Facebook

Terri H. (cobaltcats) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Adventurers (Australians, Vol 5)
The Adventurers (Australians, Vol 5)
Author: William Stuart Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite (keeper) series. It's about a group of convicts who are shipped to Australia as punishment for their 'crimes', to start one of the first penal colonies, and how they cope. If you love historical fiction, I would highly recommend this series.


Breaking Away
Breaking Away
Author: Joseph Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/21/2007


didn't read it - it was made into a movie.


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 3/31/2007


been a while since I read it, but I enjoyed it.


The Cross of Frankenstein
The Cross of Frankenstein
Author: Robert J. Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/29/2007


Interesting. Didn't finish cause one of my long awaited books arrived.


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 1020
Review Date: 2/8/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is book two of a six (so far book series). Great story. Not a story with back and forth time travel every chapter.


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 680
Review Date: 5/13/2007


ditto Outlander


An Eye for an Eye: The Doll (Blackstone Chronicles, Bk 1)
An Eye for an Eye: The Doll (Blackstone Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 10/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The whole series kept you on your toes, wondering who the mystery person was, and why they were leaving "gifts" to specific town residents.


Fox Evil
Fox Evil
Author: Minette Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not into this type of book, but I couldn't put it down. And the ending surprised me.


Free Health Care, Free Medical Information and Free Prescription Drugs
Review Date: 7/27/2006


outdated


Free Legal Help
Free Legal Help
Author: Matthew Lesko, Andrew Naprawa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/27/2006


outdated


GLASSWARE 3RD ED (Official Price Guide to Glassware)
Review Date: 7/27/2006


was not helpful to my collection


The Gods of Newport
The Gods of Newport
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/19/2007


I usually like John Jakes, but I just couldn't get into this book.


Gone With the Wind
Gone With the Wind
Author: Margaret Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


It's Gone With the Wind...what else can I say??? I loved it when I read it.


Hawaii
Hawaii
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 3/31/2007


been a while since I read it, but I enjoyed it.


The Hellions
The Hellions
Author: George McNeill
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Vol 3 of the Plantation Series


If There Be Thorns (Dollanganger, Bk 3)
If There Be Thorns (Dollanganger, Bk 3)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/9/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Although it has been some time since I read this series, I remember I couldn't put it down. It keeps you going. My mother even got hooked - she has collected every book by V. C. Andrews, and is waiting for more!


Morgan's Run
Morgan's Run
Author: Colleen McCullough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book - to the extent that I hope there is a sequel planned. My maternal grandmother's maiden name was Morgan, from Wales, so besides my interest in the story, it got me wondering...how do you do a family tree?


Our Three Selves: The Life of Radclyffe Hall
Review Date: 4/4/2007


In 1928, the novel "The Well of Loneliness" was banned as "obscene", and the British courts ordered all copies destroyed. The book, which traces the life and loves of a lesbian writer, has been a best seller ever since. On the face of it, the author, a woman named Radclyffe Hall and known to her friends as John, was a most improbable target for judicial prosecution. Wealthy, middle-aged, a devout Catholic, a loyal Conservative and a passionate animal lover, she was a staunch upholder of the patriarchal values of hearth and home. What few people knew was the the dedicion, "To Our Three Selves", in "Adam's Breed" and in all of Radclyfee Hall['s subsequent works, referred to the late Mrs. Mabel Batten, John's first great love; to Lady Una Troubridge, the admiral's wife who was John's lover and companion for almost three decades; and to Radclyffe Hall herself. Radclyffe Hall saw herself as a man trapped in a woman's body, and dressed in a flamboyantly masculine stype all her own. Devoted to the memory of a father whom she hardly knew, and bullied by an insensitive mother, she grew up lonely and insecure. Though she found happiness, first with Mrs. Batten and then with Lady Una, the unresolved conflicts in her character drove her to acts of infidelity against both, causing pain and anguish on all sides.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1589
Review Date: 2/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is book one of a six (so far) book series. I don't usually like time travel stories, but I loved this one! It's in my "read again" pile.


The Plantation
The Plantation
Author: George McNeill
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Story of the clash between slavery in which the clan of the story treats his slaves much better than other plantation owners, and the anti-slavery beliefs of the (future) husband of the daughter of the clan. He also happens to be an abolitionist working with the Underground Railroad, tho she doesn't know of this til later.
Vol. 1 of 3


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: