Sharon M. (doggylover) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
The Bachelor List (Duncan Sisters, Bk 1)
The Bachelor List (Duncan Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 3/7/2009


In this exhilarating new trilogy from NY Times bestselling author Jane Feather, a trio of spirited sisters secretly run a thriving matchmaking service. But these three good catches of impeccable pedigree have little interest in matrimony themselves until, one by one, they meet their matches...

Jane Feather has, once again, created characters that are funny, witty, and real. You'll be sorry to see them go once you've finished the book, but thankfully, you'll see them two more times in the book's sequels: The Bride Hunt and The Wedding Game.


Beach Music
Beach Music
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 10/12/2010


I actually listened to the audio version of this book at work many years ago. It's a wonderfully told story that will have you both laughing and crying, as well as disappointed when it comes to an end. It wasn't often that someone in the office would find a book that was so good, it would make its way through several departments with multiple people listening to it at the same time, but this was definitely one of them. Pat Conroy is a wonderful storyteller, and this is one that shouldn't be missed.


The Bride Hunt (Matchmaker, Bk 2)
The Bride Hunt (Matchmaker, Bk 2)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 3/22/2009


The intriguing and lively Duncan sisters that were introduced in The Bachelor List have returned in The Bride Hunt. Even though this book focuses on Prue, the middle sister, all three sisters play key roles in the story and all keep it amusing, interesting, sensual and lively, while they fight to keep their newspaper, The Mayfair Lady, from being destroyed in a lawsuit. Readers who haven't already read the Bachelor List, the first book in this trilogy, will be sure to run out and grab it up after finishing The Bride Hunt. And readers who have read the first two books in this series will be anxious to read The Wedding Game, Chastity's story. I know I am. :)


Desire
Desire
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 3/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I am normally a big fan of Amanda Quick's, but not this time. Desire started off strong, but I soon found myself watching the page numbers to see how many were left. I really liked both main characters in the beginning, but shortly after Gareth's personality was established, it changed so quickly that it seemed as though his twin of a much milder temperance had taken his place. I also was thoroughly disappointed with the ending, but of course I won't give anything away. This could have been a really great book if only Ms. Quick had kept the characters the way she created them. I was really hoping for more from characters so unlike her usual hero and heroine.


Jack of Clubs (House of Cards, Bk 2)
Jack of Clubs (House of Cards, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Jack of Clubs is the second book in the House of Cards trilogy and is as entertaining as the first book, Ace of Hearts. The characters are funny, witty and amusing, and you'll find yourself laughing out loud more than once while reading this book. Barbara Metzger's quick wit makes Jack of Clubs a truly enjoyable read.

"A doyen of humorous Regency-era romance writing . . . Metzger's gift for recreating the flavor and ambience of the period shines here, and the antics of her dirty-dish villains, near villains, and starry-eyed lovers are certain to entertain." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)


The Last Mermaid
The Last Mermaid
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Instead of reading this book, I borrowed the audio version from the library. I really enjoy the fantasy genre and am a real lover of Harry Potter, good witches, bad warlocks, time travel, ghost stories, love spells gone awry and all that, but for some reason I've never intentionally sought out a book from the fantasy genre. Well, I am SO glad I came upon this one! I could not get enough of it! It's one of those rare books I've listened to and found that I was sorry to have reached the end, and even sorrier that there was no sequel. It was truly the most amazing and well written story I've ever read.

The story spans over more than a thousand years and focuses on three different periods in time. It is one of those rare books that has everything: a mystical premise, mystery, romance, enduring love, heartbreak, war, deception, soul mates, integrity, heroes, villains and strong, resilient and independent women who, over the centuries, have forgotten just how strong they are. But not so strong that they couldn't appreciate the help and support of a loving and devoted man. Not to mention intelligent enough to recognize that their strength was always there, inside them.

Ms. Abe's clever writing and gift for storytelling has the power to make readers believe that, once upon a time, mermaids did exist. And who's to say they didn't, or still don't? If you even mildly enjoy fantasy books, I HIGHLY recommend this one. I truly do not believe you will be disappointed. I don't think I've ever given a book 5 stars, but I didn't even hesitate to do just that with The Last Mermaid. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. :)


Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 QuickSteps (Quicksteps)
Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 QuickSteps (Quicksteps)
Author: Marty Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2011


Covered the basics, for the most part. Good for a beginner.


A Most Unusual Governess (Thorndike Large Print General Series)
A Most Unusual Governess (Thorndike Large Print General Series)
Author: Amanda Grange
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/8/2012


I definitely enjoyed this book. It was well written with interesting characters and not a lot of "filler material." Personally, I hate when an author fills up page after page and repeats over and over how the heroine shivered when her breast accidentally touched his arm or the frisson that went through her at just the sight of him, etc. It's like, enough already! But maybe that's just me. This is a quick read with a great story, and I'd definitely recommend it.


The Perfect Poison (Arcane Society, Bk 6)
The Perfect Poison (Arcane Society, Bk 6)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 4/19/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I found The Perfect Poison to be yet another hit in Amanda Quick's series of arcane society novels. I've been a fan of Ms. Quick's for several years, and I generally enjoy anything she writes. But as someone who likes things with a paranormal side to them, I've found that I have a special preference for her arcane society novels. It's always interesting to pick up a book in the series and learn what paranormal "gift" Ms. Quick has masterfully thought out and created for the main character(s).

If you're also a fan of Amanda Quick's, you won't be disappointed by The Perfect Poison. Lucinda is another of Ms. Quick's strong, independent, "woman of the world" characters who has gone through some hard times in her life but always managed to get through them. And the thing I thought was great about Lucinda was that even though she is strong and can obviously take care of herself, she's not stubborn about it as many of the women in Ms. Quick's previous books are. By that, I mean that rather than just flat out refusing to accept any help from Caleb, such as when he insists that Lucinda and her cousin have a bodyguard, she listens to his concerns and his advice and actually considers what he has to say. And Caleb is loving and fiercely protective of Lucinda (just as women want their men to be), and he would obviously do anything to keep "his woman" safe. However, he isn't SO overly protective of her that she's made to feel like a child, and it's wonderful that he's able to balance his need to protect her with her need to be her own woman.

So it was nice to have a couple who could both recognize and acknowledge the weaknesses AND the strengths in their partner and develop a strong relationship based on them. I hope to see more characters like these two . . . or maybe even a sequel to this story. It definitely had a "Tobias March and Lavinia Lake" feeling to it (the characters in the trilogy starting with Slightly Shady). One can hope anyway.

Happy reading!


Second Sight (Arcane Society, Bk 1)
Second Sight (Arcane Society, Bk 1)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 3/19/2009


Venetia Milton's memories of a romantic night with Gabriel Jones, an alchemist's descendant, are shattered soon thereafter by news of his death. Adopting the guise of his respectable widow, she embarks on a new career as a fashionable photographer in London, where her unique ability to "see" beyond her subjects (auras) makes her photographs highly prized.

But Venetia's romantic whim causes unexpected trouble. For one thing, Mr. Jones is about to stride, living and breathing, back into her life. And someone he is tracking will go to any length, even murder, to possess an ancient extraordinary secret that has been lost for centuries - someone who believes that, as the "wife" of Mr. Jones, Venetia is the key . . .


The Wedding Game (Matchmaker Duncan Sisters, Bk 3)
The Wedding Game (Matchmaker Duncan Sisters, Bk 3)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


In this final book of the Duncan sisters trilogy, it's Chas's turn to find true love and get married. And although it's really not necessary, it would probably be helpful to the reader if they read the first two books in the series first. It will not only give the reader the chance to learn about Chas's character, but it will also give them the opportunity to meet her two older sisters and understand the depth of the bond between them.

I found Chas's and Douglas's love story to be the most enjoyable of the three sisters. No one can help but love and appreciate anyone who gives up a life filled with riches in order to help the poorest of the poor, as Dr. Douglas Farrell does. And the beauty of Chas's spirit makes her perfectly happy to live a life without the kind of riches her sisters were blessed with when they married their husbands. Her sweet-natured way of sympathizing with anyone and everyone she meets makes her the perfect choice for Douglas. She may not be able to help him financially, but she will be by his side at his clinic, getting her hands just as dirty as his. Now all the reader has to do is wait for Douglas to come to his senses and stop considering marrying the rich, yet incredibly annoying, rude and selfish Laura. As well as to wait for Chas to see that what she has to offer Douglas is beautiful, as well as priceless . . . and it's worth more than either of them could ever have dreamed of.

Jane Feather develops Chas's and Douglas's characters so well that sparks fly in every scene they're in together. So much so that you'll probably find yourself smiling when the two finally admit to the mounting desire they've been feeling for one another and share a passionate kiss. And you shouldn't be surprised if you find yourself eagerly anticipating the time when these two finally come together as one.

The only downside is that there's a good chance you'll find yourself sorry to see this story end, as it means we will no longer be seeing the Duncan sisters. But Jane Feather's ability to consistently create characters who quickly grow on us will make the loss of the sisters a little easier to bear, as we know we can count on seeing others who will quickly capture our attention and our hearts. Thank you, Ms. Feather.


1 to 11 of 11