Shelia W. (skyqueen) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment
Review Date: 6/10/2014


I think he's got it down for the way men think and his delivery is great!


Adrenal Fatigue: The 21st-Century Stress Syndrome
Adrenal Fatigue: The 21st-Century Stress Syndrome
Author: James L. Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/10/2011


Opens your eyes to just how much stress you are really exposed to & probably aready have had!! Then gives you lots of info on how to manage it along with how to build up your adrenal glands. Adenals affect your thyroid and sex hormones, so it is an interrelated system. Dr. Wilson is an authority!


Aftershock: Protect Yourself and Profit in the Next Global Financial Meltdown
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I'm not an economics student per se, but this book really lays it out as to, not only WHAT IS happening, WHAT WILL happen, but also WHY. They have a very good track record as far as their predictions. Their predictions are coming to pass as we write. (Aug '11)
The future global ECONOMIC WORLD will NOT be the same as it is today. It will be better, but there are Long & Hard Times to go through before that happens. Plan ahead and protect yourself. Most people will think you are crazy, but we'll see who has the last laugh.


Around the House and In the Garden : A Memoir of Heartbreak, Healing, and Home Improvement
Review Date: 6/14/2012


This is a very personal book for me, so that is one reason I gave it a five star, which some people may not agree with. It IS well written and touches the depths and nuances of emotion. Don't remember how I originally came across it, but I knew I must add it to my library. It just seemed to fit what I felt & needed and I wanted it available as a part of me.


Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness
Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness
Author: Suzanne Somers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/16/2011


So much great, useful information. Even if you don't think Suzanne Somers is credible, you can't refudiate the doctors she interviews!! I think every woman approaching 40 should read and if you've past 40, you MUST read.


Comanche Moon (Lonesome Dove, Bk 4)
Comanche Moon (Lonesome Dove, Bk 4)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What I wrote for Streets of Laredo. Applies to all in this series.
I started with Comanche Moon then Lonesome Dove, now Streets of Laredo. I knew it was the last book but I didn't want to end the series there, so will read Dead Man's Walk last because it is the beginning of Woodrow and Gus.
Of course, McMurtry is the best at putting life in prespective. What has struck me through the series is that not much, if anything, has changed through time. People still lie, cheat, steal, make unusual friendships, are unfathomly selfish, unconscious of their own and others inner workings, marry for the wrong reasons, are subject to Mother Nature's weather & animals, and generally are at the Mercy of Life and their decisions. Death can still come quickly when least expected to those least deserving or who cannot accept it or don't try to protect it. Your transportation can still fall on top of you (horse, car, airplane), disease, sniper fire or serial killer, hate killing, war...there's nothing new under the sun.
We, as a human race, know more now, but really have not learned more.
McMurtry's view of life, at least as told in these stories, is much like my own; cynical, but real.
Now I'm looking forward to Dead Man's Walk. I want it to end where it began.


Early Texas Homes
Early Texas Homes
Author: Dorothy K. Bracken, Maurine W. Redway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/14/2011


A worthwhile read for a look back at what shaped our state from a different prespective. A lot of work went into this book which was written in 1956. Much of it would have been lost had it been done today in 2011. Lots of black and white photos and plenty of side-stories and historical or important people. Homes are grouped by regions of the State. Many are still standing after 100 years can be visited today. Of course, some are still occupied.


Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Author: Robin McGraw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 8/10/2011


It was fun reading.


Lick the Sugar Habit
Lick the Sugar Habit
Author: Nancy Appleton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/7/2012


I read this book many years ago (pub. 1996, present day 2012) and it definitely changed the way I viewed healthy and food. Of course, sugar is not a food. Easy, straightforward and before it's time yet still timely. Can be the first step towarda better life. Addresses recipes, allergies, diseases, and self-help techniques.


The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, and Broke
The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, and Broke
Author: Suze Orman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/29/2012


I agree with about 95 to 99 percent of Suze's advise. Am giving this to my high school-graduated granddaughter so hopefully she can start out on the right foot, especially as pertains to student loans. Also: Save, Save, Save!!! Has lots of references to her website, no surprise. I feel that I am financially savey, having been raised in a very financially diligent home, having worked with educated, successful people, and done a sufficient amount of reading/research on my own and am not driven by consumerism. However, for those who have not been so exposed or lucky, this is a worthwhile read for initial awareness and guidance. Then use your own judgement. Her essential principles are right-directed.

Writen for another website:
Of course I knew most of this already and agree with Suze about 98% of the time. Watch her show regularly but also know she is in the 'business' to make money - just not as a stock broker anymore. So I don't take her as the know all to end all, just add her to my repertoire. However, I bought the book so I could read, evaluate, and pass it on to my 16 year old granddaughter. I think it is a good enough basic book to get a young person, especially not financial savy or with any good money management teaching, a head start towards becoming financially stable. Experience is always going to be the best teacher, but hopefully this book will help most novices avoid costly mistakes in both dollars and time. Good explanation of terms, many references to other web sites, and tools.


The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels
The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels
Author: Ree Drummond
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/10/2011


A true love story EXACTLY the way you would WANT it to be...EXACTLY the way it OUGHT to be!!!
Best if you don't know much about the story beforehand or read the flaps. Just start reading. More exciting that way.


The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl
The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl
Author: Ree Drummond
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I sctually read this like you would a regular book. Very entertaining. EASY, EASY TASTY recipes with LOTS of pictures that made me both hungry & want to get out of bed & start cookin'! I had first read her SECOND book (The Pioneer Woman, Black Heels to Tractor Wheels) & then visited her web site, so I knew the type of writing & her interest in good ol' down home, but sometimes fancy, food. A+


Situations Matter: Understanding How Context Transforms Your World
Situations Matter: Understanding How Context Transforms Your World
Author: Sam Sommers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/29/2012


I'm just getting into it slowly since I'm not reading it aggressively. Very interesting. Things you subconsciously think about, kinda like body language, but just don't REALLY notice. Gonna have to step up my pace.
Little over half way through now and what comes to mind is: Everything is relative. Can also be said: Everything is Relavent.


Streets of Laredo (Lonesome Dove, Bk 4)
Streets of Laredo (Lonesome Dove, Bk 4)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/29/2012


I started with Comanche Moon then Lonesome Dove, now Streets of Laredo. I knew it was the last book but I didn't want to end the series there, so will read Dead Man's Walk last because it is the beginning of Woodrow and Gus.
Of course, McMurtry is the best at putting life in prespective. What has struck me through the series is that not much, if anything, has changed through time. People still lie, cheat, steal, make unusual friendships, are unfathomly selfish, unconscious of their own and others inner workings, marry for the wrong reasons, are subject to Mother Nature's weather & animals, and generally are at the Mercy of Life and their decisions. Death can still come quickly when least expected to those least deserving or who cannot accept it or don't try to protect it. Your transportation can still fall on top of you (horse, car, airplane), disease, sniper fire or serial killer, hate killing, war...there's nothing new under the sun.
We, as a human race, know more now, but really have not learned more.
McMurtry's view of life, at least as told in these stories, is much like my own; cynical, but real.
Now I'm looking forward to Dead Man's Walk. I want it to end where it began.
From another review I wrote on another web site:
I listened to the audio (a very good reader) & pictured the actors from Lonesome Dove. Most enjoyable that way. Probably can't say much more than what's already been said. Listening to Lonesome Dove now (not as good a reader). Set 30 years after Comanche Moon. Trying to read in sequence but I think Dead Man's Walk was first.


Tell No One (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Tell No One (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Harlan Coben, Steven Weber (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 6/29/2012


Am listening to this now on cassette. It is an enticing, contemporary (2012 for those FUTURE, 100 year later readers) read so far that has you guessing what the REAL underlying reason is for the Doctor's wife's death, or is it disappearance, eight years earlier. Hope I'm not disappointed, like for some lame Green Energy type conspiracy.


1 to 15 of 15