Mary T. (maryhero) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1642
Review Date: 8/29/2005
Helpful Score: 3


1984 is an intellectual read. Don't pick it up unless you have time to really absorb it. I was amazed at the way that Orwell dug into human nature and exposed a horrifying future. Although this is NOT a horror novel, it may be the scariest book I've read!


Apocalipstick
Apocalipstick
Author: Sue Margolis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 12/15/2005


Written from third person perspective in a manner that doesn't quite flow. The plot is WAY far-fetched. This book just didn't grab me.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 606
Review Date: 10/16/2005


A must-read for all Chick-Lit lovers! Bridget Jones is every woman at her worst...and occasionally her best!! =)


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 9/14/2005


This is a great read! Even though I don't consider myself a "shopaholic," it's scary how much I could relate to Becky Bloomwood!!


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1733
Review Date: 11/1/2005


Not quite as peppy as most chick-lit I've read. I think you might need a bit of an appreciation, or at least KNOWLEDGE, of couture to really enjoy this book. I felt like 'High Fashion' was a character in this book, and had very little foundation.


For Better, for Worse
For Better, for Worse
Author: Carole Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 10/15/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Quick, fun read. I was a bit disappointed by it, though.


A Fortunate Life
A Fortunate Life
Author: A. B. Facey, Robert Juniper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/19/2005


This book is considered "a classic in Austrailian writing...unforgettable" by Geoffrey Dutton. It is the true story of Albert Facey, who was orphaned as a child and endured many hardships. Despite every obstacle that he faced, Facey still felt that his he had led "A Fortunate Life."


Getting Over It
Getting Over It
Author: Anna Maxted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 7/26/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This is a quirky British novel that I think would fall into the category of "Chick Lit." It's no Bridget Jones, but it kept me interested. Lots of emotional turmoil over love and the loss of a parent.


The Grapes of Wrath
The Grapes of Wrath
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 7/19/2005


"The epic story of the Joad family's migration from the Oklahoma Dust Bowl to the promised land of California." This novel is a classic and a must-read. I'm sure it is still a requirement in many high school lit classes.


Heart of Darkness / The Secret Sharer
Heart of Darkness / The Secret Sharer
Author: Joseph Conrad
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/19/2005


I read these classic tales in high school, and I recall that I enjoyed "Heart of Darkness." It lives true to it's name, revealing the dark and evil soul of Mr. Kurtz (the main character). This copy was well used in school and has some underlining and notes, but is in perfectly readable condition!


Hidden Talents
Hidden Talents
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/11/2005


This is one of Krentz's early novels, and it shows if you've read something more recent. The characters kept me amused, the plot was a bit out there, and I didn't see a real connection between the title and the book. I did enjoy seeing how Krentz's writing has developed. It was a quick and entertaining.


High Five (Stephanie Plum, Bk 5)
High Five (Stephanie Plum, Bk 5)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1998
Review Date: 7/19/2005


I've been flying through the Stephanie Plum series ever since a friend introduced me to it last month. These books are consuming! Here's an excerpt from the back cover. "In her fifth high-octane thriller, bounty hunter Stephanie Plum sets out ot find her missing uncle- and along the way smacks slam-bang into: a dead body, a nasty bookie, her stun-gun-toting grandmother, two very sexy men, an angry little man who won't leave her apartment, and a Mafia wedding..."


Improper English
Improper English
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 10/1/2005


Deliciously funny! I must read for any romance lover!


In the Eye of the Storm: The Life of General H. Norman Schwarzkopf
Review Date: 8/1/2005


Includes pictures from Schwarzkopf's life and career.


Men in Kilts
Men in Kilts
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Not my favorite of MacAlister's books, but definitely worth the read! Who wouldn't love a dishy Scot in a kilt? ;)


Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1)
Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 565
Review Date: 11/19/2005


It's not Stephanie Plum, but it's definitely Janet Evanovich! Another captivating read!


Noble Intentions (Noble, Bk 1)
Noble Intentions (Noble, Bk 1)
Author: Katie Macalister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 5/7/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Another great by Katie MacAlister! Sweet and sensual.


Pride and Prejudice
Pride and Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/19/2005


This is the classic English novel of romance. I enjoyed Jane Austen's intelligent writing and ability to vividly portray her characters. "And while she entertains us, Jane Austen teaches us the wisdom of balance, the folly of 'pride' and 'prejudice.'


The Rocky Road To Romance (Elsie Hawkins, Bk 4)
The Rocky Road To Romance (Elsie Hawkins, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 8/22/2005


This is a very quicky ready; in the spirit of the Stephanie Plum series. If you enjoy Stephanie and Morelli, you'll appreciate Daisy and Steve! Worth the read!


Running in Heels
Running in Heels
Author: Anna Maxted
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/11/2005


Not nearly as enjoyable as Maxted's "Getting Over It," but generated enough interest to keep me reading it.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: