Margaret M. (parkwood) - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Amish Life
Amish Life
Author: John A. Hostetler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/14/2009


Contains a wealth of information about the Amish Life. Very educational if you want or need to find out about their history, communities, how they survive in America, their schools, youth, joys and satisfaction, plus much more.


The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I bought this book as a gift for my husband. He has read all of Patricia Cornwell's books. He says he thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were well-developed and this novel had a nice flow, as all of this author's books do. As a former police officer, my husband likes this sort of novel since it has a lot of details that he knows a lot about. He is waiting for Ms. Cornwell's next novel.


Engines of Change: A History of the American Dream in Fifteen Cars
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I bought this book as a gift for my husband. He says he enjoyed the book very much, especially the history involved. He loves cars so this book was right down his alley!


Gold Stars: English, Ages 3-4
Gold Stars: English, Ages 3-4
Author: Betty Root, Monica Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/14/2009


This book was specially created to help develop early literacy skills. It includes helpful guidelines for parents, plus parent notes for each activity. There are clearly designed pagaes and brightly colored pictures which make learning both easy and fun. I feel it's the ideal prep for starting school and helps so much to develop early learning skills. There are over 30 gold star reward stickers!!


Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Author: Jamie Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 582
Review Date: 6/26/2011


Very enjoyable read. Has romance, history, light suspense, and family relationships. Author did a great job!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I thoroughly enjoyed this novel by Khaled Hosseini. I learned a lot about another culture. The story was wonderful and I enjoyed following a young man from his earliest years until he became a married man. This is a heartwarming story you won't forget. I found the novel to be much better than the movie. I'm glad I read the book before seeing the movie.


Lipstick Grace: Glimpses of Life, Love, and the Quest for the Perfect Lip Gloss
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I've heard Nancy Kennedy speak and she writes just like she talks. She's a very spiritual person who is very funny. She sees humor in everything. This book has excerpts from her newspaper colum and each is different, but each is very interesting. She somehow works in her strong spiritual belief into her writings - is just able to tie it all together. I've loved all of her books.


Sign With Your Baby: How to Communicate With Infants Before They Can Speak
Review Date: 4/14/2009


Two of my infant grandchildren were taught signing at just a few months of age. It was amazing how quickly they learned to communicate their wants and needs. It helps to eliminate frustration on both the part of the parents and the baby and that eliminates a lot of problems early on. This book is highly recommended.


Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1655
Review Date: 11/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Very entertaining novel about friends, relationships and romance. I found it to be a fun read, not heavy stuff. I enjoyed this book so much that I also read the author's other novels which turned out to be as good as this one! You won't regret reading them.


Waiting
Waiting
Author: Frank M. Robinson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/11/2009


This is a real page-turner. It's a thriller written by a wonderful writer, Frank M. Robinson. There is a frightening theme and that makes it a tale of terror. NPR listed this novel as a Top 10 Book for the Summer, but I'm not sure which year it was.


1 to 10 of 10