Stephanie M. (QuiltedKnitter) - - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Angel Threads: Creating Lovable Clothes for Little Ones
Angel Threads: Creating Lovable Clothes for Little Ones
Author: Karen Ericsson Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2012


This book is great for creating your own infant clothing in folk styles. The author teaches you how to sew from a basic pattern and develop many different styles from one pattern. An experienced beginning sewer would find these easy to do, but even a raw beginner shouldn't have too much problem. Don't think you need a sewing machine! All of these infant outfits can be made with a simple backstitch. This book focuses using cottons rather than knits.


Chromosome 6 (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Chromosome 6 (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Robin Cook, Boyd Gaines (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/8/2010


Robin Cook is a new author to me and this audiobook is my first story. It is EXCITING! I love the characters, I love the plot. Plenty of intrigue. I had an abridged version and it focused on the action giving enough detail to involve you in the plot. I recommend!


Colorful Knitwear Design
Colorful Knitwear Design
Author: Threads Magazine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/24/2008


Tips and articles from Threads Magazine. This book is ideal for the knitter who wants to design knitwear. For the blind pattern follower, not so useful except that it does have the specific directions for a handful of sweaters and sweater coats (including cover photo).


Complete Introduction to Corydoras and Other Related Catfish
Complete Introduction to Corydoras and Other Related Catfish
Author: Warren Burgess
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Basic information on Corydoras catfish (and related) for the aquarium enthusiast. This book is intended for those seeking additional information. If you are a beginner or casual hobbyist, this is not the book for you.

Includes much of the scientific nomenclature, but realize that some of that has changed since this book was printed. Lots of color illustrations.


Dragonharper (Crossroads Adventure in the World of Anne Mccaffrey's Pern)
Review Date: 1/7/2009


Do-your-own-adventure style book based on the Pern series. You are the young harper, Robinton. Throw a dice and read where you land. You live quietly, die or go on to yet another plot. Fun book. Preface by Anne McCaffrey.


Fair Play (New York Blades, Bk 2)
Fair Play (New York Blades, Bk 2)
Author: Deirdre Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 5/13/2009


I don't even like hockey, and I enjoyed this book!


Getting Ready For Baby: 50 Fast and Easy Sewing Projects for Grandmothers, Aunts, and Mothers-to-Be
Review Date: 12/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book includes all the usual things needed for baby including kimonos, changing bags, totes. My favorite thing though are the little soft toys designed to go with a Noah's Ark themed quilt and wall hanging. Can be used as toys or a mobile, they include a lion, a giraffe, an elephant, a hippo, a whale and a horse (could also be zebra). If you know how to do a fine backstitch, you don't even need a sewing machine to do most of the projects in this book (including the toys).


Male Practice: How Doctors Manipulate Women
Male Practice: How Doctors Manipulate Women
Author: Robert S. Mendelsohn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2010


While quite an old book, some of the issues that Dr. Mendelsohn raises are still issues today. If you get nothing else from this book, you will learn to ASK the RIGHT questions before agreeing to non-emergency care as many procedures that doctors say are 'simple' or 'routine' can actually cause you illness and injury. Some procedures are pushed because they are moneymakers for either the doctor or the hospital, not because they are in the best interests of the patient such as c-section and hysterectomies. Some procedures are done because "medical students are taught to absorb doctrine...not question it.

Learn how to be more forthright with your doctor. I've had plenty of experience with doctors who hem and haw and won't answer my questions, probably because they don't know the answer themselves. Learn to question unexpected results from lab tests. Not only do labs make errors frequently, but certain conditions, foods, beverages, supplements and drugs can effect the accuracy or effectiveness of a test.

"What are you looking for and if you find it, is it something you can treat?"

"If I do this test, what choices will I have if it is positive? What if it is negative?"

"How effective is this drug on my condition?"

As someone who has had long term health problems resulting from a drug that had ALREADY BEEN FOUND to be ineffective for my condition, I wish I would have read this book long ago.

Finally, I do not agree with everything that is discussed in this book. Some of the information is outdated. Sadly, however, many of the poor practice methods continue to be popular with doctors who don't have to live with the results. To continue these practices, they have now resorted to scare tactics, making it difficult for a patient to have any trust in the medical community at all, given that the practices are so widespread.


A Man, a Can, a Microwave : 50 Tasty Meals You Can Nuke in No Time (Man, a Can... Series)
Review Date: 6/2/2017


This, surprisingly, turned out to be a good cookbook. Recipes are easy and use the microwave although some still use top of stove (i.e. hard to cook linguine or spaghetti noodles otherwise). I tried a bunch of recipes and most are pretty good, but not outstanding (microwave cooking rarely beats stovetop or oven). Designed to appeal to men, most recipes are designed for 2-4 servings (if you are a single guy, 2 meals). Good cookbook to use in the summer if you don't want to heat up the kitchen.

I totally loved Rapid Reuban sandwiches, Tuna Sopranos, and Maui Beany Weenies.

One caveat. With a couple exceptions, I don't recommend this cookbook for diabetics as many of the recipes are simply too high in carbs.


NEXT OF KIN
NEXT OF KIN
Author: Eric Frank Russell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/9/2009


This is one of my very favorite science fiction books. It's funny and inventive. How to escape from an inescapable prison. My copy will never be at PBS because it's a keeper! First published in 1959.


A Quilter's Christmas
A Quilter's Christmas
Author: Nancyann Johanson Twelker
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/24/2008


Sewn Christmas projects including ornaments. Original pattern pieces are still in the center unused. I did several of the projects (didn't require those patterns) and found the directions to be clear. My primary reason for buying was to learn the method to strip piece and quilt a quilt at the same time. This book does not include rotary cutting directions, although most of the projects don't lend themselves to that method any way.


Quilts for Baby: Easy As ABC
Quilts for Baby: Easy As ABC
Author: Ursula Golisz Reikes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/16/2010


Very excellent step-by-step book on making quilts for a baby. The patterns are easily doable by a beginner who knows how to rotary cut. Some traditional patterns, such as Attic Windows, have been simplified to make it easier for the beginner.


The Sword of Shannara (Shannara, Bk 1)
The Sword of Shannara (Shannara, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/9/2009


I have loved this story since it first came out, just after I graduated from High School. I highly recommend this trilogy (followed by Elfstones of Shannara and Wishsong of Shannara) to those who find "Lord Of the Rings" too difficult to read. While some disgruntled readers claim it to be a ripoff of LOTR, it was just the most popular of the epic fantasy novels, a genre that was coming into its own at the time.


Walkies: Dog Training and Care the Woodhouse Way
Walkies: Dog Training and Care the Woodhouse Way
Author: Barbara Woodhouse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/5/2008


Barbara Woodhouse was extremely popular in Britain (highest rated show in Britain for a decade) as a person to help people train their dogs. Her belief was that many problems with dogs were due to unknowledgeable owners. This book, done in comic book format, is geared towards a young dog owner (9 and older), but is very useful even for an adult.


1 to 14 of 14