Susan C. (mediumcoffey) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
BEe Season
BEe Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/17/2005


Never occurred to me that spelling could be used as a spiritual practice, but that's what happens to the young protagonist in this story. She alone in her family of four all looking for spiritual wholeness and connection to God figures out what is most important. It was an emotionally difficult story, but worth reading.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 10/22/2005
Helpful Score: 4


This is a light read, and a somewhat predictable romance. I liked the details about working in a bread bakery and how the protagonist found her vocation there. The details about a woman whose creating a new life after the breakup of her marriage, and the details about baking were of interest to me.


The Craggy Hole in My Heart and the Cat Who Fixed It : Over the Edge and Back with My Dad, My Cat, and Me
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Author learns to deal with her fears about life and death, and grow to understand that her relationship with both her father and mother are more complex than they seemed.


Ghost Riders (Ballad, Bk 7)
Ghost Riders (Ballad, Bk 7)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 11/5/2005


This was excellent historical fiction about the divided loyalties of mountain dwellers in the south during the civil war. This is connected with present day reenactors through a ghost story. The historical story is based on actual people and the book includes photos of two of the main characters. History was truly brought to life in this book.


Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Author: Erin Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 11/20/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent read linking a current day mystery with one from the past. Lots of interesting historical details about Ireland.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 984
Review Date: 9/28/2005
Helpful Score: 1


LIked the literary detective aspect, and history of Eastern Europe. It was hard to follow though and I lost the characters for awhile in romania, but was glad I made it to the end.


The Ice Child
The Ice Child
Author: Elizabeth McGregor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/26/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This was described as a good beach book, but was also good for winter cold reading. It weaves together a modern day story about a reporter and archeologist with an interest in the disappearance of the Franklin Expedition in 1845 in the Arctic. This was an actual event. The story is told from several points of view between the past and present. It's fast paced and satisfying that difficult family relationships are resolved in a hopeful way.


Inkheart  (Inkheart, Bk 1)
Inkheart (Inkheart, Bk 1)
Author: Cornelia Funke, Anthea Bell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 7/17/2007


Excellent fantasy/adventure especially for booklovers.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 12/28/2005
Helpful Score: 1


To me the way a book ends is very important, and this one ends on a very hopeful note. The sensitive reader should beware of some violent scenes all the more disturbing because they are things that actually happen.


Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading : Finding and Losing Myself in Books
Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading : Finding and Losing Myself in Books
Author: Maureen Corrigan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/17/2007


Reflections on how reading influences life and vice versa. Themes include"Women's Extreme Adventure Stories," "Working for a Living,"Alternatives to the Traditional Mating, Dating, and Procreating Plot," "What Catholic Martyr Stories Taught Me About Getting to Heaven, and Getting Even," and thoughts on NYC post 9/11.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2004
Review Date: 12/31/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Susie Salmon looks down from her heaven as her family copes with her rape and murder. Both her family, friends and Susie learn to cope with what has happened. This was a very life affirming story.


Midsummer Meeting
Midsummer Meeting
Author: Elvi Rhodes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An amateur theatre group in a Surrey town is putting on "A Midsummer Night's Dream". Story takes place in current day. Petra, an artist new to town volunteers to work on sets. She has inherited a house from a woman she didn't know, her mother's schoolmate. Hungry for info. about her parents who've died recently, she searches the attic to find some surprising pictures that lead her to discover some unexpected truths about her family. Ursula, the play's producer has her own struggles when her husband starts flirting with the star of the play. Other subplots. Shifting point of view made the story hard to follow at first. Lots of detail about small town life in England.


The Oath
The Oath
Author: Frank Peretti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Fast paced suspense, some graphic violent scenes. Main character Steve Benson finds faith as he investigates the mysterious attack and killing of his brother.


The Queen's Fool
The Queen's Fool
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1337
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Tells the story of the reign of Mary Tudor from the point of view of Hannah Green a teenage Jewish girl who's fled from the Spanish Inquisition after the burning of her mother. Hannah is a holy fool meaning she has the gift of sight into the future. I was put off by the book at first because of the way Elizabeth tudor was portrayed; manipulative and guileless which is not how I see her. It's a sympathetic portrait of Mary Tudor which is also difficult for me. She's remembered as bloody Mary for good reason. Hannah's story though is very engaging. Althought she has more modern day sensibilities, the story gave me insights into how Jewish families survived some terrible periods in history.


Second Glance
Second Glance
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 10/28/2005
Helpful Score: 7


This in my opinion, is one of Picoult's best. She brings to the surface an important historical issue, (eugenics) and ties it in with today's issues. The language is poetic, and the story is very satisfying.


Silences of the Heart
Silences of the Heart
Author: Elizabeth Latham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Pioneer life on Vancouver Island in early 20th century revealed in letters of son banished from England. Family secrets revealed to daughter, an artist, returning to Canada from Vienna to be with the elderly aunt who raised her.


Vanishing Acts
Vanishing Acts
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 451
Review Date: 9/28/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I like Jodi Picoult, but didn't think this was one of her best. It felt like she chose issues to make a statement about, then worked the story around it. It was worth reading, but not as good as My Sister's Keeper or Plain Truth


The Virgin Blue
The Virgin Blue
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 9/28/2005


Story links modern day woman with French Huguenot ancestress. Found the historical story more compelling. I like the way she connected the present with the past.


1 to 18 of 18