Naomi J. (nomi) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Babylon Rising (Babylon Rising, Bk 1)
Babylon Rising (Babylon Rising, Bk 1)
Author: Tim LaHaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/14/2006


first in a series by the author of "left behind" series. exciting and engrossing story of adventure.


The BFG
The BFG
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 12/8/2006


A lovely story about a little girl who is captured by a benevolent giant.


Black and Blue
Black and Blue
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 666
Review Date: 1/19/2006


This is about one woman's courage in the face of an abusive marriage.


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/26/2006


A moving story of the breakdown and rebuilding of a family following the husband's disappearance and wife's illness.


Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman (Captain Underpants, Bk 5)
Review Date: 12/8/2006


very funny, grade school kids will love this book. this is about a giant robot "wedgie woman" whose mission is to take over the world.


A Cup of Tea
A Cup of Tea
Author: Amy Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/14/2006


This is a book about how circumstances in one's life can change by making one little decision. A good story with interesting twists.


The Deep End of the Ocean
The Deep End of the Ocean
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 12/26/2006


This is a moving story of one family who loses a son and the nightmare they go through, the changes it brings to their lives. It is a story of love, pain, hope.


A Different Woman
A Different Woman
Author: Jane Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/16/2013


I read this book back in the 80's and loved it. I ordered it because I wanted to have a copy to keep and reread. I loved Jane Howard's writing style, the women she visited and interviewed, and her overall sense that women are fascinating. I highly recommend this book.


The End Of Summer
The End Of Summer
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/25/2006


Classic Pilcher, with great characters and magical scenery.


Free Food for Millionaires
Free Food for Millionaires
Author: Min Jin Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/7/2009
Helpful Score: 5


What a great book! I couldn't put it down, and I look forward to this author's next book (this was her first). The protagonist, Casey, is the daughter of Korean immigrants, and after graduation from Princeton she finds her self without a clear plan for her future. She leaves home due to conflicts with her father, and struggles throughout the book with family issues, money, career, love, and friends. The book offers a good view of the Korean American community, as well. I just lent it to a friend, but will post it if I get it back.


Heart Full of Lies: A True Story of Desire and Death
Heart Full of Lies: A True Story of Desire and Death
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 1/27/2006


All of Ann Rules books are well researched accounts of true crimes, usually murders. She gives us insight into the criminal mind. Ann Rule is "America's best true crime writer". I have thoroughly enjoyed all of her books.


Killing Time
Killing Time
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 1/27/2006


The year is 2023. This is about a band of technoterrorists and one man who gets caught up with them. Fast moving, implausible, gives you something to think about.


The Lake of Dead Languages
The Lake of Dead Languages
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 11/25/2006


A terrific story, beautifully written. The story of past and present tragedy and mystery at a girls' school in the Adirondacks.


The Loop
The Loop
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 7/1/2006


A biologist comes to Montana to save wolves, and becomes the center of controversy in a small community by loving the wrong man, by defying the wrong man.


One True Thing
One True Thing
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 1/19/2006


A story about a family dealing with terminal illness.


People of the Book
People of the Book
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 8/7/2011


I found that I could not put this book down. It documents the journey of the Sarajevo Haggadah from its writing in the 1400's in Spain to its restoration in modern times in 1996. Learning history through the journey of a book certainly makes it alot more alive and interesting. I would recommend this book for anyone interested in history and certainly for any Jewish reader.


Picture Perfect
Picture Perfect
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 760
Review Date: 12/12/2011


This is not one of her better books but still the story is interesting even if the characters are a little predictable.


Protein Power: The High-Protein/Low Carbohydrate Way to Lose Weight, Feel Fit, and Boost Your Health-in Just Weeks!
Review Date: 11/25/2006


This is a complete guide to weight loss and improved health by following a high protein low carbohydrate diet. It includes recipes and menus.


The Shell Seekers
The Shell Seekers
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 1/19/2006


One of Rosamund Pilcher's best books, it is about a family over 3 generations.


Shutter Island
Shutter Island
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Its twists and turns will have you questioning all the assumptions you made at the beginning of the story.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: