Lynn P. (Bama-Booklover) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 122 - Page:
1,003 Great Things About Getting Older
Review Date: 1/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book takes a fun, lighted heart view of how our life changes as we get older. I recommend it to anyone middleage and older. Its a good book to read a bit here and there. It also would make a great birthday gift for those having their 40,50,60th birthdays....I give it a 5!


Against All Odds
Against All Odds
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/31/2019


A story of a Mother widowed when her four children were young and created a successful business for herself reselling vintage clothes. All four children as adults lead varied lifestyles leading to inner family conflicts. The Mother and all four children face turmoil and challenges in their lives but "against all odds" find their happy place in life.

I've been reading Danielle Steel books for years. They were beginning to become tiresome and "same oh, same oh". This one was a better one!


Angels Walking (Angels Walking, Bk 1)
Angels Walking (Angels Walking, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/3/2015


First book of a new series; Karen Kingsbury is on her way to another memorable series. Not many books make me cry; this one brought tears to my eyes. Tears of happiness and joy at the love shown by a down on his luck injured baseball player for an elderly lady with memory loss along with a rekindling of a long lost love. I give this book a AAA and can't wait for the second of the series.


Antiques Disposal (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 6)
Antiques Disposal (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 6)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/29/2015


Much better than the first couple I read of this series. I debated on reading this one or not but glad I did. It's written better, held my interest more. This can be read as a stand alone without reading the first books of the series as the author "fills you in" on history and who's who......


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 1/6/2020


Rating 4 out of 5 stars. I'll grab any book with a beach in the story and give it a whirl. In this story, Cara returns to her home in the lowcountry where she learns to be a "turtle lady" and mends her relationship with her estranged Mother and renews old acquaintances. The author uses the rhythm of the turtles life as a symbol of the rhythm or changes in our lifes. This was a very interesting story for me.


Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Burnett Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/23/2015


Summer camp fun! with beading and a murder of course!
Well written, fun cozy.....loved it.


Best Served Cold (Trailer Park,  Bk 3)
Best Served Cold (Trailer Park, Bk 3)
Author: Jimmie Ruth Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/18/2015


Another fun entertaining book full of Southern flavor.....


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1542
Review Date: 4/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


"Ghost" story mixed in with romance......interesting and intriguing read. Cant wait to read the next two (Black Rose and Red Lily) in this series-- In the Garden series by Nora Roberts.


Blue Eyeshadow Should Be Illegal: A Beautifully Different Makeup Manual
Review Date: 9/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Yes this is the name of a book. It's a beautifully different makeup manual by Paula Begoun..It was published in 1985 and check out her 80ish hairstyle on the front cover. When I ordered the book, I thought it was chick lit. Well, not really. It's a book that she recommends you read before you buy another lipstick, eyeshadow, or skin care product. The author gives you inexpensive substitutes for these products and hints on how do use cosmetics.

Did you know hydrogen peroxide can replace astringent? How milk of magnesia can be used to treat acne?

Find out this information and more in this book. It's listed on my bookshelf. It can be a useful book for you or maybe just an entertaining book. Check it out!


The Bridesmaid (Home to Hickory Hollow, Bk 2)
The Bridesmaid (Home to Hickory Hollow, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/28/2013


I haven't read this book yet (it's on my TBR) but I saw a post from Beverly Lewis on Novel Crossings on facebook today as below:

"My novel, THE BRIDESMAID, received the Christian Retailing Award for Amish Ficition in St. Louis, MO this past week.

Thank you, CR! I'm so delighted!
And thank... YOU, dear reader-friends, for your loving and ongoing support! I couldn't imagine having better fans than all of you!"

CONGRATULATIONS Ms Lewis!!!!!!!!


Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Author: Jimmie Ruth Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 4/3/2015


I read the first book of this series; and have skipped to the fourth book with no loss. A laid back story of a family living in a trailer park with a murder to solve thrown in. Typical of many cozy mysteries, there is a romance budding between the sleuth and the police office investigating the murder. Easy to follow story, fun read. Not my favorite series but I'll continue with the series.


A Broth of Betrayal (Soup Lover's, Bk 2)
A Broth of Betrayal (Soup Lover's, Bk 2)
Author: Connie Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/12/2019


I'm giving this 4 out of 5 stars. It's the second book of a cozy series with delish soup recipes. Peanut butter soup anyone? Back to the story, the MC helps her grandfather at the soup shop and of course becomes involved in solving a murder and finding her lifelong friend who has been kidnapped. Of course, there is also a romance brewing!


Button Holed (Button Box, Bk 1)
Button Holed (Button Box, Bk 1)
Author: Kylie Logan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/6/2019


I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It's an okay cozy. Josie Giancola is a collector of buttons now opening a button shop. A starlet is coming to see her to look for special buttons for her wedding dress but is found dead inside the button shop. Now Josie is involved with a murder investigation crushing on the law enforcement officer and having to deal with her ex husband who keeps showing up and getting in the middle of things.

Interesting to read about the history of buttons throughout the buttons. The book is good enough that I'll continue to read the series.


Called to Serve: Encouragement, Support, and Inspiration for Military Families
Review Date: 11/6/2013


This book was special to me as I have known these authors since I was active duty myself; I know them on a professional basis through my job as a medical technician on the base and as I still work in the medical clinic on the base now that I've retired. One story tells about the struggles of one of our own medical technicians who was working here with us when he retired from the military.

I wish I was wealthy enough to buy thousands of copies and provide them to our deploying airmen........ This copy is being passed to my daughter who is newly retired from the military and then to her son who is completing his training this week and moving on to his first assignment as a Marine.

Thanks to all our veterans!!!!!


Change One: The Breakthrough 12-Week Eating Plan: Lose Weight Simply, Safely  Forever
Review Date: 5/8/2007


A great plan to help you become fit and lose weight by making one change at a time over twelve weeks. Easy to understand.


A Chili Death (Classic Diner, Bk 1)
A Chili Death (Classic Diner, Bk 1)
Author: Jessica Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/26/2015


Love the family dynamics of the family that owns the diner featured in the book; especially like the fact that the main character is already married and they are investigating together, not a main character trying to decide between two different guys....

I love diners and I love books about diners; a great start for a new series!


A Christmas Gift for Rose
A Christmas Gift for Rose
Author: Tricia Goyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/19/2015


Two Amish young people questioning whether to stay in the Amish faith or be English....one when she finds out she was born English before being adopted by an Amish family; the other because he volunteered to serve in the army (as a noncombatant medic) that was against the Amish belief nevertheless.

A English neighbor suffers from PTSD but provides insight to the two young people.

A wonderful Amish story; well worth reading!


The Christmas Hope (Christmas Hope, Bk 3)
The Christmas Hope (Christmas Hope, Bk 3)
Author: Donna VanLiere
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 12/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Tissues were definitely needed for me. A great story; sad and happy. Wonderful Christmas read. Story of a mother and son's love for each other and how she struggles after losing him. Her grief almost causes her her marriage but this Christmas a little girl comes into their lives and restores the joy.......As I said it'll make you cry, but makes you happy showing you the joy in Christmas..........


Christmas Jars Reunion (Christmas Jars, Bk 2)
Christmas Jars Reunion (Christmas Jars, Bk 2)
Author: Jason F. Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/4/2015


What an inspiring story! As Jason F. Wright's books always are. Loved it! I did have a problem following who was who and how the Christmas Jars project began, as it's been a few years since I read the original The Christmas Jar. But the story was still touching and inspiring and I'm ready to start filling my Christmas jar. As we will be living in a new home, a new state this coming Christmas, a Christmas Jar project may be a way for me to share God's love and become a part of the new community.


Coast Road / Three Wishes
Coast Road / Three Wishes
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/13/2008


Spellbinding romances; easy to read, cant put down until you're finished book. I wasn't happy with the way one of the stories ended but it's life.


1 to 20 of 122 - Page: