Jessica H. (jessjoy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Bergdorf Blondes
Bergdorf Blondes
Author: Plum Sykes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 4/13/2011


This was a really cute book, read it in one sitting. Great for those who luv chic lit!


Big Girl
Big Girl
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished reading this on my ipad and it was pretty good. I really liked the character in the book, I just felt that there needed to be something more. There just was something missing. It was anti-climatic. It kept me reading and interested, but it just was a story about a big girl with parents who were cruel. I kept thinking that perhaps we would discover that she had been switched at birth or something. It just didn't have a cliff hanger. It was a really flat storyline. I mean I was interested, but it was like ok, so that's it? I kept waiting for the big climax and it never came.


Bungalow Two
Bungalow Two
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/7/2011


It was a good book overall! It had some moments that it took me a minute to get through because I kept setting it down. I love Danielle steel and this really was a pretty great book! I enjoyed it!


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 5/14/2011


I loved this book. How hilarious to be on a plane with your boss unbeknown to yourself and talk about your crap job, and how you lied to get it. Of course when she gets back to work hilarity ensues when she discovers he's the new owner of her company. It's a fun, fun read. It will keep you up until you finish the whole thing. Who doesn't love a great, fun book??


Cloaked
Cloaked
Author: Alex Flinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


First, a correction to the precious reviewer, Alex Flinn is a female! Any who, I first was introduced to Flinn, by finding the playaway version of Beastly and I must say I'm not big on audio books, but this one was brilliant! I picked up Cloaked and really didn't believe I was going to much enjoy it, so I held it for about a week and out of boredom and lack of anything else, picked it up! Boy am I glad that I did! It had enough charm and mystique to revert to my fairytale believing years! It made me yearn for some goos old spells and curses! It was enchanting! I read this book straight through, while walking through parking lots, eating dinner, I disnt put it down until the very end. I hung o to every morsal that she was feeding me and found myself craving more! Thankfully, I also had checked out A Kiss In Time! This may be in the youth section, but believe me it is a captivating story for any age! This and a Kiss in Time would be excellent movies! For once in a long time I could visualize everything in my head, thanks to Flinn's perfection with painting a picture with words!


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 7/25/2011


I absolutely love Grisham. He is a genre in his own right, I can't find an author the I enjoy half as much as I enjoy Grisham! I enjoyed this story, but I must admit I wasn't too pleased with the way things turned out, but overall it was brilliant writing and a great plot and it held my interest from the first page! I like to read books that I literally can't put down and this didn't disappoint!


Confessions of a Beauty Addict
Confessions of a Beauty Addict
Author: Nadine Haobsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/18/2011


I really enjoyed this book. I read some of the not so great reviews on here and I must say, why read a book titled "Confessions of a Beauty Addict", when you read this genre of book, you realize that you are reading about a world most of us can only dream about. That's why most of us enjoy reading this genre it's living someone else's life for the duration of the book, viewing the world in someone's else's eyes. I didn't find her to be superficial. I found her to be an interesting character in the world of beauty. I enjoyed it throughly. It is what it is, if you like chick lit, you'll like it. If you want to read a Pulitzer winning book about struggles, then chick lit isn't for you. Chick lit is light and airy and most of the time fumny. It doesn't take it's self too seriously! If you want to zone out and not read a book that stresses you out even more, then it's a perfect genre!


A Desirable Residence
A Desirable Residence
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was a little unexpected from Wickham/ Kinsella! I enjoyed it though! I was a little surprised that it was rated so low on here. I loved the ending. It was a little expected, not sure if you were expected to expect it, but I kinda did. To me it shows that good people can make mistakes and that even if you make a mistake it doesn't mean that you should be the evil character. Humans are flawed characters. Overall, it was a great read. I pretty much read it through in two sittings. Had to make myself sleep for about five hours. I definitely would recommend this to anyone who loves chick lit without all the sex!


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1733
Review Date: 4/9/2011


I agree with the other reviews posted here, I enjoyed the movie far better than the book. It's very rare for that to be the case, but I just like the direction the movie took the characters. I just read Last Night at Chateau Marmont by the same author and it was a far better book than this book was! I give the movie 5 stars, the book 2 stars!


Dirty Girls on Top
Dirty Girls on Top
Author: Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/4/2011


I enjoyed this book ! It took a little bit to get into, but once I was past chapter two it really took off!! I have this book in hardcover, if anyone is interested...


Falling Out of Fashion
Falling Out of Fashion
Author: Karen Yampolsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/19/2011


I really enjoyed reading this book. It was typical chick lit, and it is vaguely, extremely vaguely similar to Devil Wears Prada. It is similar because in both books, you have an extremely menacing boss. However, in this book, you have two women who are making our heroine's life difficult. A company buys out the publisher of her magazine that she created, and her new bosses don't quite agree with the way things are done. They make it their mission to destroy the magazine and the woman. It held my interest from the get go. It wasn't a favorite, but it's a pretty good read for those who like chick lit.


The Fixer Upper
The Fixer Upper
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 4/4/2011
Helpful Score: 5


Mary Kay Andrews is an absolute dream writer! She writes books that you can't put down! I'm reading her books as my kids are crying for food and my ears don't hear anything because I'm so wrapped up in her stories, so beware may be a danger to parenting :) Seriously, this is a great book my second favorite of hers, Hissy Fit comes in first! The Fixer Upper is about a woman who has lost her job and goes to fix up her dad's inherited home. It is a delightful read! I love HG TV and I love reading so this combines two of my favorite things! Mary Kay Andrews is the queen of Southern chick lit! I LUV her!


Friends Forever
Friends Forever
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I am a fan of Danielle Steel, not an uber fan I don't chase down every book like I do other authors. I am so glad that I picked this book up on a whim.

The story is about a group of five kids who meet in kindergarten and form a lasting friendship. Each of the five main characters each have their own unique personalities. You have Izzie (the caretaker), Gabby (the super beautiful and cool), Andy(the future Dr.), Sean (the law and order type), and Billy (the sports guy). We follow these five from kindergarten, jr. high, high school, college and careers.

I became immediately attached to the characters and was truly affected by the story. This is one of those books where I just want to tell the whole story and discuss it with someone. I will say if you have a tendency to cry when reading a book, then get the hankies ready. This is definitely a tear jerker and I don't usually cry during books and I cried like four different times.

This book is really a great story about friendship, it touches on overly involved parents who live their dreams through their children and the pressure kids feel. It also touches on the dangers of alcohol and drugs. I can't begin to tell you how great this book is. I can't imagine someone reading it and NOT loving it.


The Glamorous (Double) Life of Isabel Bookbinder
The Glamorous (Double) Life of Isabel Bookbinder
Author: Holly McQueen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/20/2011


I really enjoyed this book! I thought that Isabel was hilarious! I could relate to her in so many ways. She's the ultimate dreamer. She is so busy daydreaming about her life, that she isn't living it! She has such a fantastic imagination, that her brain can dream beyond her actual abilities! I would definitely recommend this book to others!


Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Author: Annie Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 5/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book. It was a nice surprise. I was trying to get free shipping on Amazon so just put a few extra books in to get to the $25 minimum order. This was a real delight. It was a bit slow to begin with, but not for long at all. It picked up momentum and didn't slow down again! It was a really fast read, although it's 400 pages in length, I couldn't put it down. It's about two women who move from the big city of London to the country and find themselves fast companions amongst the sea of the "stepford wives" of the country. After a horrible tragedy strikes, the women become closer and find out how powerful and smart they both are. It's a light, fun story, but also uplifting and makes you want to invent something or start your own business. It's a great book. I am so glad I discovered it!


How I Stole Her Husband
How I Stole Her Husband
Author: Liz Ireland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I am soooooo glad that I found this book. I had been getting bored by a lot of books I'd been trying to read and I was browsing the site and found this book. I had never heard of this author or heard of the book, but I said what the heck and ordered it. It was a great read! I hate books that are sooo slow, I have ADD so if it takes me forever to get into a book I give up. This book captured my attention from the beginning. It isn't a pulitzer prize winning book, but it is fantastic chic lit! You will really feel for the heroine of this book and you will won't to throw Pepper off a cliff. If you like chic lit without all the heavy petting and sex, you'll love this book. Personally, I always skip over sex scenes anyway, I mean really there should be a genre called soft porn in the women's section!


Little Bitty Lies
Little Bitty Lies
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 4/3/2011


Mary Kay Andrews has perfected "southern chick lit!". I absolutely loved it! It was an incredible read. It wasn't my favorite by Andrews, Hissy Fit is the best!, but it is a fun book. It's about uppercrust life and divorce and picking up the pieces all while telling little white lies... It's really funny.


The Lucky One
The Lucky One
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 5/18/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I feel like all of my ratings are four or five stars, but truth be told if I don't enjoy a book I won't finish it. So, I won't be able to review or rate it. I have started many of Nicholas Sparks books and haven't quite finished all of them. I know I am a seriously disturbed person to not be enthralled with this writer, sorry. I have to say though, I did read this one cover to cover and didn't want to put it down. The story was wonderful. It's a very interesting concept. A marine in Iraq finds a picture of a young woman during his tour of duty and afterwards experiences luck at every turn. He starts winning poker games (before he never won any) and even survives deadly combat. When he returns to the US he can't get the woman from the photo out of his mind, so he searches her out and goes to find her, romance ensues and the secret he keeps about why he came to North Carolina could destroy them. It's a beautiful story.


A Match Made on Madison
A Match Made on Madison
Author: Dee Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/3/2011


A really fun read! Two matchmakers bet on finding the same man the love of his life and it's a recipe for magic. Mi thoroughly enjoyed this book! Hope someone else will enjoy it!


Maybe This Time
Maybe This Time
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 7/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


OMG this is one of the neatest books! I have read a lot of other od Cruisie's books and picked is up from the library cause it was on sale! I could not put it down! This is a bit of a departure for Cruisie, whom generally writes light and airy good fun chick lit! At least those that I have read! This is a wonderfully imagine ghost story/ love story! You really cling to every word, waiting to discover what's making things go bump in the night! There of course is an underlying love story, but the meat is the haunting! It's a perfect blend of spookiness, she doesn't go over the too at all. I must admit this is a first foe me. I don't know that I've read any chick lit haunting stories! But it's great! A definite must read!


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: