Shirley (mockingbird25) - , - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Blackbeard: A Tale of Villainy and Murder in Colonial America
Blackbeard: A Tale of Villainy and Murder in Colonial America
Author: Margaret Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/13/2013


LOVE! One of the best books I've read in a long, long time! It's so much more than a biography of Blackbeard, it's an unforgettable story. Descriptions are vivid, helping you feel like you're right there. Exceptionally researched and well written. Definitely one you have to read!


Compelling Evidence (Paul Madriani, Bk 1)
Compelling Evidence (Paul Madriani, Bk 1)
Author: Steven Paul Martini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/21/2013


Steve Martini just topped my list of favorite authors! His writing style is eloquent and absolutely addicting. I loved it and couldn't put it down. Definitely a courtroom thriller and a great introduction to Martini's books.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 3/29/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Wow! I finished this book yesterday and still can't stop thinking about it. Flynn is a master storyteller, putting a fresh, unimaginable twist on a tale reminiscent of Capote's 'In Cold Blood'. Her characters feel so real and the plot so riveting, I'm a little sad it's over! Kind of like that feeling you get after watching the finale of your favorite tv series.
Flynn is by far a talented writer, each book better than the last. I can't wait to read what she writes next!!


Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler, Bk 1)
Executive Privilege (Dana Cutler, Bk 1)
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 2/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Not one of my favorites from Mr. Margolin. Plot was a little far fetched & unrealistic but entertaining none the less. Great for a quick read on an airplane.


The Fifth Vial
The Fifth Vial
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 2/23/2013


Another suspenseful book from Michael Palmer I couldn't put down! This medical drama revolves around the black market of organ donation and brilliantly weaves together the lives of three disconnected, random people with an ending that'll definitely stay with you long after you've finished it. While the book is highly entertaining, it is so well written it gets you thinking about the ethical and social implications of organ transplant without overshadowing the plot and really makes you reevaluate organ donation.


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 1/21/2013
Helpful Score: 3


WOW! Incredibly well written and worthy of all the praise. This is the first time ever I've liked - loved - a book on the best seller's list! I almost always find them to be dull & over-rated but I couldn't put this one down! Seriously read the entire thing in one sitting! Gilian Flynn's style & originality in telling a story about a failing marriage is brilliant & intoxicating. The ending is genious, not your average "spouses plotting to murder each other" kind of story. No other ending would have had such an impact or given us a glimpse inside a truly sociopathic mind.
I can't wait get my hands on her other two books and a little sad there aren't dozens more, yet.


Headhunter
Headhunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/23/2013


"Headhunters" plumbs the depths to which a man living in cultural opulence can sink. The main character, Roger Brown is a thief, liar, adulterer, and murderer, who completely adores his wife.
Yes, the characters are well drawn, the action moves along at a reasonable pace and accurate references to current technology and even elements of artistic appreciation provide an interesting enough read. However details of the "hero" in over his head in the excrement of an outhouse were as disgusting as they are ridiculously unlikely or even impossible.
Nesbo revels the entire plot, step by step, at the end of the story so there's no confusion about what happened, which made me wonder why I bothered to read the entire book.


Heartstone
Heartstone
Author: Phillip M. Margolin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/28/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Wow, definitely one of my favorites from Phillip Margolin! Book recounts murder of Walters - Murray where two troubled brothers are charged with the crime. Mr. Margolin deftly weaves an intricate story with many characters for an ending that'll leave you thinking. Would so make a great movie - not sure why it hasn't already been done!


The Magpies: A Psychological Thriller
The Magpies: A Psychological Thriller
Author: Mark Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/17/2013


I'm sure the book has the potential to be really good but I thought it had a slow start and I didn't feel like investing more time. Maybe I'll return to it some other time and change my review.


Miracle Cure
Miracle Cure
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 1/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Most reviews agree with Mr. Coben when he says this isn't his best work but I found it to be entertaining. The storyline revolves around HIV/AIDS, a controversial search for a cure, and gay rights. It may seem dated now but in '91, it wasn't debated as a main stream issue. Congrats to Mr. Coben for taking a risk and having the courage to write about it.


Miracle Cure
Miracle Cure
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 1/13/2013


Great read! Kept me glued to my set! A suspenseful story about a troubled Doc who's given a second chance to prove himself at the state-of-the-art Boston Heart Institute. After finding discrepancies with a new drug, he takes on a big pharma company with lots of twists& turns.
I especially love how Palmer seamlessly weaves the scientific and medical stuff throughout the story in such a way that even someone like me with limited medical knowledge can understand.
A definite must read!!


Prime Witness (Paul Madriani, Bk 2)
Prime Witness (Paul Madriani, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 11/14/2013


Steve Martini is definitely one of my favorite authors and I've loved all his books to date. However this one seemed to drag for me. I kept waiting for something exciting to happen but it didn't. If you haven't already read his books, I don't suggest starting with this one.


Private Practices (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 2)
Private Practices (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 10/6/2013


While I absolutely love his books, I didn't think this was one of his best. Thought the plot was a little diluted with too many characters and an ending that felt forced in order to tie them all together. If you've never read him before, start with a different one and you won't be disappointed.


Proof Positive (Amanda Jaffe, Bk 3)
Proof Positive (Amanda Jaffe, Bk 3)
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/25/2013


Interesting & suspenseful read from the perspective of crime scene analysts. Absolutely terrifying to think that this could actually happen. Definitely kept me on the edge of my seat!


Rilke on Black (Mask Noir)
Rilke on Black (Mask Noir)
Author: Ken Bruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I'm a huge Ken Bruen fan and always enjoy his work. This one is no exception! The cast of characters are an unlikeable bunch with criminal intentions when they decide to kidnap a businessman for ransom. Yet I found myself drawn to and rooting for his main character, an ex-bouncer named Nick. Definitely an entertaining and riveting story but it does get a bit gory in some parts. I think that speaks more to his talent as a writer than my tolerance for violence. A must read if you're a Bruen fan!


Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Bk 1)
Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 3/20/2013


My first James Patterson novel and I was pleasantly surprised! The book was highly entertaining and a good intro to his Michael Bennett character - a detective with 10 children and a sick wife. Unusual circumstances for a detective yet it doesn't distract from the main story line of home grown terrorists taking over St. Patrick's Cathedral on Christmas Eve. I'm definitely a fan and can't wait to read more of his work!


Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip -- Confessions of a Cynical Waiter
Waiter Rant: Thanks for the Tip -- Confessions of a Cynical Waiter
Author: Steve Dublanica
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 1/21/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! It was laugh out funny and entertaining. You almost can't believe these are actual experiences he went thru but if you've ever waited tables, you'll know they're possible. Well written & a must on your "books to read" list.


1 to 17 of 17