Christine G. (Cricket) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 11/28/2006


'Cordially hated and dreaded by all the mothers of the town because he was idle, and lawless, vulgar, and bad - and because all their children admired him so', Huckleberry Finn, the fourteen-year-old son of the town drunkard, joins runaway slave Jim on an exciting journey down the mighty Mississippi River on a raft.


The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Steve Berry sux as a writer. He seems like a smart guy, but his fiction writing really bites. This book was a little better than The Templar Legacy, but not by much. The first 200 pages were pretty good and I actually cared about the story line. After that it just drawn out and lame. I got tired of all the chapters and mini chapters ending in some ridiculous twist or 'surprise'. I got tired of every other paragraph having to switch between characters and places that I just didn't care about. As soon as I would start getting into what a character was doing, he would switch it up and go back to other characters who were previously 'surprised' by something. These Cotton Malone books are just not enjoyable to me. I'm surprised by how many good reviews I read.

I was interested on some of the topics he brought up about the Bible and some other confrontational subjects. I haven't seen too many authors throw out touchy subjects like that in fiction writing. Like I said, he seems like a smart guy, but his story writing is not good.


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Richard Pevear (Translator), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 6/28/2006


A heartbreaking story about a late nineteenth century woman in Russian High Society. Excellent book!


Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 2/15/2009


I've read a few paranormal adventure type books with the main female character suddenly has supernatural powers and must reluctantly save the world, or sometimes just her hometown. Been there done that!
While, for the most part, I enjoyed reading this book, it wasn't much different from several other series already out there. I don't feel Handeland brought anything new to the genre.
There were a couple laugh out loud parts, and several 'steamy' scenes, if you're into that.


Blackjack's Hidden Secrets, Win Without Counting (New  Expanded Edition)
Review Date: 2/17/2006


My mom gave me this book to trade so I didn't actually read it or use any of the 'secrets'. My parents go gambling every once and awhile and they actually do very well. Maybe the book has helped them. :)


Blaze (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Blaze (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Richard Bachman, Ron McLarty (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I said this in my last, King review, but I love how Stephen King gets to the heart of soul of the 'everyman'. I guess Blaze wasn't really an average guy, but King brought the listener into the mind of Blaze and even though he was a kidnapper I felt sorry for him. King did a good job of portraying him as a sympathetic victim of his upbringing and society.
I really enjoyed this story.


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 438
Review Date: 2/17/2006


Great book!
This is a story of a Chinese American daugther who struggles to come to terms with her mother's onset of Alzheimer's disease. In the mother's house, the daugther finds papers writtin in Chinese. After having them interpreted, the daugther learns it is the story of her mother's life before coming to America. The story helps the daughter understand why her mother has the quirks and beliefs that she does. Suddenly all the "odd" things her mother had done in the past makes sense. This knowledge helps her to better understand and take care of her mother. Very heartwarming.


Carrie
Carrie
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/3/2006


You can tell this in an early King novel. The style is very different from most of his other books. I found this book more disturbing than a lot of other books that should have disturbed me more. I think its the style of the book that added to the horror of it.


Cat Raise the Dead (Joe Grey, Bk 3)
Cat Raise the Dead (Joe Grey, Bk 3)
Author: Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This series is great for cat lovers! Joe and Dulcie and are so cute and funny! I'm so glad I discovered this series.

Joe Grey can't believe his human housemate Clyde would even consider volunteering him for the Animal Therapy program at the local nursing home, just when Joe was on the verge of solving the string of burglaries that has Molena Point residents shaking in their collective boots. But it turns out it's Dulcie, Joe's pretty little cat-friend, who came up with the idea of subjecting Joe to the cooing attentions of a bunch of doddering old coots. Dulcie believes there's more going on at the old folks' home than the care and feeding of lonely seniors. And she needs Joe's help in getting to the bottom of a conspiracy ... and a very suspicious set of deaths.


Cat Under Fire (Joe Grey, Bk 2)
Cat Under Fire (Joe Grey, Bk 2)
Author: Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Crusty Joe Grey, the feline hero of Cat on the Edge (1996), and his spirited love, Dulcie, return to investigate another murder, and this time, it's not their lives that are threatened; it's just that Dulcie thinks the young man arrested for the murder of a local artist is innocent. Once again, it's not really clear just how Joe and Dulcie acquired their ability to think and talk like human beings; however, the clever dialogue, fast-paced action, humor, and interactions between cats and humans make it worth the reader's effort to suspend disbelief. Good fun for cat lovers and fans of offbeat fantasy.


Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Anne Rice is my favorite author, but this is my least enjoyable book from her. I get that she's rediscovered the church and writing about the life of Christ is her new calling, but I just loved her vampire novels so much it's hard for me to accept this new Anne Rice.
It isn't just the fact that it isn't vampires anymore. I really just didn't enjoy the writing. There were only a few moments in the book where the story grabbed me. I had a hard time following all the characters or even caring about them.
I felt this book bordered on silly and at times disturbing. While I respect Rice for being so creative by filling in Biblical gaps with dialog and other details, I was bothered by the relationship of Yeshua and Avigail. I guess I'm not used to the idea of Jesus maybe being in love or the idea of having a woman yell out to him "Let me be your whore".
From other reviews I read, others say she was pretty right on with the details as we know them, but I'm not familiar with such exact details of the Bible. I just know the basics. All I really know is I didn't enjoy this book very much, and I'm sad because I feel I've lost my favorite author.


Christine
Christine
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 2/17/2006


I had a hard time really "getting into" this book. It didn't really grasp me from the start. It was a good story, but for some reason I found myself spacing out while reading it. I guess it just wasn't "my kind of book".

FROM THE BACK OF THE BOOK

Christine is no lady, but 17-year-old Arnie Cunningham loves her enough to do ANYTHING to possess her.

Arnie's best friend Dennis distrusts her at first sight.

Arnie's teen queen girlfriend Leigh fears her the moment she senses her power.

Arnie's parents, teachers and enemies soon learn what happens when you cross her.

Christine is no lady. She is Stephen King's ultimate, blackly evil vehicle of horror...Christine


Circle of Friends
Circle of Friends
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 463
Review Date: 1/10/2006


This is the first Maeve Binchy book I have read. It is truly now one of my favorite books. I enjoyed every word of it. I was surprised how funny the story and some of the characters were. I liked how there was a main story, but also a bunch of other smaller stories going on the side that all merged to one GREAT story. Maeve Binchy is great at getting to the heart and emotions of the characters. I recommend this book highly.


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 263
Review Date: 2/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of the few times I actually liked the movie better than the book and that's not saying much. There were only a few points in the story when I really cared about what was going on. About half way through I wished I was a person who could stop reading a book in the middle, but I have a hard time not finishing a book. I'm glad I kept reading because at least I'm not a quitter, but I don't feel like I gained much by reading this book.
Most of the chapters surrounding Inman, I could have really cared less. I was really tired of the trompsing through the woods stuff. I understand what the author was doing with this book, I just didn't find it entertaining, entralling or inspiring in any way.


Cycle of the Werewolf
Cycle of the Werewolf
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 5/4/2006


A quick, entertaining and exciting read. I enjoyed it a lot.


Danse Macabre
Danse Macabre
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't think I would enjoy this book as much as I did. I don't usually get into Non-Fiction books but Stephen King has a great way of drawing you in. I especially enjoyed the section on Tv and Horror movies. Surprisingly the section on Horror novels was a bit dry to me. Even though I hadn't seen a lot of the movies he mentioned (this book was written before I was even born) he's good at describing the necessary scenes. For some reason, to me, he didn't do as great a job as drawing me into the Horror novel section. King's sense of humor really comes through in this book too.

FROM THE BACK OF THE BOOK:
The bestselling horror author of all time, Stephen King, knows better than anyone else in the world what scares you, and why. Now, in his most unusual masterpiece, he takes you on his personal tour of the dark ballroom of horror. come, Take his arm, Let the dance begin....


The Dead Zone
The Dead Zone
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 1/3/2006


Great book. The reader really gets to feel for the main character.

FROM THE BACK OF THE BOOK:
Johnny, the small boy who skated at breakneck speed into an accident that for one horrifying moment plunged him into THE DEAD ZONE.
Johnny Smith, the small town schoolteacher who spun the wheel of fortune and won a four-and-a-half-year trip into THE DEAD ZONE.
John Smith, who awakened from an interminable coma with an accursed power-the power to see the future and the terrible fate awaiting mankind in THE DEAD ZONE.


Desperation
Desperation
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 6/4/2006
Helpful Score: 7


The first half of this started out with a bang. It was a real turn pager, full of intrigue and suspense. About halfway through all the extreme, gory, "King" details began. The story was great (one of his best, in my opinion)but I get tend to get bored with pages and pages of gory, gross details. Some bits of the story reminded me of "IT".


Different Seasons
Different Seasons
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 1/3/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This books is four novellas: Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption, Apt Pupil, The Body and The Breathing Method.

All four novellas are great in the way that the reader is intrigued the whole time trying to figure out how it is all going to end. The Breathing Method is weirdest of the four.

FROM THE BOOK:
RITA HAYWORTH AND THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION
An unjustly imprisoned convict seeks a strange and startling revenge...The basis for the Best Picture Academy Award nominee, "The Shawshank Redemption".

APT PUPIL
Todd Bowden is one of the top students in his high school class and a typical American sixteen-year-old-- until be becomes obesessed with the dark and deadly past of an older man in town. The inspiration for the film "Apt Pupil" from Pheonix Pictures.

THE BODY
Four rambunctious young boys plunge through the facade of a small town and come face-to-face with life, death and intimations of their own mortality. The film "Stand by Me" is based on this novella.

THE BREATHING METHOD
A disgraced woman is determined to triumph over death.


The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower, Bk 2)
The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 3/9/2006


FROM THE INSIDE COVER:
The Drawing of the Three continues the epic saga of The Dark Tower, hurling The Gunslinger into the twentieth century.
Once again Stephen King masterfully interweaves dark, evocative fantasy and icy realism, as his hero, Roland, The Last Gunslinger, pursues his quest for The Dark Tower. Roaming another world that is a nighmarishly distorted mirror image of our own, he is drawn through a mysterious door that brings him into 1980's America. Here he links forces with the defiant young Eddie Dean and with beautiful, brilliant, and brave Odetta Holmes, in a savage struggle against underworld evil and otherworldly enemies. With a storytelling skill that is sheer magic, and with breathtaking boldness of imagination, Stephen King has risen to the peak of his power to create a compelling epic that is at once enigmatic and familiar...and always compulsively readable.
MY OPINION
I really liked this book. It is the best one out of the first three. I was really drawn into the story and couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen. I am so glad I continued with this series. I had a hard time getting into the first book, The Gunslinger, but I had already ordered the other books so felt obligated to read them. GOOD THING I DID. I loved this book.


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: