Facebook

Shannon T. (chippygirl) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
1,001 Facts that Will Scare the S#*t Out of You: The Ultimate Bathroom Reader
Review Date: 3/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Several interesting facts in "bullet" type form. The author adds their own quip after each fact.
BEWARE!! Don't read this book when your eating!! Ug, I made that mistake. Several disgusting facts. My fault really, after all it is called a BATHROOM READER!


Ambulance Girl : How I Saved Myself By Becoming an EMT
Ambulance Girl : How I Saved Myself By Becoming an EMT
Author: Jane Stern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Gave this book 4 stars because it was an interesting and fast moving book. For some reason I did not care for the author. She seemed to be in emergency services for her own good (title is VERY fitting!).


Anybody Out There?
Anybody Out There?
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 7/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful book!!!


As Seen on TV: 50 Amazing Products and the Commercials That Made Them Famous
Review Date: 2/24/2012


Must have book for the "as seen on TV addicts". Gives history and facts and reviews on all the featured as seen on TV products. Fast read, very enjoyable book!


Baby Catcher : Chronicles of a Modern Midwife
Baby Catcher : Chronicles of a Modern Midwife
Author: Peggy Vincent
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Read this book on a whim, normally I am not interested in the subject of midwifery. Peggy Vincent really did an exceptional job to speak in Everyman terms so we can understand what is going on. The chapters are normally different experiences she has had with her clients. Some are amusing, some are sad, and there are a lot of tearfully joyous moments.
She was pretty much there at the onset of bringing home births and unmedicated births out of. He closet in the Bay Area.
Great story.


Booty Nomad
Booty Nomad
Author: Scott Mebus, Hyperion Audiobook
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I listened to this on audio. The whole time I listened I kept thinking what is the whole point of this story? It seems to be some type of coming of age story for this narrator. If I had not had such a long commute, I probably wouldnt have finished it.


Bound (Satucket, Bk 2)
Bound (Satucket, Bk 2)
Author: Sally Gunning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I read the "Water" series of cozy mysteries by Sally gunning and they are some of my favorite books. So when I saw Ms. Gunning switched genre's to historical fiction (which I normally don't enjoy) I was pretty skeptical. But, I am happy to say I was so wrong.
The author has the ability to bring characters and settings to life with her descriptions. Her female characters are likable. Even in the slow moving time period the book was fast paced and I found myself staying up most of the night because I couldn't wait to finish it yet never wanted it to end!


Dead Certain (Dead, Bk 2)
Dead Certain (Dead, Bk 2)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 3/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Great series!! Fast moving.


Dead Wrong (Dead, Bk 1)
Dead Wrong (Dead, Bk 1)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 3/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this series! Fast moving.


Dirty Martini (Jack Daniels, Bk 4)
Dirty Martini (Jack Daniels, Bk 4)
Author: J. A. Konrath
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/24/2012


Love this series. The heroine Jack Daniels is normally her own worst enemy. Its best to read the series in order.


The Guy Not Taken : Stories
The Guy Not Taken : Stories
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 5/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was very enjoyable, light reading.


Half-Assed: A Weight-Loss Memoir
Half-Assed: A Weight-Loss Memoir
Author: Jennette Fulda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Loved the book. Its amazing what the author accomplished without surgery. Enjoyable, fast moving book. Author has a lot of humor and doesnt feel sorry for herself.


The Harvey Girls: Women Who Opened the West
The Harvey Girls: Women Who Opened the West
Author: Lesley Poling-Kempes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The beginning of the book is slow, but about chapter 3 it really picked up. Book is full of personal stories from the Harvey Girls. Photos are wonderful. If you have any interest in rail travel or womans history, you will enjoy this book.


Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
Review Date: 5/16/2014


Wanted to like this, the premise sounded so interesting. But it is about the author rather than hotel industry. He is so bitter. His disdain of customers is evident through every chapter in the book. He radiates snob attitude, and he feels working in the service industry is below him. I'm still trying to finish it so I can post it, cant seem to finish the last 3 chapters. I need to just let it go.


Hungry Girl: Recipes and Survival Strategies for Guilt-Free Eating in the Real World
Review Date: 3/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Several of the recipes are good "starter" recipes. They are the foundation and you tweek them to your personalized tastes. She has a lot of good ideas, and there were a couple of snack recipes that were tasty, low cal and interesting.
Overall I found that several of her recipes have lenghty ingredient lists, and the items are not normally found in a well stocked kitchen. I bought several items that the recipe only used a small amount, and then did not care for the recipes and found I had so much left over that was basically waste because I would never use the items again.
Hungry Girl has another cookbook that uses a limited amount of items in each recipe that I find to be a much more user friendly cook book.


In Pursuit of the Common Good: Twenty-Five Years of Improving the World, One Bottle of Salad Dressing at a Time
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Enjoyable book. Book described how the Newman brand came to be and all the trials and tribulations that Newman and his partner went through to stay true to the recipe. It also describes some of their charitable works. Cried all the way through the book because I read it right after PN's passing. Highly recommended.


Just Like Heaven
Just Like Heaven
Author: Mark Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/20/2009


Such a sweet book. I think I originally read this when it may have had another title? Could be mistaken. Fast moving.


Life with My Sister Madonna
Life with My Sister Madonna
Author: Wendy Leigh, Christopher Ciccone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Christopher Ciccone seems a little spiteful. All throughout the book he speaks of his love for Madonna and how she treated him not well at all. He speaks of injuries and health woes, and how she doesn't care about them except for the inconveniences they place on her and her life. He never tells stories about anything really kind she has done for him, yet later in the book, at the begininng of the true estrangement, he say the Madonna I knew and loved is gone. Um, no, she seems on par with the Madonna you have been speaking of for the previous 300 pages. He also goes on to speak of how she told him basically "I made you what your are today". Although he refutes that, you can pretty much see that even for her own personal gain aside, she did make him what he is and helped him meet people who would change his life. He also speaks multipe times of his cocaine use, but says its only on the weekends so how dare Madonna say that his is a drug addict?
This is basically a book full of "Madonna was bad to me" stories by a martyr.


A Man Called Ove
A Man Called Ove
Author: Fredrik Backman, Henning Koch (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 3/4/2016


Lovely! I read it in 1 day, and who really has time for that anymore? While this book maybe predictable, the author has a way of inviting the reader to read "just one more" chapter, til the next thing you know an hour has gone by. Heartwarming, feel good book.


Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead, Bk 1)
Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead, Bk 1)
Author: Jesse Petersen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 3/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Entertaining, quick read if your enjoy the more humerous of the Zombie genre (I do).


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: