. Lots of narratives and an engaging, hopeful writing style make this a book well worth reading.


Dinosaur Roar!
Dinosaur Roar!
Author: Paul Stickland, Henrietta Stickland
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/4/2006


I loved reading this board book to my son, with its fun language and great pictures.


The Dirty Girls Social Club
The Dirty Girls Social Club
Author: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 5/23/2006


I had a hard time putting this book down, although I also had some character confusion in the beginning. I adored the characters in this book, who are richly textured and interesting. The relationships between the women are equally endearing. Just an all-around great book.


The Dot
The Dot
Author: Peter H. Reynolds
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/2/2007


THis is a lovely and simple children's book for preschool-elementary age kids about the meaning of art and what you can do if you know how to do "only" one thing. Self-affirming without being nauseating, clever without being like a wiseacre, and non-judgmental without being ridiculous. We have two copies of this book, I would otherwise never swap it away.


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 3/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a complicated book and the ending takes you by complete surprise, and it's not too often that I feel like that. It will probably be mildly disturbing to those who are not prepared to deal with understanding the aftermath of a sexual attack. Like Alice Sebold's Lucky, it can be raw and tough and brutal in its straightforwardness about how survivors struggle with relationships and other life issues. I am glad I read it, and it make me think about these issues more deeply.


Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Author: Robert C. Atkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 8/28/2006


An excellent review of the available and science logic behind the popular low carb diet. If you want to try low carbing, this is an essential reference.


Dwellings : A Spiritual History of the Living World
Dwellings : A Spiritual History of the Living World
Author: Linda Hogan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/13/2006


Thought provoking poetry.


Eat, Pray, Love : One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 4/18/2007


Fantastic memoir. Enough said.


Eenie Meenie Miney Math!: Math Play for You and Your Preschooler
Review Date: 3/28/2006


Great book on simple, easy math games to enjoy with your preschool or toddler. Incorporates sensory, visual, and conceptual ideas for introducing math concepts, including counting, patterns, measuring, and puzzles.


Engendered Lives: A New Psychology of Women's Experience
Engendered Lives: A New Psychology of Women's Experience
Author: Ellyn Kaschak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2006


This is a very wholistic-oriented book, examining all the many ways that the world looks and feels different to women and men. Beautifully written yet academic, it is thought-provoking about your own life experience as well as your relationship with the opposite sex.


The Everything Tropical Fish Book
The Everything Tropical Fish Book
Author: Carlo DeVito, Gregory Skomal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent basic reference book on tropical aquariums (both freshwater and saltwater). Assisted our family in understanding what it takes to keep a fish tank and in selecting appropriate fish. Two years later, we still rely on the advice from this guidebook. Beautiful color photos of the most popular aquarium fish.


Father-Daughter Incest
Father-Daughter Incest
Author: Judith Lewis Herman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/26/2006


Judith Herman is a fabulous writer as well as one of the foremost scholars on psychological trauma. This book on incest is a classic: helpful to both those interested in the subject because of academic or personal reasons.


Feminism Unmodified : Discourses on Life and Law
Feminism Unmodified : Discourses on Life and Law
Author: Catharine A. MacKinnon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/9/2006


A classic in feminist jurisprudence, a radical yet practical examination of how women's civil rights could be enhanced.


The Feminist Classroom
The Feminist Classroom
Author: Frances, A. Maher, Mary Kay Thompson Tetrault
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/9/2006


A very interesting sutdy of how feminist theory and practice works in college classrooms.


Feminist Legal Theory: Readings in Law and Gender (New Perspectives on Law, Culture, and Society)
Review Date: 6/9/2006


Every reading in this edited volume is fabulous.


Find Me
Find Me
Author: Rosie O'Donnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 3/4/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I've been on a celebrity autobiographical kick lately, and this was a disappointment to me. Unless you're interested in her email correspondence with a severely disturbed woman, there isn't much of interest in this book. I think she is a very good person who has overcome much in her life, but this was a very disjointed and ultimately uncompelling book. On the other hand, now that Rosie's back on TV (on The View), this might be some interesting insight into her personal relationships.


The First Assistant (Lizzie Miller, Bk 2)
The First Assistant (Lizzie Miller, Bk 2)
Author: Clare Naylor, Mimi Hare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


In the spirit of the Devil Wears Prada, but where the "bosses" are more lovable (if still pretty crazy and demanding). I could not put this book down, as the storyline surprised me at various turns and I liked the main character enough that I wanted to see how things turned out for her. One of those books that I was happy to spend the $$ to buy hardback. It was recommended to me by someone who prowls the NYTimes Sunday book section for current reads, and she was right. Great beach reading, the advertisement promised-- and it was half right. The other half is that it's great reading anytime.


21 to 40 of 107 - Page: