Sarah C. (blackleatherrose) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Bonsai Basics: A Step-By-Step Guide To Growing, Training  General Care
Review Date: 1/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book for its simplicity and easy to follow information but if you're an advanced Bonsai keeper, you may want to consider another source for information. This one is good for getting started.


Come Lie with Me (Best of the Best)
Come Lie with Me (Best of the Best)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/27/2009


I really enjoyed the book but felt like it ended too fast and should have had a sequel. This writer really knows how to build climax with a romance.


The Darwin Awards : Evolution in Action
The Darwin Awards : Evolution in Action
Author: Wendy Northcutt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 10/12/2007


This is the first Darwin Awards book in a series of many. I've read a few of the other books that came out after this one and I would have to say that this one is, by far the funniest, most amusing book in the series. I suppose this comes from having a whole history of 'Darwin's' to assess and pick from. The second book is not as good as the third.


The Darwin Awards II: Unnatural Selection
The Darwin Awards II: Unnatural Selection
Author: Wendy Northcutt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/29/2007


This book is your run of the mill Darwin Awards book. While some portions of it are hilarious, it cannot meet up to the first Darwin Awards book. It just isn't as funny. An amusing read nonetheless.


The Husband
The Husband
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 424
Review Date: 1/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book held my attention from the first few pages. It begins with a landscaper who is at work in someone's yard. He gets a phone call saying that someone is holding his wife for 2 million dollars. They then get his attention by pointing out the guy walking a dog across the street. He is shot dead. The story continues with the main character attempting to figure out where these people are located, how they keep finding out everything about him and where he will get 2 million dollars.

As the book continues and the story unfolds, unpredicted things seem to happen. You won't believe who is really behind all of the happenings and it all goes back to the guy with the dog.


KJV Pitt Brevier Apocrypha Red cloth boards, XA1
KJV Pitt Brevier Apocrypha Red cloth boards, XA1
Author: Apocrypha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/27/2009


Very interesting read if you like theology.


Nothing More to Lose (Hidden Cove Firefighters, Bk 3)
Nothing More to Lose (Hidden Cove Firefighters, Bk 3)
Author: Kathryn Shay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 12/12/2007


I enjoyed the book over all but the plot at times got slow. I found myself skipping a few pages here and there to get back to the interesting part. The writer is a good writer. I understand there are other books in this series.


The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Sometimes this book has some pretty insane situations hence the title "worst case scenario" however, I do think that there's a little information in this book that it couldn't hurt to know about should the need arise. It isn't a book that I am going to purchase at full cover price for 14.95 because it just isn't worth the price, however, it's an interesting read. Once you've read it, it's something that you're probably going to pass on to another person since it's not really that great for a second read.


Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Having read "Worst Case Scenario" which I believe is the first book in the series, I would have to say that I enjoyed the "Travel" version much more than the first one. I found the information to be slightly more useful, however, again, some instances are insane situations that no average person would become involved in. I did like the practical information such as how to purify water and distill water. There was also information on how to stop a car if the brakes fail--most people already know things like that but the point is that this one had more useable and applicable information than the first one.


The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Work
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Work
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is hilarious. It's a fun read, however, I do not think that their tactics for slipping out of a meeting unnoticed under the table would work. It was fun to imagine how that would go over in reality. Some of the information was practical and somewhat useful. Recommended for fun reading!


1 to 10 of 10