Rebecca K. (gladstonechick) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Before I Go to Sleep
Before I Go to Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 7/29/2015


I really enjoyed this book. It was the first time I had read anything by this author, but I'd gladly try another. It's pretty creepy, but in a good way.


Big Little Lies
Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 6/6/2017


This book is what I imagine is called chick lit (a phrase I detest but understand). It's an easy read and the author includes some humor in her writing. I'd recommend it as something for a plane ride or sitting watching a kid's football game. It's not a great book, but it's somewhat entertaining and easy to read.


Breakdown (Alex Delaware, Bk 31)
Breakdown (Alex Delaware, Bk 31)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/4/2017


If you like Alex Delaware (and who doesn't), you'll like this book. It certainly is not my favorite of Kellerman's, but it's a good, quick read.


Cemetery Girl
Cemetery Girl
Author: David Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/10/2016


I really enjoyed this book. It was fast-paced with good, tight writing. I'll look for more books by this author.


The Couple Next Door: A Novel
The Couple Next Door: A Novel
Author: Shari Lapena
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 9/2/2018
Helpful Score: 3


Ugh. I like a psychological thriller, but this was just stupid. It started out with some promise, but it quickly deteriorated. The plot was just over-the-top contrived, and the writing was that of a high school literary student. On the plus side, it was quick to read. Now on to something (hopefully) better.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 9/20/2014


I liked this book. It kept my interest until the end. If you're a fan of this author, you'll not be disappointed.


Dead Connection (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 1)
Dead Connection (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 1)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/15/2016


I liked this book and the characters. Although the last 1/4 of the book seemed a little over-the-top complicated, I still enjoyed it and would read more by this author,


Dexter by Design (Dexter, Bk 4)
Dexter by Design (Dexter, Bk 4)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/15/2016


I loved this book. Dexter is up to his usual skullduggery, and I love his interaction with the kids. Lindsay is in top form for this one.


Dexter in the Dark (Dexter, Bk 3)
Dexter in the Dark (Dexter, Bk 3)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/27/2016


I didn't like this one as much as the two previous books, but it was still good. Lindsay's style is fun and easy to read, and I've enjoyed getting to know Dexter. I'm looking forward to the next one.


Every Secret Thing
Every Secret Thing
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 11/13/2013


This is the first book I've read by this author, and I really enjoyed it. I'm now reading another of her books and like it, too.


A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 2)
A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 2)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/3/2017


I really enjoy this series. Inspector Gamache is a clever but practical guy, and the author writes rather "tongue in cheek" in some parts which adds to the enjoyment. The books in this series are easy and quick to read. All told, I'm a fan of this author and this character.


Gone, Baby, Gone
Gone, Baby, Gone
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 12/31/2013


I really like this author, and I enjoyed this book immensely. The characters are well described, and the plot moved at an exciting pace. I would recommend this book and others by this author.


The Good Luck of Right Now
The Good Luck of Right Now
Author: Matthew Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/2/2017


This book is interesting and a quick read. It's very clever, but not really my kind of book.


The Highway
The Highway
Author: C.J. Box
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/17/2015


I really enjoyed this book. The premise was different and kept me guessing as to how this would end. I liked it so much that I got a couple of other books by this author.


The Husband's Secret
The Husband's Secret
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 12/27/2016


I had read What Alice Forgot and liked it (somewhat), but I didn't enjoy this book much. To be frank, I'm not much of a fan of what is normally termed as chick lit (a phrase I find offensive), and to me this seemed to fall in that genre. I liked the idea of the book, but it was just a little too silly for my taste. Also, it was too long. Maybe it would not have seemed so long had I liked it more. But others may enjoy the writer's style and sense of frivolity.


Labor Day Movie Tie- In Edition: A Novel (P.S.)
Labor Day Movie Tie- In Edition: A Novel (P.S.)
Author: Joyce Maynard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/12/2015


I really enjoyed this book, especially the fact that it was told from the boy's point of view. I found the plot to be interesting and thought provoking. It made me wonder what I would do had I been in Adele's position.


Left Neglected
Left Neglected
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 6/14/2015


I enjoy this author's writing style and liked this book. I didn't find the subject matter as compelling as Still Alice, but still a interesting read.


The Little Sister (Philip Marlowe, Bk 5)
The Little Sister (Philip Marlowe, Bk 5)
Author: Raymond Chandler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/16/2018


Chandler is a master writer. His descriptive terms are beyond compare. I'd recommend any of his books. Regardless of the story, the writing is worth it - just marvelous.


Long Gone
Long Gone
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/11/2016


I was not a fan of this book. I've read two other books by this author, and they were okay (but not great). This one had a plot that took forever to come together. I'm giving up on Alafair Burke.


Love You More (D. D. Warren, Bk 5)
Love You More (D. D. Warren, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 9/1/2015


I thought this plot was way too contrived. Most of this stuff would never happen, and the ending is particularly unlikely. I had never read anything by this author and probably won't bother with any others of hers. Not a favorite.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: