Facebook

katkeen - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
Before I Wake (Nightmare Chronicles, Bk 1)
Before I Wake (Nightmare Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 11/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was pretty awesome and I read it in a day! I love how its a totally different take (that Ive seen so far) on the dream world and the beings that belong to it. Its about a half human half...something else. I dont even know what to call them, cept that she is known in the dream world as a Nightmare. Such a cool twist, characters, and plot that I cant wait to read the next one!


Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Savannah Russe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 6/19/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Not a good one. I liked that the lead was a vampire spy working with a secret organization and I tried to read all of it but just couldnt. The love story is rushed and I didnt like how all she could think of was her lover....it ruined the story and I had to put it down.


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fun, light, and very cute read. A friend of mine gave it to me and Im so glad I did!! The writing style flowed nicely, the characters were interesting, and the plot was pretty good. Sarah reminded me a bit of Betsy in that she says whatever comes to mind, but its a diff type of story, I look forward to reading more by this author!


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 6/10/2011


This is probably one of my favorite writers and one of my favorite series. Im now reading it all over again for the third or fourth time, it never gets old and I always get to add a new book at the end.
She is a great writer and the stories are amazing! If you havent read this yet you are sooo missing out!!


Black Magic Sanction [The Hollows, Bk 8]
Black Magic Sanction [The Hollows, Bk 8]
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 5/21/2011


I heard alot of people complaining about Rachel and all her whining...but I think she came into her own during this book. I can see where they get that because in the beginning I wanted to smack her but she really pulled it all together and out popped an amazing journey! I cant wait to read more!


Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 901
Review Date: 7/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Awesome! This time around Mercy has to help out Stefan because he calls in his favor from the previous book. Its another action packed book with a ton of sexual tension.
I love Mercy and all she has to offer and I digg that she wants to stand on her own and not rely on the pack or Samuel. But I really want her to be happy, even if it does mean being with Adam (whos dreamy btw).
Another great read by Patricia Briggs!!


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 1/4/2011


Awesome!! This book was great! I love how the old, pink, prissy and weak Mac sheds her skin to become the darker, stronger and harder girl in this book. I really like the chemistry/sexual tension between her and Barrons, it fits well together. I CANT wait to read the next one, this is def a series that will be added to my library!


Blue Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 1)
Blue Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 11/2/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This was an awesome read!!! I just happened to stumble across it and Im REALLY glad I did! Its got were's, action, romance, and great plots!! What a GREAT mix! if you are a werewolf romance lover, this is the book for you!


Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon K. Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 11/24/2010


What an awesome book!! Im a HUGE Jim Butcher fan and I was impressed with Shannons style of writing, the plot, characters, and all the amazing visuals I got along the way!!

The book is about a war against the Sentinels and the Synestryn, and how the different races within the Sentinels trys to put a stop to the evil forces that want to take over earth.

Its a very interesting plot and leaves the story line open for more characters and more books. This particular book has a love story about Helen and Drake. She doesnt know that she is a direct descendant of the Theroani, a race that has mostly males and hardly any females. The males need the females to draw off their powers and ease their pain. The males have these tattoos on them of a tree that is embedded into their very souls. Once the last leaf falls off they lose their soul and only a female can make the leaves gown back.

There is also another race within the Sentinels, the Sanguinar, (one named Logan has a part in this book) and Drake calls them the Blood Suckers. They sound like vampires but I dont think they like to be called that. I could see how there could be another series about that particular race!

Theres a lot to go on in this book which makes me excited to read more!!!


Carpe Demon: Adventures of Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/2/2010


This book is basically about a soccer mom who is retired from hunting demons. When the baddest demon of them all threatens to take over, she is forced to come out of retirement for the good of the cause.
I liked this book, but it was too close to my life (minus the demons and political stuff) to get into. I like reading stuff that is far from my daily life lol. Wasnt a bad book,just not my type of thing.


Comprehensive Curriculum of Basic Skills: Grade 1 (Comprehensive Curriculum…)
Review Date: 8/17/2012


This book is amazing as well as HUGE! We homeschool so adding this to our "classroom" for days when we cant do a full "school day" is wonderful!! This could also be used to supplement at home during first grade if you wanted extra work for your little one, or during the summer before or after first grade depending on their level. These books are a good addition....


A Darker Dream
A Darker Dream
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 9/24/2010


This was a bit slow and felt alot like Beauty and the Beast, but in vampire form. Not bad, just a tad dry.


The Darkest Kiss (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 6)
The Darkest Kiss (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 6)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 11/2/2010


I LOVE this series but it took me a while to get into the book, it was a great read and I will def read more. The last third of the book was awesome....


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 910
Review Date: 5/13/2010


This book and author leaves me with mixed emotions. On one hand I really liked the story and the characters (well for the post part the characters were good) but the writing style (I thought) was horrible. There were scenes where they resorted to caveman talk, meaning there were sections where they were saying "Must use shower." or "Yes, want now." (I dont really like that). She also mixed in other characters so I wasnt really sure if the book was about Maddox or all of them. Im curious as to how the other ones play out and Im hoping that this was just her first book ever written and that her writing style gets better.


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 729
Review Date: 11/7/2010


I enjoyed this book, the mysterious Barrons and the maturing Mac. I have to read the next in the series because the end just leaves you hanging on a cliff, good thing its available.

~Update~ This book read a bit slow for me so I wasnt too sure about the next one, BUT I LOVE this series! I think the characters are mysterious enough to keep you coming back for more and the whole Fairy/Fae aspect is extremely interesting. I also like the fact that the writing style is awesome and its not like every other book!! If you are iffy about this one, you MUST keep reading for you will be hooked!!! :)


Dead and Dateless (Dead End Dating, Bk 2)
Dead and Dateless (Dead End Dating, Bk 2)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 2/18/2010


Another cute read by Raye! I love the mysterious Ty and I really like Lil. These are such light reads that I really need to order more than one at a time. I cant wait to read the next in the series!


Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 7/28/2010


Awesome! I just LOVE Sookie and all the characters that we have come to know in this series!! The weres finally reveal their true nature and some like it, some dont. The ending leaves you craving for more....I cant wait till the next one!


Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 5)
Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 5)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1938
Review Date: 6/25/2010


I really enjoy this series and all the characters that we meet along the way. I also really like that everyone and their brother is trying to hook up with Sookie. Its hard for me to decide which character I think she would fit best with, sometimes I think its a shifter, other times I think its a vamp....I guess we shall see what happens in the next book now that shes, once again, pissed off a whole lot of people.....


Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book took a bit to get started but once it did it turned out to be a cute read. The main character is a bit shallow, but when its all said and done, I will probably read the next in the series.


Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Garey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/18/2011


This was such a good read! I really like Niki and Joe, as well as Evan and all the other fun ghosts that come along with it. I cant wait to see where the next book goes...


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: