Karen J. (rhyta) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Almost There: The Onward Journey of a Dublin Woman
Almost There: The Onward Journey of a Dublin Woman
Author: Nuala O'Faolain
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/29/2008


I listened to this book after hearing the author on a NPR interview program in 2005. I was captivated by her voice (I am a sucker for English/Scottish/ Irish accents) and intrigued by the answers she gave to the host's questions. I wanted to understand what made her so prickly and defensive.

This is actually the second volume of her memoirs, the first being Are you somebody? I recommend reading it first.

To the story, it was very descriptive and I could see some of the places in my minds eye so easily. Nuala was such a strong willed and stubborn woman that I could relate to her very easily. While the circumstances of her life differed from my own, I could still understand her fears of not amounting to much and wondering what she was here for.

I just found out several weeks ago that Nuala passed away in May 2008 of lung cancer. I purchased this set of tapes to listen to again to recapture her questing spirit.


Best Love, Rosie
Best Love, Rosie
Author: Nuala O'Faolain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/4/2018


Read 4/26/2013


Contents Under Pressure: 30 Years of Rush at Home and Away
Contents Under Pressure: 30 Years of Rush at Home and Away
Author: Martin Popoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/4/2018


read 7/15/2015


Discord's Apple
Discord's Apple
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/26/2013


A very clever tale of mythology woven through current time and the past. It was a bit slow starting out but as I remembered the story of Discord then it grabbed my interest. Liked the ending and there were parts that made me cry, which is good. A great read for anyone who likes Greek mythology.


Finding My Voice
Finding My Voice
Author: Diane Rehm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/5/2010


Diane Rehm is well loved NPR host for over 30 years. This book details her life in 3 stages, her childhood with immigrant parents, marriage and finding a broadcasting career she loved and her struggle with spasmodic dysphonia (a voice disorder) which almost put that career on hold forever.

If you have not listened to Diane, you will find the details of her life interesting, if you are an avid listener like me, the details of her struggles are insightful and revealing. If nothing else, the descriptions of her interviewing experiences with prominent politicians and authors are funny and intriguing.


Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road
Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road
Author: Neil Peart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/12/2014


I am a big fan of Rush, the Canadian rock group and this is the 3rd book by Neil Peart I have read. It details Peart's tragic loss of his daughter and wife in less than a year. Feeling lost like a ghost, he embarks upon a motorcycle trip to find himself over a span of 55,000 miles in over a year.

Peart's writing style is very engaging yet quite verbose. He tends to duplicate his story through travel observations, journal entries and in his letters to Brutus (his motorcycle buddy who was incarcerated during Peart's grieving time). I would set it aside for a few weeks when it became too wordy. Like Peart's journey, reading the story required an investment of time and I would have missed so many good parts if I had not finished it. Peart is a man bereft of meaning in his life and who mourns that loss in his own style. Not an easy read but well worth it for the thought provoking aspects he raises in addition to purging his demons and soothing his "little baby soul." The travelogue portions were detailed and fascinating, I wish a map was included in the back of the book to see the physical reality of where he went on those 55,000 miles.


The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children®)
The Land of Painted Caves (Earth's Children®)
Author: Jean M. Auel
Book Type: MP3 CD
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/9/2011


A very sad ending to a well-loved series. I cannot recommend it for anyone who had any affection for the earlier books in the series.

This book entails Ayla's training to be a zeladoni and her trip to numerous caves as part of her training. The time spent away from her family causes problems and she has a vision that will forever alter the way her people (the Zelandoni) relate to each other.

There is too much repetition by the author; plot from the previous 5 books(part 1), Ayla's accent is strange, Jondalar's blue eyes, the mother's song and of course the caves (part 2). Part 3 is the newer material but with a recycled ending and numerous threads left dangling. The changes in major characters are not for the better and leaves one wondering if Auel had just decided to end it however she could.

Audio details...I enjoyed the first 4 books and have read them numerous times. I decided to listen to them this time around as I led up to book 6. I was not so happy to find that Ayla had developed a transylvanian accent in book 5 and 6. Made it even more difficult to listen to! Only advantage to the audio, I could skip multiple renditions of the Mother's Song!


Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/10/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I have to disagree with Daedelys' comments, I have found the Southern Vampire Series a wonderful treat. I came to these books after slogging through the first 3 books in the Twilight series...ugh. Sookie's stories have been a funny, clever and suspenseful turn on the vampire genre. I can see how Laurel Hamilton readers would find them less appealing but for those of us who want some fun diversions, this series is it.

Sookie is a sassy southern gal who has had bad luck with relationships. She has an unusual "talent" that makes it hard to be around normal people. Bill the vampire is obviously not normal so she is attracted to him because of his difference. Vamps aren't nice people and they do have a nasty habit of drinking blood, so I don't see the complaint Daedelys brings up. Just because the True Blood is on the market doesn't mean the Vampires have sworn off humans entirely. The tension in the relationship between Sookie and Bill makes it less predictable (especially when Eric enters the picture)and moves the plot along nicely.

I suggest you snuggle up with this one and enjoy a good read :)


Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 12/13/2008
Helpful Score: 5


After reading all the positive reviews, I was excited to read this but was quickly disappointed. Was more like a narration rather than a story and how many times does he have to say "the Nightside"?

Tries to be an update on the detective/noir genre but left me cold. Dresden Files is SO much better for my taste, he makes the character someone I can relate to. Sadly, I did enjoy Drinking Midnight Wine by Green but this one wasn't that good and I don't plan to continue on.


Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me
Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me
Author: Pattie Boyd, Penny Junor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/20/2009


A look into the life Boyd led with both George Harrison and then Eric Clapton. I found her early childhood experiences were a big influence on her outlook as she matured. A pleasant read for those who want to relive the 60's.


Ysabel
Ysabel
Author: Guy Gavriel Kay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/9/2011


I am a long time Kay fan and I was thoroughly entranced with the story. It is a more modern setting intersecting with history/legends that interact with present day characters in Aix, France. Celtic legends, Roman battles, Canadian characters and a mystifying romantic triangle come together in an exciting and fresh mix. This is a bit of a change for Kay, whose other historical fantasies are based in a past world. It is intriguing and suspenseful, couldn't put it down. There is a tie in to characters from his Fionavar trilogy that was a fun plot twist.

I highly recommend this book but not as a first time Kay reader. Start with the Fionavar trilogy and then enjoy Ysabel. It is a great read.


1 to 11 of 11