Facebook

Abby T. (abbykt) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 114 - Page:
Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/20/2011


I felt this book took a long time to get on the way. I felt the first two hundred pages were really slow to build. Especially in the present day there was a lot of confusion, running back and forth to look for people and answers. That was tedious to me. After that the book picked up a bit and I was very interested in the Medieval life that Kivrin was leading. Willis' descriptions of the plague were very vivid and made me sick to my stomach at times. I did not realise that there were three types of plague and that they came all together. It was sobering that Kivrin was not able to save anyone. Roche said that she brought hope but I just kept thinking about how scarred she will be because of all she knows, she was still not able to save any of the people that she had grown to love.


Dread Locks (Dark Fusion, Bk 1)
Dread Locks (Dark Fusion, Bk 1)
Author: Neal Shusterman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/8/2012


I really enjoy Neal Shusterman's books. This book was not as insightful as some that I have read but it was a good quick read. The conflict was well laid out and I am glad that it was not wrapped up in a pretty little bow. It made the flaw of the narrator more pronounced as he sacrificed everything because of his flaw.


Easy
Easy
Author: Tammara Webber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/11/2013


This book drove me a little crazy. The characters were not at all developed. It deals with huge topics like rape and murder which should be the focal point of the book when the focal point was actually the lust between Lucas and Jacqueline. I did not buy their relationship to be real at all. I am getting sick of these superficially sexy books. I felt that this author was just trying to make the lust legitimate by throwing in the hard topics. They were not given their justice.


Elantris (Elantris, Bk 1)
Elantris (Elantris, Bk 1)
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 4/15/2010


I really enjoy this book. The characters are really well developed and I like how the story moves from Raoden to Serene to Hrathen. Raoden is fighting for the city of Elantris and his constant optimism and desire to remain clean inside and out very buffering. He is strong even when his physical body is weak. Serene is such a strong politician and I am always encouraged by powerful woman. Hrathen changes the most as he determines what his real conviction to his religion really is. The book has mystery, suspense, utmost evil and supreme goodness. The ending especially is hard to put down.


Ella Enchanted
Ella Enchanted
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 2/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I had a really good time with this book. I found it to be funny with well developed characters. I enjoyed the spin on the traditional Cinderella story that Levine adds. I found myself worried for Ella and caring that someday she will be able to overcome. I thought she was strong with a personality of her own despite her curse. This is a book I could see myself reading to my daughter in a couple of years.


Ella Minnow Pea : A Novel in Letters
Ella Minnow Pea : A Novel in Letters
Author: Mark Dunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 3/4/2011


I had such a fun time reading this book! It was so clever the way the author gradually removed letters from his writing. It became hard to read at times. I could not believe the seriousness of the punishment for law breaking that was under the light writing style though. It was definately harrowing to think that a town could go to those extremes and become so fanatic practically overnight. This was a great read.


The Enchanted Castle
The Enchanted Castle
Author: E. Nesbit
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/5/2009


This is a fanciful book full of fun adventures. I found it funny that the children had such a hard time keeping track of the enchanted ring. I liked the adventures with the Ugli-Wugli's and the living statues the best. I was glad it had a fairy tale ending with a lord and lady.


The Entomological Tales of Augustus T. Percival
The Entomological Tales of Augustus T. Percival
Author: Dene Low
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/10/2010


I could see that the author was trying to make this book charming but I could not seem to get involved in it. I sort of got lost in all the relatives and did not see why they were involved in the adventure. I was not sure how the uncle eating bugs related to the story either except that the kidnapper used the particular butterfly on his ransom notes. It seemed very loosely attached to the storyline. It was all sort of convenient too and I just didn't get attached to any of the characters.


Everlost
Everlost
Author: Neal Shusterman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/31/2010


I very much enjoyed this book. I felt it to be fast paced and it had some twists and turns at the end that I did not expect. It was very imaginative and I liked to explore with the characters this land of the in-between-dead. It definately left me feeling that I would want to read more so I will have to get the second one.


Evernight (Evernight, Bk 1)
Evernight (Evernight, Bk 1)
Author: Claudia Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 4/13/2011


I went back and forth on how interested I was in this book as I read it. Some parts were intriging, other parts were too much teenage drama. I didn't really believe the relationship connection between the two main characters and that is always a problem in teenage romances. I did not anticipate the big reveal though. That caught me off guard and it took me a minute to process it. I am not sure if I will read the others in the series.


Fahrenheit 451
Fahrenheit 451
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 4/18/2009


I read this in school so I thought I should read it again. I couldn't really get into it this time around and I usually do not stick with books if they do not engage me right away.


The Fifth Mountain
The Fifth Mountain
Author: Paulo Coelho, Clifford E. Landers (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a powerful story. I love how Coelho uses allegories in his books.


Fireproof
Fireproof
Author: Eric Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 2/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I did not realise that this book was a screenplay before it was a book. I usually do not read books that are screenplays first. It read like a movie and I did not like that. A lot of the parts with the firemen did not seem to further the plotline. I did like to read the 40 day challenge and thought that it would benefit my relationship. I always want to make my relationship even stronger.


The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
Review Date: 9/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


My husband and I read this book together and we both enjoyed it. It was clear to us what Love Language we each were and we read some tips about how to show love and communicate using the Love Languages. This was a great book for couples to read.


Frankenstein (Dover Thrift Editions)
Frankenstein (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: Mary Shelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 10/27/2012


This book in some ways is more of a tragedy than a horror story. As you read it, you have to contemplate who is the monster; Frankenstein or his creation. Yes, the creation was murderous and revengeful but he was never given any of the love and companionship that he so greatly desired. He was misunderstood from the beginning because of his hideous form. Even his creator hated him the minute that he was formed. So sad.


Frindle
Frindle
Author: Andrew Clements, Brian Selznick (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 2/17/2010


I thought that Nick was being disresectful but really his teacher was just encouraging individual thought. The power of words and action! This was a fun, very quick read.


The Full Cupboard of Life (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)
Review Date: 9/8/2010


These books have such an easy flow of languague and action. I often wonder if the Gabornian people are so polite to each other like it is depicted. I love the way they talk to one another. I did not find the storylines in this book as intriguing as some of the others but I did like the happenings at the end.


Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of World War II's Greatest Rescue Mission
Review Date: 11/27/2012


I read this book with my husband. He wants to rate it four stars and I would have given it two stars. So I am averaging the two to three stars. I have a hard time reading about the brutalities of war. I felt there were too many characters that came and went through the narration and I felt that the story was slow as it went back and forth between the past and present. That may be though because it took us a long time to read this book as my husband and I only have snatches of time together.


Gifts
Gifts
Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 11/10/2011


I thought the book was a little slow but it definately set up a lot for the other two books. Sometimes the first book in a trillogy needs to establish everything. I thought it was interesting how Orrec was willing to sacrifice his sense of sight to keep his family safe from his "gift." I do not really think that it is a gift to be able to undo something. I am interested to see if Gry's theory is correct, that the gifts were once used for peace and have been corrupted by war and violence. There were some very touching parts in the book with Orrec's relationships with his mother and father. It will also be interesting to see how Orrec's feelings will change toward his father since his discover about his gift near the end of the book.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 992
Review Date: 6/19/2010


I love that the boys name is Jonas. I do not see that name too much so it was fun to readin the text. This book was very thought provoking. I was intrigued by the concepts of their sameness world and felt what the author was intended to portray, it is better to have choice, even if it is the wrong one. I had an idea what Releasing was but was still very shocked and saddened to read about one. The images in the book were very vivid.


21 to 40 of 114 - Page: