Marianne M. (g-o-smom) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Born to Run: Piano, Vocal, Chords
Born to Run: Piano, Vocal, Chords
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/26/2010


An excellent piano/vocal guide to the album. I am swapping it because I have 2 copies. Highly recommended if you want to play it on the piano. 5 stars.


In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin
Review Date: 8/13/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very well-written and researched account of the period leading up to and during Hitler's incomprehensible rise to power in Europe. Ambassador Dodd decried the American lack of interest in what was happening in Germany, except with respect to the American concern about repayment of the German debt. His warnings fell on deaf ears, and his most dire predictions came to pass.


Little Women (Abridged)
Little Women (Abridged)
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/18/2013


This version is the Junior Classic for Young Readers edition.


The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 11/18/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I was sorely disappointed with this book. Having read A Walk In the Woods and enjoyed it thoroughly, I was expecting the same from this book. I was hoping for a humorous, informative look at small town America. Was I got was a cynical, boring, repetitive slamming of Americans and their lack of authentic style. A waste of time, in my opinion. I rarely stop a book midway, but this one I did. I am guessing this review will not help it fly off my shelf, but that's OK.


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 889
Review Date: 2/25/2011


Not sure what all the fuss was over this book. The main character was not particularly likable, although it was interesting to see her from the perspective of the other characters. I would like to have heard more of Henry's voice, but it was titled Olive Kitteridge, not Henry!


The Scarlet Letter
The Scarlet Letter
Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 1/31/2011


Well written account of life at the time, although occasionally long-winded. Good character development.


The Sea
The Sea
Author: John Banville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 4/18/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Well written, but I found it long and boring.


Teacher Man : A Memoir
Teacher Man : A Memoir
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 4/18/2014


Loved this memoir! His writing is effortless and the stories about his years teaching high school in NYC are funny and heartwarming. It also reminds teachers not to give up.


1 to 8 of 8