Abby M. (abbyem) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 60 - Page:
The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Author: Stuart Turton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/31/2019


While this was a very clever book which kept my interest, it was hard to follow. There are numerous characters. Although they have them listed in the front of the book, I found myself often referring back to that list. Many of the names were also similar and I just found myself confused. An old fashioned mystery with an updated twist.


The Accidental Mother
The Accidental Mother
Author: Rowan Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 9/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was the story of a career woman who unexpectedly takes on the guardianship of her childhood friend's two children. I enjoyed the book - it contained some humor and showed real growth with the main character.


After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/6/2016
Helpful Score: 1


I don't always like sequels and had this book sitting on my TBR pile for several months. However, this was a really well written sequel. Lou is such a great character and the book did justice to her steps toward moving on "after You". I laughed. I cried. If you liked the first book, read this one too.


Alternate Side: A Novel
Alternate Side: A Novel
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/23/2018


The book started out slowly but then you find yourself invested in Nora, her relationships and her neighborhood. Interesting to read a book about a NYC neighborhood that felt almost suburban at times, but with the amenities and pitfalls of city life. I thought that the character of Nora was so well fleshed out-you really felt as if you knew her. Once again, Anna Quindlen does not disappoint.


An Anonymous Girl
An Anonymous Girl
Author: Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pekkanen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/26/2019


I was enjoying this book but it was moving a little slowly for me until a certain revelation which made the book jump up a notch for me and definitely made me want to keep turning the pages more and more quickly. Jess was a very interesting character. It seemed to me that she was stuck between a rock and a hard place more than once but she was strong, smart and resilient and continued to surprise me. I very much enjoyed this book.


Beartown (Beartown, Bk 1)
Beartown (Beartown, Bk 1)
Author: Fredrik Backman, Neil Smith (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/30/2019


I really enjoyed this book. It was a large cast of characters so took a little time to sort them all out. Other than that, it was a great story that kept me completely engaged. It revolves around a town obsessed with hockey. When the star player gets into trouble, everyone seems to take a side and the reactions and counter-reactions are so real. So many interesting plotlines throughout the book. I understand there is a sequel-anxious to read it.


Beautiful Ruins
Beautiful Ruins
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 1/6/2013
Helpful Score: 4


This was one of the most enjoyable books I have read in a while. There were numerous plot lines but they all reconciled themselves by the end of the book. It brought together real people and fiction characters in a real and understandable way. You can't go wrong with this book.


Becoming
Becoming
Author: Michelle Obama
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/5/2019


This is such a well-written and inspiring book. Michelle Obama's story is so interesting and should appeal to all despite what your politics may be. There are lessons to be learned here and her story is told in a way that is not at all foreboding or overwhelming. I enjoyed every page.


Blackberry Winter
Blackberry Winter
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/15/2019


I thought this was an interesting story, but too many things fell into place very conveniently and it wasn't hard to figure out certain plot twists. Worth the read though.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 8/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. It is told from the point of view of a 9 year old during World War II. The book is very fast paced and the story is engaging from the first word till the last. It is not a children's book but could spark some very interesting discussions in families or in book clubs.


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I very much enjoyed this book and almost always enjoy the author. It was interesting to me as it tells the story of a tragedy that happens in a Morman family and how the eldest child is affected by that tragedy throughout her childhood and young adult life.


Carthage
Carthage
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/4/2019


A girl disappears or was she murdered. The man accused had been engaged to her sister-a war veteran. This book examines the family before and after this time. The book is long and although parts are very interesting, other parts dragged for me. There is much sadness for all of the characters and you feel drawn down as well when reading the story.


Crossing to Safety
Crossing to Safety
Author: Wallace Earle Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 10/2/2018


This is a quiet book about the long term friendship between two married couples. It is beautifully descriptively written with completely interesting characters. It's one you want to read in front of a warm fire where you can settle in and read for a long time.


Don't Let Go
Don't Let Go
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/24/2018


Not my favorite of Harlan Coben. Although it keeps you reading, the story was a little flat and far fetched.


Educated: A Memoir
Educated: A Memoir
Author: Tara Westover
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 3/2/2019


This book reminded me in many ways of The Glass Castle. A young girl being brought up in a very dysfunctional family and her uncanny ability to survive and rise above it all. Tara's story relates how an uneducated Morman girl from Idaho is able to get into college and excel in academia despite every effort on the part of her family to prevent her from leaving and succeeding. Tara holds strong beliefs because of her religious upbringing and has a hard time breaking ties to her family and their dysfunction. Her growth is amazing and keeps you completely invested in this true story.


Everybody's Son: A Novel
Everybody's Son: A Novel
Author: Thrity Umrigar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/26/2019


An engrossing story about an underprivileged black boy who is fostered and then adopted by a white couple who are able to give him everything. Anton's journey is fascinating as he grows from a boy to a man, but his past comes back to him as an adult and he searches many truths in coming to terms with how his life started and how it had turned out. The characters are multi-faceted and completely interesting. I very much enjoyed this story.


Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel
Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel
Author: Mindy Mejia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/21/2018


I really enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing. The characters were complex. It was different than a lot of the current crop of popular mystery type books. Although the story revolves around a high school student, there are interesting adult characters throughout as well. Kept me reading.


Final Girls: A Novel
Final Girls: A Novel
Author: Riley Sager
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/19/2018


I didn't enjoy this book as much as I expected to. I thought the pacing was slow. The ending did surprise me however.


The Forever Summer
The Forever Summer
Author: Jamie Brenner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/15/2018


A great beach read. Lots of interesting relationships and a good story to keep you turning the pages.


Fractured
Fractured
Author: Catherine McKenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/25/2018


This book was only just ok for me. I never felt very invested in the characters or the story line. I did continue to turn the pages to learn the outcome of the mysteries.


1 to 20 of 60 - Page: