Facebook

DeAnnette H. (deanie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
The 100 Greatest Movies of All Time
The 100 Greatest Movies of All Time
Author: Ty Burr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/25/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Entertainment Weekly's choice of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Includes predictables like North by Northwest, The Godfather, and Jaws, and also little known (at least to me) titles like Children of Paradise, Wings of Desire, Pickup on South Street and a few surprises such as Road Warrior (the Mad Max picture)! I had fun reading it and comparing my views with theirs.


50 Ways to Cope With Menopause (Medical Book of Remedies)
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Solid medical facts and practical tips on coping with menopause and osteoporosis.


Accidentally In Love With... A God? (Accidentally Yours, Bk 1)
Accidentally In Love With... A God? (Accidentally Yours, Bk 1)
Author: Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/27/2014


I was very disappointed in this book. The basic premise was good and sounded promising and it lead me to expect something better than a "I love you . . I hate you . . I love you . . I hate you" type of romance. The heroine was just too stupid to be believed. And the author needs to find a better proofreader and to learn the real meaning of decimate.


Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Contains sexually explicit scenes. VERY explicit.


The Body in the Vestibule (Faith Fairchild, Bk 4)
The Body in the Vestibule (Faith Fairchild, Bk 4)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/22/2006


I enjoy the Faith Fairchild mysteries, but felt this was a little pretentious - lots of French phrases with no translations. They don't interfere with the mystery; it's just a little annoying. Also left some questions open, like why the man whose body was in the vestibule was killed and why the killers thought Faith was a threat. If you like French food it will set your mouth watering; lots of descriptions of meals and shopping in the open air market.


A Bride for Strathallane (Harlequin Presents, No 1450)
A Bride for Strathallane (Harlequin Presents, No 1450)
Author: Stephanie Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Kind of a "I did love you, but now I hate you, wait . . now I love you, no, I hate you" story, where you want to slap both of them.


Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2713
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Another in the Sookie Stackhouse series, one of the better vampire series around. Interesting to compare how vampires and other supernatural beings are accepted/viewed in her books to the same in other series.


Dead Man
Dead Man
Author: Joe Gores
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/16/2006


Grim tale of revenge. Good story.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2424
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The first in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I think this is one of the better Vampire series around.


Death in Autumn (Penguin Crime Fiction)
Review Date: 2/15/2007


Couldn't really get into this book. One of the few I've never finished. Nothing in the story made me want to know the ending.


The Eighth Dwarf
The Eighth Dwarf
Author: Ross Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Engrossing story of an ex-OSS operative in the aftermath of WWII. Lots of plot twists, some humor.


Final Sentence (Cookbook Nook, Bk 1)
Final Sentence (Cookbook Nook, Bk 1)
Author: Daryl Wood Gerber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/2/2016


Really? You want me to believe that Jenna decides to move back home to help her aunt open a bookstore cum restaurant with the following timetable: Day one - the two of them clean and paint the entire store which has been sitting empty for many, many years. Day two: they put out the stock and hire a chef for the restaurant. Day three they do something. Day four they have the grand opening for both the bookstore and the restaurant which earns rave reviews for the gourmet food. Really? The chef has one day to order supplies, hire kitchen and dining room help and manages to be a big hit the next day? Jenna is supposed to be the manager of the bookstore, yet she is rarely in the store, always running off to investigate the murder of the celebrity chef - leaving her aunt and a friend to man the cash register and deal with customers. The whole premise was totally ridiculous. It was pretty much a waste of my time.


The Goldcamp Vampire
The Goldcamp Vampire
Author: Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/21/2007


Interesting premise, but the story itself is disappointing.


The Great Baby Caper
The Great Baby Caper
Author: Eugenia Riley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/26/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I was extremely disappointed in this book. Cute cover, cute premise, but the story . . . not so much. WARNING: spoilers ahead. Don't read on if you don't want to know how the book ends.

Courtney, driven career woman in Denver, with a mother and three married sisters with children who think she should get married and have babies, too, and don't appreciate her work, meets Mark, successful, wealthy London businessman when his grandfather (her boss) tricks her into meeting him. One night stand, she's pregnant, he's madly in love with her. She agrees to a marriage of convenience for the baby's sake, with Mark flying back and forth from London when he can.

Courtney feels she can't trust Mark because of the trick his grandfather played even though Mark knew nothing about it, but the marriage of convenience lasts about two minutes, then she's sleeping with him again, insisting that the marriage probably won't last.

Mark wants her to quit her job and move to London with him, but when she suggests he quit his job and move to Denver with her, he says "that's not fair."

He makes unilateral decisions like the time (during one visit when he's staying with her for a week) she (now CEO of his grandfather's company)is at work dealing with the sabotage at several of the company's stores and comes home to find he has offered to take care of the baby and toddler belonging to one of her sisters while the sister and her husband go on a five day cruise. She gets angry and tells him he has no right to make such a decision without consulting her, but is stuck with the children; he promises to take care of them while she works, but two days later has to leave for London on business.

She keeps reminding him that she wants to be included in the decision making and he keeps saying okay, but about two week later he does the same thing again - agreeing to take care of another sister's baby while the sister and her husband go on a cruise. I think at that point if it had been me, I would have served Mark with divorce papers and hired a professional nanny, at the sister's expense, to take care of the baby. What does Courtney do? She takes one look at the baby and "melts" and says "of course we'll take care of her." Egad!

Courtney whines that she can't trust Mark and that he doesn't include her in decisions, and that the marriage won't last, and she'll never give up her job, but her actions don't match her words. It's very annoying to see her say one thing and do another.

And then when she has her baby it takes her about two minutes to decide that she wants to be a stay at home mom after all, the baby is the most important thing in her life and she loves Mark and she'll move to London where they will live happily ever after. Puke.

Here's the switch around, on the next to last page of the book. "I think I always felt like an outsider, so different from my sisters and mom, my ambitions out of step with their domestic values. I came to see home and family as synonymous with losing my identity. That was so silly of me. Now I've found my real self with you." Again I say, puke. She just set female equality back about fifty years.

She's whiny and has no backbone (even though she's supposed to be a hard-assed business woman), he's domineering and I didn't like either one of them.

If I were writing for the Book-a-minute site the description of the book would be like this:

Courtney: I'm a driven high-level business executive and I will never get married.

Mark: You are going to be the mother of my child. I want you to give up your job and marry me and live happily ever after.

Courtney: Okay, now I realize how silly I was.


The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (Ballad, Bk 2)
The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (Ballad, Bk 2)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/25/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A compelling, haunting, but horribly grim story of murder in Dark Holoow, Tennessee. Keep something light on hand to read next.


His Defender (Men of the West, Bk 2) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1582)
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Hero is so arrogant in the beginning of the book I don't know why the woman bothered to stick around.


Mr. Cavendish, I Presume (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 2)
Mr. Cavendish, I Presume (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 2)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 541
Review Date: 7/13/2016


I was very disappointed in this book. If you've read The Lost Duke of Wyndham, don't bother reading this one. It could have been very interesting, a short back story of why he's no longer the Duke, then how he what happens to him, how his circumstances change, his courtship and marriage. But instead the author chose to rework The Lost Duke. Ninety percent of this book comes straight from the other one. It begins at the same time, goes through all discovery of the lost heir and the confirmation of his legitimacy, with tiny bits of extra thrown in about what Thomas is thinking or doing. It ends almost at the same time, just fifteen pages that do nothing but show him proposing to Amelia and a short bit about another title. I felt like I was cheated out of a good story, and the price of the book!


Rings, Roses ... and Romance (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1104)
Review Date: 8/5/2006


A fender bender, a hurricane and a matchmaking goat; what else was going to keep Darcy MacTeague in rugged Mitch Rose's arms? Cute story, I enjoyed it.


The Sleeping Lady: The Trailside Murders Above the Golden Gate
The Sleeping Lady: The Trailside Murders Above the Golden Gate
Author: Robert Graysmith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/2/2006


True Crime story of a serial sex killer.


Stella, Get Your Gun (Stella Valocchi, Bk 1) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 13)
Review Date: 9/21/2007


This is a Silhouette, but not your ordinary romance. In fact, it's much more a mystery than a romance, although there is a touch of that, too. I was pleasantly surprised and I really enjoyed the book.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: