Facebook

Karen T. (knut) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
100 One-Night Reads : A Book Lover's Guide
100 One-Night Reads : A Book Lover's Guide
Author: David C. Major, John S. Major
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/14/2020


This book sent me down a path of discovery I have thoroughly enjoyed. In 2012 I decided to make a project of obtaining and reading as many of these books as possible. After more than 3 years I have a bookcase dedicated to "My 100 books project".
The editors/reviewers have such an engaging style of writing and brought to my attention books, authors and topics I never expected to read or even consider. While some were familiar to me and a welcome renewal of ideas and story lines, I thank the authors for expanding my scope of inquiry and interest.
I would recommend this to those who might find themselves reading only one genre or author, just as a possibility.


The 36-Hour Day (Revised & Updated Edition)
The 36-Hour Day (Revised & Updated Edition)
Author: Peter V. Rabins, Nancy L. Mace
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/13/2020


When our family first stumbled into the quagmire of Dementia with my parents more than 10 years ago, I found this book a good source of information. It began to answer my what, why, how, when questions. The strides that have been made in the treatment of Dementia and Alzheimers in the intervening years are an encouragement. This was a good starting place for us.


700 Sundays
700 Sundays
Author: Billy Crystal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/14/2020


This bio/memoir was a fun read, but he's a fun guy, right?
Liked it, but didn't keep it forever.


Adam of the Road
Adam of the Road
Author: Elizabeth Janet Gray, Robert Lawson (Illustrator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/14/2020


Oh, this takes me back to Jr. High days! The story of a young boy separated from his juggler father and the ensuing search for family and daily protection and food, were and introduction to life in the Middle Ages. It was a delight to read 60 years ago.


Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
Author: Atul Gawande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/15/2020
Helpful Score: 1


This is another book club recommendation and I found it so pertinent to our times. The first chapters were (mistakenly) taken as a condemnation of the decision to place elderly parents in assisted living. Then the author gave a history of "nursing homes" and what end-of-life situations were before the growth of the assisted living possibility.I found it to be an affirmation that these difficult decisons we make for others are nothing new, but our options now are an improvement over 50 to 100 years ago. The final chapters were a guide (from his personal experience) to talking with family concerning end of life expectations.
I would not describe this as a fun read, but think it would be a benefit if a family member is brave enough approach the topic.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 4/14/2020


This story line can be all too familiar, hostages, dictator, armed rebels, innocent civilians. I have read this twice for my own enjoyment and convinced my book club to read it years ago. The story line and character development lead to some interesting discussion.
I like the author's development of the plot and unfolding to interactions and relationships as the tension grows.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever! (Herdmans, Bk 1)
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever! (Herdmans, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/13/2020


I found this Christmas story to be a refreshing change from the high drama or folly choices of most Christmas offerings. The people are real, the problems reasonable and solved with sincerity and humor.


Big-Box Swindle: The True Cost of Mega-Retailers and the Fight for America's Independent Businesses
Review Date: 8/18/2020


Stacy Mitchel traces the growth of mega-retailers and the decline of independent business. Her writing examines the impact of these companies and the big-box mentality on everything from gasoline consumption to failing family farms and declining voting levels.
The book also provides accounts of how some communities successfully countered the spread of mega stores and rebuilt the local economy.


Breakfast at Tiffany's
Breakfast at Tiffany's
Author: Truman Capote
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 4/13/2020


This could be a one-night read; it is short but engrosing. The author made each character memorable, even those mentioned briefly.The setting (New York City) and characters are very different from my life (small town) but it was an interesting story. The movie gave a slightly different slant to the main character so reading the "original" gave new perspective.


Bruchko
Bruchko
Author: Bruce Olson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/12/2018


We heard the story of "God in the banana stalk" from Don Richardson, author of PEACE CHILD, in the 1970's. It was a welcome opportunity to hear the full story of Bruce Olson's adventures with God in Columbia.


Call the Darkness Light
Call the Darkness Light
Author: Nancy Zaroulis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/13/2020


If women think the workplace today is unfair, reading this story will bring an appreciation for our current employment regulations in the US.
I know there are still illegal sweatshops and many women still have terrible working conditions.
I found the characters and the story line very engaging.
I gifted my copy to my 20-something grand-daughter in the hopes she might read it and gain some direction and insight.Perhaps...


Corinne T. Netzer Carbohydrate and Fiber Counter (Corinne T. Netzer Carbohydrate & Fiber Counter)
Review Date: 8/18/2020


This paperback served as a quick and reliable guide for my quest to change to a low carb diet. Although many would use a google search other than print material, in 2010 it was what I needed to kick start a new eating plan.


Dad Is Fat
Dad Is Fat
Author: Jim Gaffigan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/25/2020


We have been watching Jim's comedy routines about food, family, bacon, living in New York City, travel, food, etc. His delivery is honest and clean and his love for his wife and kids is in almost every sketch (chapter). The book is a collection of his comedy routines, assembled by his wife (who writes most of the material he uses) for a specific reason. Prior to publication they lived in a 2 bedroom apartment in New York City with 5 children and needed more space. Having found an apartment and able to juggle finances to meet the monthly payments but not the down payment his wife looked at Jim and said âYou need to write a bookâ for added income. When he asked the family for a good title 7 year old Patrick wrote on a scrap of paper Dad Is Fat and that stuck. It's a quick humor read. I really laughed at the chapter â How to put five kids to bed in a two bedroom apartmentâ--complete with diagrams!


Dancing with Elephants: Mindfulness Training For Those Living With Dementia, Chr (How to Die Smiling Series) (Volume 1)
Review Date: 4/14/2020


just couldn't get into this one


Departures and Arrivals
Departures and Arrivals
Author: Eric Newby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/20/2019


A lifetime of travel, and each chapter a stand out example of attention to detail.


Galileo's Daughter : A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Galileo's Daughter : A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Author: Dava Sobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 4/13/2020


This is a thorough and well told history of the time and place as well as acomplation of the letters between a father and daughter. Science has advanced so much in the intevening years that we might forget the strong opposition to new ideas that were commonplace. I find books that have correspondence as part of the story so enlightening. These sweet leeters between a struggling scientist and his daughter confined to a convent show such love; very touching just from a family perspective.


Growing Up
Growing Up
Author: Russell Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/18/2020


A brief review after reading this book in 2014, " A representative of my parent's world; Great Depression, family, World War II." This is a "keeper book" for my personal library. I'm only putting this paperback on my list for pbs because I now have a good quality hardcover copy, as the result of a pbs swap.


How the Irish Saved Civilization (Hinges of History)
How the Irish Saved Civilization (Hinges of History)
Author: Thomas Cahill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/15/2020


I found this comprehensive history of the salvation of literature a fascinating read. Not necessarily for the Irish connection in my family, but to learn how nearly we lost the wisdom of the ages through neglect and war.
The author wove the stories of people, places and events together so carefully and engaged my attention from page one.
This is on my keepers bookshelf, although a paperback copy I own has so many notations and underlines it will be there also, just to share with special readers.


I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912  (I Survived, Bk 1)
I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (I Survived, Bk 1)
Author: Scott Dawson (Illustrator), Lauren Tarshis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/20/2020


This series of books will eventually be added to a classroom library. Thanks for sharing.


The Maltese Falcon
The Maltese Falcon
Author: Dashiell Hammett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 4/13/2020


I read this in high school then again in my 30's. Then a book review in 2015 called the ultimate detective novel. At 217 pages this looked to be a quick read and it is/was. I couldn't put it down!
I think the movie is a classic, made more compelling because it is black and white, but (must I capitalize?) the book is even better!
The tough-guy detective, the slimmy, unpredictible scum he deals with, the women he treats with a certian self-distancing, and the era that is so far from my experience all contribute to the appeal.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: