Facebook

Heather H. (Hendy) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
Between Worlds: The Making of an American Life
Between Worlds: The Making of an American Life
Author: Bill Richardson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/23/2009


If you're interested in politics or successful Hispanics this is an interesting read and an interesting political figure. It's also a rags to riches story. I enjoyed the book and didn't know much about Bill Richardson prior to reading this. I was never bored and found a lot of his political stories extremely interesting, especially when dealing with some of the more infamous foreign leaders. Would recommend.


The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game (Movie Tie-in Edition)
The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game (Movie Tie-in Edition)
Author: Michael Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 2/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, helps to like/understand football but also not neccessary. As a football fan I found the chapters that discuss football and the evolution of the left tackle position just as fasanating as the personal story. Would recommend.


Bookends
Bookends
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 615
Review Date: 8/19/2009


Fun, easy read. Sometimes I felt, okay come on already, especially when it came to the main character and her love interest but what else should you expect with light, fun chic lit.


Born Round: The Secret History of a Full-Time Eater
Born Round: The Secret History of a Full-Time Eater
Author: Frank Bruni
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book as someone who struggles with food and loves memoirs this was the best of both worlds. I thought it started out a little slow and didn't know if I would like it but once it picked up it kept my interest throughout and I couldn't stop reading it. I would recommend this book.


Brief Interviews with Hideous Men
Brief Interviews with Hideous Men
Author: David Foster Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/18/2010


Hated this book, didn't read past the first 20 pages. I think you would have to be a real literary genius to appreaciate and enjoy this form of literature.


Couldn't Keep It to Myself: Testimonies from Our Imprisoned Sisters
Couldn't Keep It to Myself: Testimonies from Our Imprisoned Sisters
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 8/19/2009


I read this book because I love Wally Lamb but it is different in that it's nonfiction instead of fiction. There are stories told from several different women imprisoned for an extended period of time. It's not as voyeristic as I might have liked as I probably wanted to know more about the actual crimes these women committed but it's interesting all the same. These women wrote as part of the healing process and so they picked a poignent time in their life, a time they felt was significant. Wally Lamb didn't write it, more like collected stories.


Drinking: A Love Story
Drinking: A Love Story
Author: Caroline Knapp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great illustration of a functioning alcoholic. I think a lot of people, especially younger, college age people, can related to without realizing it's a problem. I had to read this book as a requirement of a graduate course. Our professor picked this as a good illustration of alcoholism as diagnosed in the DSM-V. Some parts are slow, as alcoholism isn't always interesting, but again told from someone who experienced it.


Final Truth : The Autobiography of a Serial Killer
Final Truth : The Autobiography of a Serial Killer
Author: Donald Gaskins, Wilton Earle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Had to read this as part of a graduate course and it was the most interesting of all of the books we were required to read. It's told from the serial killers point of view so you don't know how much is true, how much is exagerated, and how much is minimized but it's worth the read all the same. I read a lot of true crime, nonfiction books and this book stands out. There are recounted stories that a person can never forget.


Fish: A Memoir of a Boy in a Man's Prison
Fish: A Memoir of a Boy in a Man's Prison
Author: T.J. Parsell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, can't imagine living through something like that. The last 50 pages I couldn't put the book down. Warning: parts are very graphic but necessary to the integrity of the novel. I have to admit though this is the first novel I read where I noticed several gramatical mistakes that were sometimes distracting but in no way decreases the content. 5 stars, must read.


The Hour I First Believed
The Hour I First Believed
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 7/25/2010


I really enjoyed this book and am a big Wally Lamb fan. Though it's fiction it reads as non-fiction a lot of the times, especially when dealing with the Columbine story line. I thought some of the story lines were a little drawn out and a condensed version of this book would have been just as great but there is no doubt that you really get to know the characters.


In Contempt
In Contempt
Author: Christopher A. Darden, Jess Walter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Well the worst part was the beginning reading about the author's life and of course the best part is reading about his experience during the OJ trial. What was also interesting was the relationship between him and Marcia Clark, something I hadn't realized until I read the book. Cut out the first half or so and it can be entertaining.


Life Doesn't Begin 5 Pounds from Now
Life Doesn't Begin 5 Pounds from Now
Author: Jessica Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/20/2010


Didn't care for this book, it seems like very "beginner" advice on dieting, thinking about your body, changing your thoughts kind of self-help book. Quick read because not a lot of information, especially new information. May be good for teens just starting in their struggle with weight and body image.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 814
Review Date: 5/18/2010


Loved this book. Read it after all the hype about it and it still exceeded all my expectations. Caught my attention from the very beginning and held it to the very end. I would have picked a little different ending but that's just me. Highly suggest this book.


My Life
My Life
Author: Bill Clinton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 9/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting at times, boring at times. I have to admit, the points in the book where the Monica Lewinsky scandel was addressed were the most intriguing. Too many names to keep track of or care about-sometimes I think it was just a big thank you novel to those who helped him in his political career. Another intersting thing was the parallels between what he faced during his presidency and the current issues being adressed by our president.


The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance
The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance
Author: Elna Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/6/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Loved this book and as I'm not Mormon you don't have to be Mormon to love it. Very funny and a great combination of history, drama, and love. Great memoir and I want more, I want to keep reading about her life and hope she writes another book in 5-10 years.


Out of Sync
Out of Sync
Author: Lance Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Light, fun, and very quick read especially if you grew up an N'Sync fan and because I did I loved the voyeristic quality of this book. It is also a wonderful coming of age love story-I can't believe how much he was able to keep hidden from the public.


The Politician: An Insider's Account of John Edwards's Pursuit of the Presidency and the Scandal That Brought Him Down
Review Date: 5/18/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I really liked this book. For some reason I've been facinated with this story from the very beginning and rooted for John Edwards since 2004. I think part of the intruige is that he/and any politician for that matter, actually admitted to the affair and love child and she didn't stand by her man despite the years of marriage. I like the insider's look and sadly enough realize this is all too common in the game of politics.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, Wally Lamb is the best especially when it comes to creating real characters with real mental health issues. Some parts were a little slow but necessary and most parts I couldn't put down. All I know is I want to know more about Delores and certainly didn't want the book to end.


sTORI Telling
sTORI Telling
Author: Tori Spelling, Hilary Liftin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


LOVE IT. You can't help but love Tori Spelling, she's so real and so funny. I wasn't a huge Tori fan or anything but you don't have to be you'll still love it. It's voyeristic and honest. If you like her show you'll love her book.


Stupid White Men ...and Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation!
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Well I would suggest you be super liberal and a Michael Moore fan to truely enjoy this book. I was nodding my head while cracking up the whole time. A politically minded book that will make you laugh. It wasn't long and a quick read but oh so true. With this book I became a huge Michael Moore fan and have loved him every since. I'm still waiting to get my hands on the rest of his books.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: