Facebook

Sandra K. (4nsicnurs) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
All Through The Night
All Through The Night
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 11/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is very touching and appropriate for this time of year. It contains the delightful characters, Alvira and Willy. They are recipients of of 40,000,000.00 lottery and Alvira is quite a character as a sleuth. Sweet, fast read, just the book to read on a cold winter night when you need to feel good. It has a Christmas theme and a happy ending.


Bad News (Dortmunder, Bk 10)
Bad News (Dortmunder, Bk 10)
Author: Donald E. Westlake
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Donald Westlake does it again. He is witty, funny, brings in his "anti-hero" characters that seem to never quite get it together. Dortmunder is at his best, always comes up with brilliant ideas that seem to never turn out the way they should. A fun, entertaining read, not too long, that makes you a little nervous hoping it all works out in the end.


Beyond Our Selves
Beyond Our Selves
Author: Catherine Marshall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/24/2010


Copyright 1961, a collector's item that is heartfelt, warm, and caring. Catherine Marshall bares her soul and gives life experiences that help others to face similar crises, joy, and ways to get beyond it.

She gives anecdotes of people who touched her life and reveals how each and every person has a story to tell that can give you warmth, strength, and something to look forward to. It reads a little like a textbook, rather than a mystery. It is something you want to take slowly and absorb what she is telling you about events in her life that were life changing and the events of others that could touch your heart.

If you like Catherine Marshall, this is one collector's item you will enjoy.


Cooper (Wild West, Bk 2) (American Hero) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 553)
Review Date: 6/23/2010


Took too long for the feud between the two main characters to resolve itself. The story line was a good one. The plot exciting. But the main theme should have come out sooner because it led to frustration of the storyline for me. If you like western love stories, with a touch of mystery, this has all the elements of a good yarn. But, if you like the characters to show their true colors before the book is almost over, this will leave you feeling like something needs to be happening sooner. It made me nervous wondering when the point would be made and almost angry at the author for taking so long to make them understand where they stood and why.

Overall, it was a fun, fast read, didn't have to worry about trying to figure out the plot. It was pretty straight forward and had the usual turmoil between the two main characters so much like these types of books have.


Cordina's Royal Family: Gabriella & Alexander
Cordina's Royal Family: Gabriella & Alexander
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 2/15/2010


This was a fast read. Couldn't put it down. True to Nora Roberts other great love stories with lots of action, fun antics, good interaction between the characters. Made me want to read all the books related to this Royal family.


Decked (Regan Reilly, Bk 1)
Decked (Regan Reilly, Bk 1)
Author: Carol Higgins Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 7/7/2008


A story of a 10 year old murder with characters described in a funny way. This book reminded me of an old Agatha Christie book years ago about another adventure on a cruise ship where all the main characters are woven into the story and interlinked. A real cute "who done it" well written as only Carol Higgins Clark can do. I thought it was another good read I didn't want to put down.


Every Breath You Take: A True Story of Obsession, Revenge, and Murder
Every Breath You Take: A True Story of Obsession, Revenge, and Murder
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 6/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book shows you how no fiction writer can come up with a story worst than the truth. It seems hard to believe people were unaware how one man can fool so many people and just how depraved mankind can be against people they are supposed to "love".

This book shows the traits of a true sociopath and psycopath with no conscience whatsoever. It shows how one person hell-bent on living as if he does not have to follow the rules of the law or honor what most people see as a certain kind of human moral conduct most society lives by, creates a pure living hell for the people closest to him.

He thrives on taking pleasure in creating his own world and hurts anyone who gets in his way. Ann Rule shows the worst kind of person we can know exists and shows both sides of the story. She gives you his background and what perhaps drove him to become the cruel person he became and what his exwife had to live with because of his possessive revenge. It is a gripping, true story that leaves you relieved that you never knew this person and broken hearted for the family he destroyed.

It is a thorough account of the events that took place and makes you not want to put the book down.


Fallen Hearts (Casteel, Bk 3)
Fallen Hearts (Casteel, Bk 3)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 6/12/2010


This is the first time I have read this author I think. I had a hard time staying interested. I felt like I was missing something and couldn't figure out why I wasn't really enjoying it as much as I maybe should have been. I kept expecting something to happen like there was something lacking in the plot. Perhaps if I had read the book prior to this one it would have made more sense and I might have enjoyed it more. I felt it was slow getting into the plot and I was about 3/4 into it before I felt like things were finally happening and it made sense. I'm not sure if I like the way this author writes. I am used to reading books that grab me right off the bat and I can get into faster.

If you are a VC Andrews fan, perhaps you are used to her writing, since I am not, I found it rather boring and like I wanted to keep reading thinking I was going to finally get something just around the corner that would make me like it better. It was too slow for my taste. I am used to reading mysteries and thrillers and this just wasn't thrilling enough!

If you have a lot of time on your hands and you just like to read, perhaps you enjoy this. If you want action and a quick pace, this is not the book for you.


The Gift
The Gift
Author: Richard Seymour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2010


Quick read. This book is like a mini reference book in a way. It is a good book to keep around for giving away. The author speaks from the heart and gives a clear, concise message. There are many quotes from the Bible with clear understanding with a clear message. If you have questions regarding the Bible, what will happen to you after you die, or you have any friends with doubts of their faith or future, this little pamphlet is a good way to find some answers.

These are small enough and do not cost much if you find it is something you would like to give to your friends. It tells of the best gift a person can receive. This is a great tool for Sunday School teachers, parents, and anyone who could use some help in talking about eternal life.


The Gift of God
The Gift of God
Author: Richard A Seymour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


No matter what "Denomination" you claim to be as a Christian, I am sure you will be surprised by some of the verses and observations this author gives you. This is an excellent book for a new believer, someone who has thought they were a Christian but had doubts or questions regarding their belief. Someone who has never been a Christian.Or anyone who wants to better understand what it means to be "saved" or have "eternal life" or any of the buzz words that you may hear from people who claim to be a Christian. It shows you how all those who claim to be a Christian, perhaps have been fooled for years.

It is a very enlightening book, the author is a knowledgeable bible scholar, and written in a way the reader will easily understand. It is uplifting and a great way to learn how to tell other people how to be a Christian. Great book as a gift. I highly recommend this book to all. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


Juror No. 7 (Harlequin Intrigue Series)
Juror No. 7 (Harlequin Intrigue Series)
Author: Mallory Kane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/13/2010


Fast paced, easy read. Kept you wondering why the main character was not willing to reveal who he was at first. The attaction was typical. Thought it should have waited to bring in the attraction part. The characters were strong and it kept your interest about the plot throughout the storyline. Only when the story was almost over did I get the feeling who the "leak" was. Therefore, it kept the suspense up throughout the book. If someone likes Intrigue Romance, good bet you will enjoy this.


The Murderers' Club (Sophie Anderson, Bk 2)
The Murderers' Club (Sophie Anderson, Bk 2)
Author: P.D. Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 6/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I felt this was a good, fast paced, exciting book for people who enjoy a good who done it. Sophie Anderson is the kind of character you feel like you would like to emulate. She is like a sort of Aussie version of Jennifer Garner's old character in the TV show "Alias". I enjoyed reading this and makes me want to come back for more. This book doesn't talk about her karate abilities as much as "The Killing Hands" book but she is still a good sleuth and the author makes you want to be in her corner. She is a likable character.

Sophie is down to earth and like some women, finds her personal life a bit confusing when it comes to men. I believe a lot of women would find it easy to identify with her character therefore making it more believable and realistic. I think it is always more fun to read about someone I can identify with than a character that is too good to be true or lacks conflicts we all struggle with in real life.

There is a certain amount of humor making the story fun, eventhough the plot is serious. I had never heard of this author before I read another book about Sophie Anderson, "The Killing Hands" and didn't realize it was not the first one. Can't wait to read all PD Martin's books with this same character. If you like mysteries and thrillers, I think you will enjoy this.


No Good Deeds (Tess Monaghan, Bk 9)
No Good Deeds (Tess Monaghan, Bk 9)
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 7/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fast paced action who dun it. Kept up the interest throughout the story line. Never read this author before. I never saw the punch line coming. It was well thought out and kept you guessing through out. I did sometimes feel a bit frustrated by some of the actions of the characters but understood eventually why they did the things they did. Usually I can tell who did what but this story line kept you from seeing what was going on till the very end. Had a good ending. A lot of thrillers or mystery stories give away who did the dirty deed. This came out of no where. I liked the idea it was a surprise. It was humerous at times and kept up a good banter between some of the supporting characters. If other stories are similar in style by this auther, I look forward to reading more.


The White House Pantry Murder (Eleanor Roosevelt, Bk 4)
Review Date: 11/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another funny insight into the Roosevelt's private lives. Elliott Roosevelt takes real historical events and plants fictional characters where his mom, Elinor Roosevelt solves the crimes. She is a great detective. All his books are quite humerous and fun "who dun its".


Wings in the Night: Twilight Phantasies / Twilight Memories / Twilight Illusions (Wings in the Night)
Review Date: 10/11/2016


As always I enjoyed reading the stories. I still have Twilight Illusions to read yet. To be honest, as much as I enjoy all of the Wings in the Night series, I was kind of let down when I read the first two books. I was expecting something more "spectacular" in the beginning of the series to get us going, but the beginning of the series just didn't wow me as much as I thought it would. Please don't take it as if I didn't enjoy it, I did very much. But, I guess since it was so difficult for me to get these books, I had been building up in my mind how it would all have begun, and I guess since it wasn't all that different than the other stories, it seemed rather anti-climatic. I probably would have been better off, if I had read the first books "first" and then built on the rest of the series knowing what had started it all. I have read almost all of the series by now and reading the way it all began afterwards, was just a little disappointing. Not sure why. It was still well written, and true to form for characters.


1 to 15 of 15