Leslie J. (lesj11) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Big Girl (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Big Girl (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Danielle Steel, Kathleen McInerney (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/30/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that this book was a huge waste of time. It is offensive how badly the author beats up on the main character. Big girl is actually a girl/ woman that only seems to carry about 20 lbs of extra weight her whole life and is referred to as big, fat and ugly. She has no one that loves her for who she is and she only finds a little redemption in a man (ugh)! No one in this book never shows any growth (even the main character only shows a slight improvement). When this audiobook ended, I literally yelled at my car CD player because I was so frustrated. What is funny is that I live on a farm and we burn all of our paper trash everyday. When I came in the night I read this, I apparently was holding this audiobook in my hand with some trash I threw away and didn't even realize it. When I later deduced that that is what happened, I wasn't even angry. It seemed like an appropriate end to a dud of a book. I hope Danielle Steel reads the reviews and never does that to us again.


Big Girl (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Big Girl (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Danielle Steel, Kathleen McInerney (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/14/2014


I really disliked this book and I don't usually feel that way about Danielle Steel's books. The story is about an "overweight" girl/ woman who only carries around an additional (if I remember correctly) 15-20 pounds most of her life. I hated the whiny character and her family. You would have thought she was 500 lbs! The only reason I kept listening was because I knew there would be the big pay-off when she woke up and told everybody to piss--f - sadly, that never happens. I was so mad at the end of the book that I yelled out while driving in my car "is that it"? I cannot give this book zero stars or I would!


The Big Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Big Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sarah Dunn, Eliza Foss (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/25/2012


I really enjoyed this book. Very interesting concept!


The Devil in the Junior League
The Devil in the Junior League
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2010


I really enjoyed this book and the narrator was superb. I hated when it ended and I wish this character would continue in a series.


The Food of Love
The Food of Love
Author: Anthony Capella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/16/2011


I really enjoyed this book. I didn't really know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. A quick and easy read perfect for the summer time!


French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
Author: Mireille Guiliano
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 7/4/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I really like this way of looking at living! It allows you to enjoy what you like (wine anyone?)and still be careful so you can lose weight. It is a more laid back way of looking at things!


Growing & Using the Top 10 Most Popular Herbs
Growing & Using the Top 10 Most Popular Herbs
Author: Jim Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/21/2011


I really enjoyed this book and appreciate finding out helpful hints and tips. I love growing herbs more than any other plant.


Honor Thyself
Honor Thyself
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/19/2009


I really enjoyed this book. Several stories lines overlap which always makes for interesting reading.


Liberating Paris
Liberating Paris
Author: Linda Bloodworth Thomason
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/9/2011


I cannot believe anyone would give this story less than 5 stars. I have enjoyed every second of the 13+ hours I spent listening to this audiobook. It is a story of love between friends and their complicated relationships that span many generations. I wish the author had written more books.


Missing Persons (Alan Gregory, Bk 13) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 11/26/2011


I love this series and this book is no exception! The narrator Dick Hill makes the story come alive!


The New Yorkers (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The New Yorkers (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Cathleen Schine, Nicole Roberts (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/19/2010


I really enjoyed this book. It is not an earth-moving type of book, but the type where you feel like you have made new friends and keep thinking about them long after you have finished the book. I felt like I could be sitting on a bench in this neighborhood just watching the characters go by. I loved it - great narrator!


Wigfield: The Can-Do Town Which Just May Not (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/19/2010
Helpful Score: 2


If you like Amy Sedaris and Stephen Colbert, you will love this audiobook. It is a quick listen and Stephen does most of the narration. Each of the three narrators speak for a whole cast of characters in the town of Wigfield. I listened to this on the way to work every morning and I laughed out loud on more than one occasion which I don't do often. I hope they do more like this one.


1 to 12 of 12