Facebook

Dorothy R. (obsidianfire) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 134 - Page:
Dark Specter (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard)
Dark Specter (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard)
Author: Michael Dibdin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 8


If you love crime novels and you love books about cults you'll love this book. It's got both. I couldn't put it down. The murders were enough to drag me in, but getting into the mind of the cult leader was even better.


Dark Universe
Dark Universe
Author: William F. Nolan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/15/2006
Helpful Score: 8


I'm in the middle with this one because as an anthology of short stories I only liked a little more than half of them. Most were really great with surprise endings that were just awsome. The ones that were bad, were really, really bad. Like he'd written them when he was 6 or something, but since it states the year he wrote them it's quite apparent he was much older. Still most of them were really great stories, so the anthology is still worth a read.


Daybreak: The Dawning Ember
Daybreak: The Dawning Ember
Author: Mary Summer Rain
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/24/2006
Helpful Score: 7


6th book in the "No Eyes" series. This books is written in the form of Q&A. Mary Summer Rain answers questions direct from readers of her No Eyes series. Also contains the Phonix Files.


The Death Artist
The Death Artist
Author: Dennis Etchison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Strange book. It says horror, and it is in a way. But if you go in thinking it's a regular horror novel you might be disappointed. It hard to classify this book,but it's definately interesting.


The Death Pit
The Death Pit
Author: Tony Strong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Well written plot that kept me up all night reading. It's not predictable like many murder mysteries are these days.


DOC: The Rape of the Town of Lovell
DOC: The Rape of the Town of Lovell
Author: Jack Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 3/20/2006
Helpful Score: 12


About a doctor who violated the innocent trust of unknowing naive woman.

It's horrible that it happened, but great that he was brought to justice. Great read for lovers of the true crime genre.


Dogrun
Dogrun
Author: Arthur Nersesian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 11


Great read. I loved the pace of the book. It was filled with so many plot suprises. It's not a very deep novel, but I still found it much more than fluff reading as well. Had quite a few funny moments in it. Made want to seek out other books by the author.


Dowsing: Ancient Origins and Modern Times (Paths to Inner Power)
Review Date: 3/9/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Simple to understand instructions on the art of Dowsing.


Dreams Die First
Dreams Die First
Author: Harold Robbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/2/2006
Helpful Score: 8


Harold Robbins is not an author I normally read, however I got this book from someone and decided to read it. I was very impressed. It's a tale of the rise and fall of a pronography empire. Not a pornagraphic book though. It's more about how the empire came to be and behind the scenes stuff. What it really takes to get it out to the consumer. A very interesting read.


Dreamside
Dreamside
Author: Graham Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/26/2006
Helpful Score: 9


Kept me up half the night reading to see how it ended! Great book. I absolutely love this author!


Dreamworld
Dreamworld
Author: Jane Goldman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/23/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Great murder mystery that takes place in a theme park.


The End of the Road
The End of the Road
Author: John Barth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Written in the 60s. Instead of focusing on the hippies of the era, this book focuses more the intellectuals of the era, who all had their own issues as well. Very interesting and different then much of what is written today. But it doesn't feel outdated either.


Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 2/22/2006
Helpful Score: 11


A well written biography. You can feel the pain she has been through like you are walking in her footsteps.


Flesh Gothic (Leisure Horror)
Flesh Gothic (Leisure Horror)
Author: Edward Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 9/1/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Got this just because of a statement about some of the groteseque imagery inside. I'm so glad I did. My faith in the horror genre has been renewed. Most of the books I've seen lately in the store seem to be a rehash of the same old stuff, over and over again. Ok, I admit there is a creepy house like in a lot of books nowdays. (it's either haunted houses, or vampires) But really the plot is so much more than that. And it is gruesome certainly. Sex and blood aplenty can be found within the pages, but so can a really great horror story. And there is a reason for the sex and the blood, so for me it was great. It's the needless sex and blood that annoy me. So I would definately recommend this for any horror fan.


Flip the Switch : Lose the Excuses, Lose the Weight, and Get the Body You've Always Wanted
Review Date: 5/10/2006
Helpful Score: 9


Good book to get you motivated. Helps you crush any and all excuses you may have not to lose weight. Lots of mental excercise throughout to help you find what is blocking your path to a thinner you.


Food Court Druids, Cherohonkees and Other Creatures Unique to the Republic
Review Date: 7/8/2006
Helpful Score: 5


Funny book. I saw a few of my coworkers in there, a couple of my friends, and a couple of types that could describe me!


The Further Adventures of the Joker
The Further Adventures of the Joker
Author: Martin H. Greenberg (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/10/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Insanity was just the beginning. His madness is legendary. His evil without limit.

You are invited to accompany some of today's most gifted writers on a descent into madness, a journey in search of The Joker's greatest hopes, dreams...and fears. In the stories of crime, mayhem, horor, and twisted humor, you will discover tales you won't soon forget, tales which will chill your soul and tickle your funny bone.

Some of the writers included in this anthology...

F. Paul Wilson
Edward Bryant and Dan Simmons
Karen Haber
Marco Palmieri

Great anthology with unique stories.


Girl, Interrupted
Girl, Interrupted
Author: Susanna Kaysen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 713
Review Date: 2/17/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Loved the movie, and of course I loved the book even more. The book is always better!


The Girls He Adored
The Girls He Adored
Author: Jonathan Nasaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 3/6/2006
Helpful Score: 9


One of the best crime novels I've read, and I've read many. What I like particularly about this one is the added aspect of a multiple personality, or DID as it's called in the book. I've read all the true life multiple personality books I could find. So bringing together my love of crime and the power of the mind is the perfect mix. Kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Never a slow moment!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 8/29/2006
Helpful Score: 13


Amazing book. I laughed, I cried. I went back and forth from loving her parents creativity to hating them to feeling sorry for them to never knowing exactly what to make of them. She survived some extreme hardships but also ended up with some amazing, happy memories from childhood. But in the end I was glad to see herself pull herself out of her parents downward spiral and find a great life for herself, with food on the table every night.


21 to 40 of 134 - Page: