Facebook

Lisa M. (lisabee21006) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Becoming the Talbot Sisters: A Novel of Two Sisters and the Courage that Unites Them
Review Date: 5/31/2019


This book is excellent. It explores surrogacy, human trafficking, what it means to be a mother, and so much more! While not my usual pick for reading, I'm very happy that I gave this book a chance and will be picking up more by this author.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 1/27/2010


Deeanne Gist hit the mark again with this FABULOUS book set in the colonial times of the mid 1600's. The history was accurate and the characters were entertaining! I laughed several times (which seems to happen with all her books!) and couldn't put it down! A great read and I hope that there is a sequel so I can find out what happens to some of the characters...


Colorado: Love Carves out a Home on the Mountainside
Colorado: Love Carves out a Home on the Mountainside
Author: Rosey Dow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 9/8/2007


I loved this book! Very good!


Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 8/13/2009


I am in love with Deeanne Gist! She brings such fabulous humor into the books! This one is no different. The character of Essie is such a lively one and so human! She's the impish woman hiding in all of us! A Great Read!


Discovering Daisy (Best of Betty Neels)
Discovering Daisy (Best of Betty Neels)
Author: Betty Neels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved it! It is the traditional Betty Neels love story! A great and quick read!


Fancy Pants (Only in Gooding!, Bk 1)
Fancy Pants (Only in Gooding!, Bk 1)
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I adored this book! A great read for someone who wants to laugh and cry all in the same book reading! If you like historical fiction set in the western environment, this book is TOTALLY for you!


Frontiers: Four Inspirational Love Stories from America's Western Frontier (Inspirational Romance Collections)
Review Date: 9/8/2007


Book Summary:

While carving out a place for himself far from famine-torn Ireland, Brian O'Rourke meets Heather Templeton, whose struggles parallel his own. Can this "Flower of Seattle" blossom in the warmth of Brian's love?

Daisy O'Rourke feels the call of the Wild West and longs to be a Harvey Girl. Could a mysterious cowboy be the one whom God has chosen for this irrespressible "Flower of the West"?

Sasha Anton grew up just a few miles from the Artic Circle. Bernard Clifton, however, has his lot cast upon this brutal land by a vengeful plot. Will a true and worthy love--a "Flower of the North"--at last claim Bernard's anguished heart?

Inga Nansen has waited many long years to rejoin her father on the deck of the "Flower of the Alaska". But now the love of her life is bound for the unforgiving Alaska wilderness. Can Inga let him go?

Esplore America's western frontiers with these courageous women...


A Heart Most Worthy (Against All Expectations, Bk 4)
A Heart Most Worthy (Against All Expectations, Bk 4)
Author: Siri L. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Another wonderful book by Siri Mitchell. I love that she took on several things surrounding 1918--the sentiments towards immigrants (in this case, Italian), the Spanish Flu, and the anti-capitalistic sentiments--all done with WW1 looming in the background. Brilliantly written to weave 3...no 4 different women's backgrounds into an interconnecting plot! Very very good!


The Independence of Miss Mary Bennet
The Independence of Miss Mary Bennet
Author: Colleen McCullough
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/20/2010
Helpful Score: 7


As someone who is a HUGE fan of Jane Austen I had high hopes for this book. But as soon as I got to the part where Mr. Bingley keeps Jane knocked up all the time and Mr. Darcy regrets marrying Lizzy, I just stopped reading. It totally was ruining everything Jane Austen had set up in her books. I don't care if it supposedly is taking place 17 years after Pride and Prejudice ends. I want to keep my happy ending!!! LOL!

I won't finish this book because it makes me mad.

If you like Jane Austen and love her characters...especially in Pride and Prejudice, DON'T READ THIS BOOK!


A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion, Bk 1)
A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion, Bk 1)
Author: Tamera Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/13/2011


I have loved Tamera Alexander's books from the very first one I picked up...so I had high expectations for this new book.

I was NOT let down! This is a fabulous book set during the Reconstruction Era following the Civil War. I was hooked from the first chapter and I hated having to put it down to do something as useless as housework! LOL! As usual, Tamera Alexander uses vivid descriptions to paint pictures of a glorious southern plantation and it's surroundings. As usual, the main character has great spunk and shows such growth in her Christian Faith journey.

My favorite line of the book was "Would you paint if you knew you were only painting for me"--how many times do we get caught in wanting recognition for something we've done in this material world--only to forget that it's all just fleeting and it's what our Heavenly Father thinks that matters the most.

A book with a great message and full of nice chuckles!

I can't wait to see more in the series set at Belmont Mansion!


The Lightkeeper's Ball (Mercy Falls, Bk 3)
The Lightkeeper's Ball (Mercy Falls, Bk 3)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/10/2012


I read the Mercy Falls series in order and I enjoyed every single one! I REALLY enjoyed this one because it kept me in suspense all the way to the end, and incorporated characters from both earlier books in to the plot. I was very happy to see that the author did not say we are done visiting Mercy Falls...


The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 1)
The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Love love love love this book! I think this new series which incoporates the old characters in with the new ones is going to be fabulous! If you enjoyed the Percy Jackson series you will enjoy this new one too. I am eagerly waiting for the next book in the series coming this fall 2011!

Hint Hint...study up on your ROMAN gods before reading...


The Measure of a Lady
The Measure of a Lady
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fantastic book! Reads very well and has twists scattered throughout the book! you won't want to put it down! Another bestseller by Deanne Gist!


The Outcast
The Outcast
Author: Jolina Petersheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/9/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent read. I am not normally a fan of this genre (the Mennonite/Amish) so I was reluctant to read it. But it made me cry and moved me to anger on behalf of the characters...that alone makes this an excellent book. It deals with a host of issues and is incredibly well written!

(For full review, please visit my blog: http://farmfreshadventures.blogspot.com/2013/07/book-review-outcast-by-jolina-petersheim.html)


Pasadena Promises: Three Romances Grow out of theAshes of World War II (Inspirational Romance Readers)
Review Date: 10/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book!


A Passion Most Pure (Daughters of Boston, Book 1)
A Passion Most Pure (Daughters of Boston, Book 1)
Author: Julie Lessman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 10/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I love inspirational fiction, but this one was EXTRA good. It made me cry several times and I couldn't put it down! I am very interested to seeing what happens to Charity, Mitch and the rest of the O'Connor family!


Petticoat Ranch (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 1)
Petticoat Ranch (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 3/1/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I really liked this book! It was fun and kept moving along. I was always curious to see what the characters were going to do next! I've already read the next book in the series and am waiting for future ones as well!


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 2016
Review Date: 1/20/2010


I did NOT like this book. In fact, I couldn't even finish it. There was nothing but despair and desolation and canibals. I know they are releasing a movie based on this book, and after forcing myself to read what little I did, I know I won't be watching the movie...or maybe this will be one that I hope is DIFFERENT from the book.

Not a light read. Not something to read before going to bed. Not pleasure reading.


Sisterchicks on the Loose (Sisterchicks, Bk 1)
Sisterchicks on the Loose (Sisterchicks, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 6/3/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Loved it! Totally made me think of Lucy and Ethel turned loose in Europe! I was laughing so many times! I recommended it to my mom and her "sisterchick" to read together!


Tennyson
Tennyson
Author: Lesley M. M. Blume
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/27/2012


I picked this book up at my local library where they were giving away free copies. It looked intriguing and my style since it was a historical setting. The characters in this book are fascinating. The way this story was written has you seeing threads from the past mixed in with the present...it was brilliant!

I totally recommend this book...it's technically junior literature, but I think adults would enjoy it too. I sure did!


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: