Linda T. (snigglefitz) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
After All
After All
Author: Mary Tyler Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/2/2015


There is nothing compelling about this book. Moore gives the same, though little, coverage to major events like the death of her son and to her erroneous "affair" with Dick Cavett. She comes across as shallow and self-obsessed. If you liked Laura Petrie or The Mary Tyler Moore Show, leave well enough alone. In addition to being glad when I finished the book, I found myself disliking Mary Tyler Moore, the person.


The Beans of Egypt, Maine
The Beans of Egypt, Maine
Author: Carolyn Chute
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/16/2018


I'm originally from Maine, and thought this might be a cute book. I made it through a chapter, and decided I'd give someone else a chance to read it. It is of the Dumb and Dumber variety. The characters are not like anyone in Maine I knew. Being poor doesn't mean being stupid


A Civil Action
A Civil Action
Author: Jonathan Harr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 7/28/2015


This is a fantastic book. It is an actual case which pitted families whose children died or were dying from toxic chemicals in the drinking water, against big corporations accused of dumping the chemicals. It is a behind the scenes look at the hard work, money, politics, strategy and conniving that goes on in the "justice" system, and how judges can make decisions(sometimes frivolously) that can cripple one side or another. It is a look at personalities at their best and worst, and how sometimes, to quote the book, "The truth is at the bottom of a bottomless pit."


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/13/2017


I've had this book on my shelf for a while, and always found something I thought would be more interesting to read. The title just didn't draw me in. But as I got into this book, I realized that I was enjoying reading about the lives of the main characters. The husband is grieving and trying to figure out why his wife was found dead after falling from an apple tree in their back yard. The only observer? Their dog Lorelei. As is sometimes the case in extreme grief, he does some things that make little sense and which have his colleagues shaking their heads. But the book is surprisingly well written and insightful.


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 5/1/2016


This book is hard work, especially if you can't sit down and read it cover to cover. There are many places where the author appears to be developing a side plot, which never really develops, and she leaves you wondering about some of the characters. But what is really disconcerting is the constant flashing between time periods, sometimes in just a few pages. It left me feeling rather schizophrenic.
The story itself is interesting, but getting it takes more effort than I really wanted to give.


The Fault in Our Stars
The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 10/24/2014


This was one of the best books I've read, and I say that knowing it may say more about me than I may want said. It is at once depressing and funny. Most of all it is intelligent and real- let's face it, we don't always have our rose-colored glasses on, and some situations are so serious that if you don't approach them with truth and humor, it's over before it starts.
Hazel and Gus are a compelling couple of grenades.


Frog Music: A Novel
Frog Music: A Novel
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/31/2016


I read "Room" and really liked that book, so was anticipating that I'd enjoy "Frog Music." I was disappointed, and found it tedious to read. The underlying story actually has merit, but it is hard to extract it from all the French phrases and song lyrics (hence the title) which add confusion and nothing else to the story. Ms. Donoghue explains at the end that she fictionalized a true story. I was unsure why it was important for the author to go into detail about that, because from Donoghue's explanation, very little of an actual story was available, and the book is almost pure fiction.


The Golem and the Djinni
The Golem and the Djinni
Author: Helene Wecker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/27/2016


I should start out by saying that I am not usually a reader of fantasy-type books. My girlfriend sent me this after she had enjoyed it, and I thought "Why not?"
The book is very enjoyable, and until the last 50 pages, you just enjoy the story, and I didn't feel like I was reading a fantasy, just a good book. The last 50 pages definitely have a less than real quality to them, but despite that, I'm glad I read the book. I've read many I was much less satisfied with.
I did have some difficulty keeping track of the names of various secondary characters, so was grateful to be able to page back to remember a name.


The Haj
The Haj
Author: Leon Uris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/10/2015


I knew little of the historical Arab/Israeli conflict, or about Middle Eastern culture when I got this book. It is a novel, but it offers interesting and intriguing glimpses into Islamic and Jewish traditions in the telling of the story. It was not an "easy read" but I am happy to have read this book, which reviewers say should be read by our politicians and the United Nations.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 8/12/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Reading a Jeannette Walls book is like sitting down with a good friend; one who has a sense of humor, and just tells it like it is. This book, about Walls' teaching, flying, gun-slinging grandmother, Lily Casey Smith, is no exception, and explains the background of situations read about in Glass Castle and The Silver Star. I hope this woman keeps writing!


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 11/3/2016


I found this book fascinating. The story of Henrietta Lacks and her family and the various ways they interpreted medical intent after finding out about the growing HeLa cells was very interesting, but there is so much more. I was amazed by the changes in cell research since the 1950s, and the strides relative to obtaining patient consent. Researchers used test subjects, who often had no knowledge of a test being done, to see if injected cells would cause cancer (they did.)Despite what many would see as ethical concerns, it was not law. Researchers patented the cells of others for great commercial gains without the knowledge of those they took the cells from. Legally! We do NOT have the rights to our own body parts we may think we have.

The book is clearly written, and is the consummate mystery story.


Jack: Straight from the Gut
Jack: Straight from the Gut
Author: John A. Byrne, Jack Welch, Mike Barnicle
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/19/2013


Though Welch has gone from GE, it is very interesting to hear about the systems put in place during his reign to choose and keep the best people. Those are as applicable today as ever! I'm a former HR person, and a business professor, and listened to the tapes on my way to work. Though certainly not perfect, Welch is an inspiring man!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 5/16/2016


This was a fantastic book; one you want to read quickly in order to find out what happens, but want to read slowly so that you can savor it.
I've had this book for over a year, and never got to it. Now I can't wait to read "A Thousand Splendid Suns" too!
To try to explain what this book is about is like trying to explain love, or how an exquisite dessert tastes. It is certainly a story of growth and redemption. But it is more, much more.


The Maid's Version: A Novel
The Maid's Version: A Novel
Author: Daniel Woodrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/9/2018


I've not read any prior books by this author, but assume from the questions at the end of the book that he has done something "different" with this book. I am not a fan of stream of consciousness writing. I like commas, and find them helpful in interpreting sentences. Normally I can handle switches in time and still care about the main story. Not so with this book. By the time I got 3/4 of the way in, I was disliking the book intensely. There were chapters that added no value whatsoever to the story. How did this book get so much press?


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 590
Review Date: 12/26/2016


This book is one of those that moves very, very slowly, leaving the reader waiting to know what it is about. Upon finishing the book, I reflected upon how it might have been made better. My recommendation would be to eliminate the first 2/3 of the book. As a short story this might have held my interest. I realize this author has written some acclaimed books. I just wish I'd spent my time elsewhere.


One Child: a Teacher's Struggle to Save a Gifted and Troubled Girl
Review Date: 9/14/2017


This is an excellent book about a six year old child who tied a three year old to a tree and burned him. She is remanded by the courts to a state hospital and while waiting for a vacancy is placed temporarily in Torey Hayden's class of retarded and handicapped pre-adolescents. Over the months Torey and others come to realize that this nearly autistic child is exceptionally gifted. This is a fascinating, humbling, hopeful, graphic and well written book. Keep the tissues handy. It may change you.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 7/26/2018


This book sat on my shelf for a long time. My husband read it and liked it, but I couldn't get past the fact that it had 900+ pages. I saw it on audio and took it on a drive from Ohio to Oregon. What a great story. The characters came to life and their interactions were fascinating. I'm so glad I didn't skip this book.


The Pleasure Was Mine
The Pleasure Was Mine
Author: Tommy Hays
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/10/2013


This is NOT a sad, depressing book about someone with Alzheimers. It is an upbeat, but realistic, book written by a man grateful for the time he has with his wife. I really liked this book. I read it in two days. Hays knows how to hold your attention.


Rules of Civility
Rules of Civility
Author: Amor Towles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/24/2018


This was a very good book. The story is satisfying, and there are many observations that are brilliant. It was written about a time (late 30s) and a place (New York City) I was unfamiliar with, but the author was able to transport you to the scene as surely as if you'd been a native.


Single Wife
Single Wife
Author: Nina Solomon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/28/2014


I enjoyed this book. At times it was funny, even though the subject really wasn't. Ms. Solomon did an impressive job of fleshing out the characters to the point where I could actually put on them the faces of people I've known with their traits. The message of the book is subtle, but clear.
I read this book following a series of deeper books, and it was like learning to breathe again.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: