Facebook

Robin D. (RobininVT) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 7/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Philippa Gregory's follow-up to The Other Boleyn Girl does not disappoint. This book is 515 delicious pages - it had me reading every chance I got and long into the night. When it ended, I longed for more.


Breath, Eyes, Memory
Breath, Eyes, Memory
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This haunting story is a very rewarding quick read.


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Lori Lansens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I was pleasantly surprised by this very moving yet humorous novel. Although I felt the story dragged a bit towards the end, I enjoyed it very much. I will continue to think of Rose and Ruby for some time to come.


The Glass Castle : A Memoir
The Glass Castle : A Memoir
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 10/13/2006


This is a wonderful memoir. I laughed and cried along with author. A great read!


Have You Found Her: A Memoir
Have You Found Her: A Memoir
Author: Janice Erlbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This book was addictingly readable and so incredibly good that I tore through it in two days and couldn't wait to re-post it for the next person to read. Janice Erlbaum's memoir of her year with "Sam", a teenage girl she meets in a homeless shelter, is compelling to say the least. She wants to save Sam, and in doing so she ultmately finds and saves herself. Extremely well-written. I went and immediately put her first book "Girlbomb" on my wishlist and can't wait to read it.


The Lost Mother
The Lost Mother
Author: Mary McGarry Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/5/2007


An enjoyable read, a poignant story


Luna
Luna
Author: Julie Anne Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was on my 13-year old daughter's summer reading list this year. She loved this book!


Me and Emma
Me and Emma
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


What an engrossing tale of two sisters with a surprise ending I never saw coming. It will have you reading long into the night. You will think of Carrie and Emma long after you finish this book, I know I do.


The Middle Place
The Middle Place
Author: Kelly Corrigan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/30/2008
Helpful Score: 10


I read this book in a day and a half, and laughed and cried my way through it. Keely Corrgian writes her memoir with honesty, integrity and humor. At the end I found myself wanting to know more about her and her family, she seems like the type of person you could sit and have coffee with and talk for hours. I loved the book and highly recommend it!


Say When
Say When
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 9


I enjoyed this book immensely. It is one of those that grabs you from the first page and is hard to put down because you truly care about the characters and want to know what happpens to them. I think these characters, the range and depth of emotion, and the subject matter will hit home with lots of other readers like it did me. It's an inside look at a marriage that is both painful and funny at times.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1455
Review Date: 10/13/2006


I absolutely loved this book. It is a wonderful coming of age story. I didn't want it to end!


The Summer of Naked Swim Parties (P.S.)
The Summer of Naked Swim Parties (P.S.)
Author: Jessica Anya Blau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/5/2008


This was a lovely coming-of-age story that takes place during the summer in the life of a 14 year-old girl. I was truly reminded of my teen years and all of the emotions I had felt back then as Jamie struggles with relationships with friends, boys and family members. It is a little gem of a novel.


Vanished
Vanished
Author: Mary McGarry Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A very good book. Engrossing characters and storyline, one that is hard to put down until you reach the climatic ending.


The Year of Fog
The Year of Fog
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book and found myself engrossed in it over the course of a weekend. What struck me most was how deeply I felt the narrator's feelings. A fast read that will keep you thinking about the characters for some time.


Your Big Break
Your Big Break
Author: Johanna Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 10/13/2006


A great read! I really enjoyed it.


1 to 15 of 15