Phyllis H. (pjh) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Accidentally Dead (Accidentals, Bk 2)
Accidentally Dead (Accidentals, Bk 2)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 6/12/2011


Loved the first book.


Beneath a Darkening Moon (Ripple Creek Werewolf, Bk 2)
Beneath a Darkening Moon (Ripple Creek Werewolf, Bk 2)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/19/2009


Easy read.


Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 721
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a long way from Cornwell's best effort. I was disappointed.


The Bourne Supremacy (Bourne, Bk 2)
The Bourne Supremacy (Bourne, Bk 2)
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The book is wordy and slow.


The Countess
The Countess
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Pretty normal for Coulter.


The Crush
The Crush
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Good read.


Dead to Rights (Joanna Brady, No 4)
Dead to Rights (Joanna Brady, No 4)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Not quite as good as other Jance books, but a good read.


Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 4/24/2009


I found this book "slow." The author spent a lot of pages developing the characters, but I found the character development dreary. It was a long read. I'm hoping the rest of the series improves.


Deadly Desire (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 7)
Deadly Desire (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 7)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 5/7/2009


I've enjoyed the Riley Jenson series, but this may be my favorite so far.


Dragon Wytch (Otherworld, Bk 4)
Dragon Wytch (Otherworld, Bk 4)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 7/17/2009


After finishing the 4th book, I still find the writing a bit amateurish, but the stories move forward at an acceptable rate. I've learned to scan through the description repetition, but I understand that not everyone reads the books in sequence.

There are gaps in the story, but I guess that is why it if fantasy.


Dream Man
Dream Man
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Good read.


Dust to Dust (Kovac / Liska, Bk 2)
Dust to Dust (Kovac / Liska, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Good read.


Failure to Appear (J P Beaumont, Bk 11)
Failure to Appear (J P Beaumont, Bk 11)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Enjoyed it.


A Fistful of Charms (The Hollows, Bk 4)
A Fistful of Charms (The Hollows, Bk 4)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 894
Review Date: 5/2/2009


The book has good moments and a lot of slow moments. I enjoy the characters, but the author takes a long time to get to the action.


Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 792
Review Date: 4/7/2009


A little show to get into, but it picked up along the way. It is worth the read.


Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 1)
Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1057
Review Date: 8/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book has a bunch of characters, which quickly rotate around the central character. I needed a cheat sheet to keep up with them. What was with the wererats? Sort of in the middle of being "left in the dungeon," what appears but wererats to terrify the main character. What is with that? I could see no purpose. Frankly, I don't care for the first book of this series...an unreasonable number of characters who did add nothing to the plot of story, constant "mind-talking" of the main character (I started skimming through all of it), and a lack of connection to me as the reader. Not so good...I'll try book 2 before I hang it up on this series.


How To Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake, Bk 1)
How To Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake, Bk 1)
Author: Kerrelyn Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 6/28/2009


If your like feisty heroines and fast-pasted dialogue with some humor for spice, you'll enjoy this book. The book is witty and funny.


Jade Island (Donovan, Bk 2)
Jade Island (Donovan, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Good read.


Killer Smile (Rosato & Associates, Bk 11)
Killer Smile (Rosato & Associates, Bk 11)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Good read.


A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry, Bk 1)
A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry, Bk 1)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 7/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Reading this books was a challenge...the in depth detail, the establishment of the fey world, the detailed descriptions of the different types of fey, the politics, the character development...literally, everything that could be written in detailed descriptions was. Then...there were the unpronounceable names. Ugh!

There was a bit of action/mystery/intrigue to get the book going. Later, there were murder attempts. The heroine survived to fight another day.

I'm glad I finished the first, but it the second is so a labor to read...I'll not continue with the series.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: