Sandy A. - Reviews

21 to 35 of 35 - Page:
The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5713
Review Date: 2/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Hosseini's first book which is a read all at once. He is an outstanding author and his views of Afghanistan and the depth of the story are very realistic.


The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 2/8/2008


Harry Bosch stories are always a good read.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2508
Review Date: 2/8/2008


Middlesex is one of those must read books, but you may not enjoy it while you are doing it. It is a strange story with an even stranger topic, but it so well-written and so challenging that you must finish it.


Midnight in Peking: How the Murder of a Young Englishwoman Haunted the Last Days of Old China
Review Date: 10/11/2014


Gives interesting information about an event in time. I was not very familiar with Japanese, British and Chinese relations prior to WWI. The book is halting in only average writing.


Murder Book
Murder Book
Author: Richard Rayner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/17/2008


Tedious psychological thriller. I wanted to finish it to find out whether the hero ever felt better about himself.


No, David!
No, David!
Author: David Shannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/13/2012


My grandson loves this, and all of the David books. They are great for pre-readers and older toddlers.


Random Family : Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx
Review Date: 7/22/2012


This book was recommended to me by my brother who I rarely share similar tastes. He raved about it, and told me that my daughter, who is a social worker, has probably read it. Turns out that her mother-in-law gave it to her when she graduated from the University of Chicago School of Social Work. Subsequently, she's given it to her interns over the last 10 years.
The stories are beyond anything I know from my suburban upbringing, but clearly show that if we don't figure out one generation to help, this tale will continue generation after generation as we saw it. I think that every thinking person should read this.


The Ravenscar Dynasty
The Ravenscar Dynasty
Author: Barbara Taylor Bradford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/12/2008


Certainly not the best of Barbara Taylor Bradford and very predictable.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3408
Review Date: 4/12/2008


Historical and timely. Teaches so much.


Shiver (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Shiver (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 7/17/2008


Not a page turner, but an interesting read and a nice love angle to boot.


Snow Falling on Cedars
Snow Falling on Cedars
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 4/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Definitely a must read.


Stripped (Jonathan Stride, Bk 2)
Stripped (Jonathan Stride, Bk 2)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 10/11/2008


I recently read both of Brian Freeman's book. Jonathan Stride is an anti-hero hero. He has interesting encounters and relationships. I'll keep reading Freeman.


The Survivors Club
The Survivors Club
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 4/12/2008


Another great Lisa Gardner. Like the characters and the plot.


Things I Want My Daughters to Know
Things I Want My Daughters to Know
Author: Elizabeth Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/1/2015


I picked this book so that I could maybe find ways to communicate better with my 35-year old daughter. Instead, I read about a remarkable mother, and her very interesting daughters. I thoroughly enjoyed the role of Mark, and how he stepped up for his girls. This is a perfect light summer read.


Where She Went (If I Stay, Bk 2)
Where She Went (If I Stay, Bk 2)
Author: Gayle Forman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/1/2015


The two books, If I Stay and Where She Went could easily have been one book. The coincidences were too rampant to be believable. There is mostly sadness in this book. OK for a light summer read.


21 to 35 of 35 - Page: