Facebook

Marcia C. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 343 - Page:
The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future
Review Date: 7/7/2020


I applaud Chris Guillebeau for his efforts to collect stories and data from around the world and organizing them well instead of simply casting off advice and anecdotes from the top of his head. This book offers a really solid chunk of information and advice, focused on ordinary people, not superhumans or stellar idols, who were often motivated by unexpected life challenges or opportunities to start a business. The book is grounded in reality and connects with readers' aspirations. Excellent!


1Q84
1Q84
Author: Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin (Translator), Philip Gabriel (Translator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/19/2014


Plain and simple, this is a masterpiece.

You can read and enjoy it just for the story line, which involves lonely characters who connect with one another in a world that has turned uncanny on them. Or you can ponder deeper metaphysical questions about reality along with the author and the characters.

I think you have to be an introvert and willing to suspend belief about abnormal events to appreciate what Murakami has to offer. But this work is rich, involving and perfectly constructed.

Don't be surprised when Murakami wins the Nobel Prize eventually.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Chris Pavone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/20/2014


wow, what a thriller. very exciting! not predictable at all.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/11/2012


This is one of the few thrillers I've read where most of the characters could be people I know - or who live around me and I don't know. Very chilling, absorbing and mostly believable.


The Accidental Millionaire: How to Succeed in Life Without Really Trying
Review Date: 10/11/2015


Loved this book! Offbeat stories about growing up as a first generation American of Asian parents (one Korean, one Chinese) and the surprising lessons life taught him about money and success.


Across a Hundred Mountains
Across a Hundred Mountains
Author: Reyna Grande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/25/2020


An emotionally complex story told in simple language about a girl growing up poor in Mexico who finally comes to terms with the heartbreaking events of her childhood. Powerful and moving.


Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Act of War (Scot Harvath, Bk 13)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/26/2017


Suspenseful, engrossing, well-plotted, unpredictable, believable. A fine international thriller.


The Algebra of Happiness: Notes on the Pursuit of Success, Love, and Meaning
Review Date: 6/24/2020


I did not like this book one bit! It reads like an endless graduation speech. Superficial but trying hard to be profound and witty. The author is too flippant or sardonic about important topics for my taste. Maybe the book was designed to appeal to 20-year-olds, which I am not.


American by Day
American by Day
Author: Derek B. Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/30/2018


I adored "Norwegian by Night," as a charming mystery with vivid characters and lots of cultural insights. This sort-of-sequel was disappointing. There's some intercultural insight when the Norwegian characters come to the US, but the author brings in US race relations in a very heavy-handed way that spoiled the storytelling. Not a recommended read.


American Dirt
American Dirt
Author: Jeanine Cummins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/2/2020
Helpful Score: 2


Please be aware before you order or buy this book that it has been fiercely criticized by many American Latino authors and critics for harmful stereotypes of Mexicans, for having taken some scenes from other authors and for having received a huge publishers' advance when Latino authors who have more authentic stories grounded in their own experiences and observations struggle to feed themselves. Yes, it may be an exciting story but completely from the American white person's point of view. Personally, I found it inferior to the Mexican-produced telenovelas I sometimes watch.


American Spy
American Spy
Author: Lauren Wilkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/7/2019


A lot of unexpected aspects to this book. Even if you've read a lot of spy novels, this one is different, in its premise, its hazy politics, its psychology and its plotting. Many surprises; many plot turns revealed in a single sly sentence here or there. The writing style is extremely confident and accomplished. I would read the next book by this author in a heartbeat!


The Angel's Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, Bk 2)
Review Date: 3/18/2020


A gothic tale - longwinded and engrossing - in which the city of Barcelona is as much a character as the people you meet within its pages. Long but never boring!


Apex Hides the Hurt
Apex Hides the Hurt
Author: Colson Whitehead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/23/2012


This novel appears to be an allegory about racial identity. It was too subtle for me and I did not follow it, although I read it all the way to the end. Disappointing.


Argentina (Eyewitness Travel Guides)
Argentina (Eyewitness Travel Guides)
Author: DK Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/16/2019


Completely useless for planning a road trip in Argentina! It's on to Lonely Planet instead.


The Art Forger
The Art Forger
Author: B. A. Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/28/2014


Brilliantly conceived. Engrossing. Well-plotted and interesting. Can't wait for the author's next work!


The Art of Non-Conformity: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want, and Change the World
Review Date: 7/9/2020


This book is nowhere as solid as the same author's book "The $100 Startup," which was based on wide research and a broad range of examples. This one offers more of the author pontificating, using his own life and personality as exemplars and adding a few anecdotes about other people here and there. I am not sure who the intended audience is, and I didn't find it that useful or inspiring.


Away & Aware: A Field Guide to Mindful Travel
Review Date: 8/5/2019


This is a picture book! I would not have ordered it had I realized that. It doesn't seem to be quite intended for grownups. I don't know who its audience was supposed to be. Thew book description claims it is a " a complete guide to more mindful travel," but how can it be complete when there are so few words in the book??


Back Blast (Gray Man, Bk 5)
Back Blast (Gray Man, Bk 5)
Author: Mark Greaney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/18/2019


One of the best plotted, most interesting thrillers I've read (and I've read a lot). Consistently suspenseful and believable. Highly recommended whether you're already a Court Gentry fan or not.


Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/29/2013


One of his weakest efforts. The plot was contrived (in the bad sense) and it was hard to care about solving the mystery at hand, which mostly took place way back in the past.


Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/16/2020


Parts of this suburban thriller are laugh out loud funny! The main character is a hapless scifi writer who tries to keep his family safe but ends up making them all very unsafe.


1 to 20 of 343 - Page: