Amanda W. (creativerinds) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Chosen by a Horse
Chosen by a Horse
Author: Susan Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 12/20/2011


I enjoyed reading this book because I could relate to her love and passion for her horses. It was very touching to read how this horse helped her personal growth.


Collecting: An Unruly Passion: Psychological Perspectives
Review Date: 3/15/2012


The author was a bit "long-winded" to explain his points or even to get to the point but I however enjoyed reading the examples about collectors lives as examples.


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 1/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was a bit disappointed with the plot, because I guess I was reading it thinking it was more so a mystery with a big "ah-ha" moment. The author is so descriptive it kept me interested in reading it all the way through though.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 4/2/2013


This book was a relief after reading other pregnancy books since it had a great sense of humor about all the experiences of pregnancy.


The Impulse Factor: Why Some of Us Play It Safe and Others Risk It All
Review Date: 12/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book is very analytical, so it was not a quick read but I enjoyed learning about people's impulsive actions and the examples that were provided. I learned more about myself and reasons behind the choices I make.


The Marriage Bed
The Marriage Bed
Author: Regina McBride
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/14/2012


For me, I read this book quickly because I found it enjoyable. It might be a little "slow moving" for some people. The best way to describe the book is what I found written inside the cover of the book " an exquisitely lush and lyrical story about marriage and motherhood, attachment and letting go, set in early twentieth century Dublin.


One True Theory of Love
One True Theory of Love
Author: Laura Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/18/2012


I enjoyed reading this book so much it was difficult for me to put down. It is a good read about relationships not being perfect, about learning from your past to better the future relationships and learning to not hold back being in love. I can see it being a bit too "sappy" for some people's taste....but after all it is a love story.


The Rose Labyrinth
The Rose Labyrinth
Author: Titania Hardie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/7/2012


Overall, a thought-provoking book. I wasnt quite sure what to expect since the only description on the back of the book reads "A mystical fiction debut that takes readers on a romantic journey from Elizabethan England to modern-day London, where a centuries-old secret awaits."

The beginning of the book was a little more difficult to get into because the Author was telling stories from 2 different time periods. But once I got into the story a little further...I wanted to find out about the secret. At times, I felt like the Author was giving an overload of history.


The Secret Circle Omnibus, Vol II
The Secret Circle Omnibus, Vol II
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the first volume of this book, loved the tv series (which may have skewed my feelings about this book) but overall a little disappointed with how abrupt the ending seemed to be within the story. We had learned so many details about characters that I felt there was something missing when I was finished.


The Secret Circle Omnibus, Volume I
The Secret Circle Omnibus, Volume I
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I watched the T.V. Series that was made based on the secret circle books. I was disappointed when I learned the series was only one season because it was too expensive to produce, I knew I had to read the books.
I read this book very quickly (which is always an indication it's good, right?). It was fun to compare the book with the T.V. Series to see how closely the storyline follows one another. I am hooked, and just ordered volume 2.


Signs of Life: A Memoir
Signs of Life: A Memoir
Author: Natalie Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


All around glad I read the book. It brought tears to my eyes when she finally found her own happiness and world where she could live with her hardships. Nice to read about someone's successful journey through trying times. The most fulfilling part of the book are the last couple chapters.
My complaints would be that I wished she would have spent a little more time in the beginning of the book to introduce characters to us. I felt overloaded within the first chapter trying to figure out who people were.
Also, there is a point while reading were I felt like I kept reading about the grief she was living with but said in different words but saying the same thing for many chapters. So I would say this book almost reads more like a journal because of this.


True Believer
True Believer
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 10/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This was more of love story than anything, which did get a little monotonous. I found the ghost mystery more interesting but was a little disappointed with the outcome....I thought it was going to be more exciting.


Up For Renewal: What Magazines Taught Me About Love, Sex, and Starting Over
Review Date: 12/20/2011


I thought her way of "finding" her confidence in herself through magazines to be very interesting and enjoyed reading about how she recovered from a tough stage in her life.


Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl
Review Date: 1/21/2012


I would recommend this book, it is a very touching story and I am in awe at how much devotion caring for an owl would be!


Zen and Horses: Lessons from a Year of Riding
Zen and Horses: Lessons from a Year of Riding
Author: Ingrid Soren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/29/2012


This almost read like poetry to me the way it is written with such vivid descriptions. It is almost like a journal too. Written about these experiences full of emotion and how horses introduced her to self-discovery. I kept a notebook nearby to write down many quotes from this book. Overall, a thought provoking book that I do not recommend reading in one sitting. I found more enjoyment setting it down after a few chapters and coming back to it.


1 to 15 of 15