Facebook

Liz F. (AlamoLiz) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 93 - Page:
101 Uses for a Lab
101 Uses for a Lab
Author: Dale C. Spartas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/17/2008


Great full-color photos, and amusing, insightful commentary on how this breed of dog enriches our lives.


35 Best Books for Teaching U.S. Regions
35 Best Books for Teaching U.S. Regions
Author: Toni Buzzeo, Jane Kurtz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2009


This is an excellent book for teachers and librarians to use. I highly recommend this title and this author.


38 Uses for a Husband
38 Uses for a Husband
Author: Harriet Ziefert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/17/2008


Funny and endearing, this is a humorous look at the tasks that our other halves have taken on for us.


Alice In Wonderland
Alice In Wonderland
Author: Lewis Carroll, John Tenniel (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/13/2007


One normal summer day, Alice is sitting on the riverbank when a big, white, talking rabbit runs past. He pops into a big rabbit hole, and Alice follows him down, down, down into a strange and magical land. Alice has many exciting adventures in this extraordinary place called Wonderland. Here, anything can happen: All the animals talk, a deck of cards comes to life, and everything gets curiouser and curiouser. What other odd things are in store for Alice in Wonderland?


Animal Antics: A to Z
Animal Antics: A to Z
Author: Anita Lobel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/26/2009


Cute, colorful, and non-controversial selections for a fun animal alphabet book. Oversized, so it will be a great book to read aloud to a group. I plan on letting my kinders classes tell me what they think the words are, based on context of the pictures, to help build their inferencing skills and vocabulary.


The Automobile (Cambridge Topic Book)
The Automobile (Cambridge Topic Book)
Author: Arthur N. Evans
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/26/2007


Illustrated with photographs, drawings, and charts, this book traces the history of the automobile, from the days of early experimenters, such as Nicholas Cugnot, through today, and discusses the role of the automobile in today's economy


Aztec Times (If You Were There)
Aztec Times (If You Were There)
Author: Antony Mason
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a thorough description of this tribe. It also includes graphic descriptions of their sacrifices. Perhaps not best for sensitive or young children.


Ballerina!
Ballerina!
Author: Peter Sis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/30/2009


It's pink, it's about ballerinas, and it fits in a little girl's hands well. As a children's librarian in an elementary school, I can tell you that for a 4 - 5 year old girl, the only things possibly better would be something with Barbie or princesses and kittens. Maybe purple.


The Black Pearl
The Black Pearl
Author: Scott O'Dell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/10/2007


Newbery Honor Award book.


The Black Stallion (Black Stallion, Bk 1)
The Black Stallion (Black Stallion, Bk 1)
Author: Walter Farley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/17/2009


This is a wonderful version of a classic chidlren's story.


The Boy Who Wasn't There: A Mystery
The Boy Who Wasn't There: A Mystery
Author: Hans Wilhelm
Book Type: School & Library Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/28/2008


This is a picture book about a paranormal experience. Not particularly spooky.


Breaking Stalin's Nose
Breaking Stalin's Nose
Author: Eugene Yelchin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/22/2012
Helpful Score: 4


As I started to read this book to see if I wanted to include it in our elementary library's collection, I did not expect to get caught up in its story. But I did! I read the book in one sitting, and I decided that this was a significant enough book that I would read it aloud to our 8 classes of 4th and 5th graders, whom had just read about Joseph Stalin during their history classes.

After reading chapters 1 - 5 aloud to the first group, I asked what they though about the story so far. One boy said, "I want to break THOSE guys' noses for taking the dad!" A girl immediately responded, "My heart is racing around in my chest!" Other groups of students have responded similarly. We have not completed the read-aloud yet, but I think this story will speak to these children long after history review questions have been written and graded --- and tossed or lost.


Caddie Woodlawn
Caddie Woodlawn
Author: Carol Ryrie Brink
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 6/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was my favorite book in fourth grade. I remember the teacher reading it aloud to us after lunch. Caddie is one of the spunkiest, bravest redheaded girls in literature---more than even Pippi or Anne of Green Gables. I highly recommend Caddie Woodlawn.


Caps for Sale: A Tale of a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business
Review Date: 9/23/2006


A wonderful book with old-world charm. I remember seeing this book for the first time over 45 years ago on Captain Kangaroo, and I still have fun sharing it with my library full of elementary school children.


Career Ideas for Kids Who Like Sports (Career Ideas for Kids)
Review Date: 7/25/2006


What do you want to be when you grow up? At the age of 10, 11, 12, or 13 could you possibly know exactly what career you will choose as an adult? Of course not! But these are the perfect ages for you to start discovering who you are, what you like to do, and what you can do best. The Career Ideas for Kids series takes advantage of this curiosity and shows you the many, diverse opportunities available to you. Highly motivational & just plain fun, each lighthearted volume is filled with delightful text and playful illustrations to engage you.


Cats: Those Wonderful Creatures (Miniature Book Collection)
Cats: Those Wonderful Creatures (Miniature Book Collection)
Author: Lisa Rojany
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/28/2008


This miniature book is a cute gift book for a cat lover.


Chocolate: the consuming passion
Chocolate: the consuming passion
Author: Boynton, Sandra
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/11/2007


If you enjoy Sandra Boynton's cartoon artwork, you'll love this book! If you are a choco-holic, you'll love this book, if there is a candy bar close by.


Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio
Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio
Author: Amara Lakhous
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/19/2009


Interesting book. One review said it was like reading a Fellini movie, and I would agree. Each chapter is told in first person by a different resident of the building, and each one's reflection on a murder victiom (no one liked him), and the suspected murderer (no one can believe it). I have not yet finished the book, but look forward to grabbing those last 30 minutes this weekend.


DK Readers: Fire Fighters (Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone)
DK Readers: Fire Fighters (Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone)
Author: Angela Royston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/24/2006


I already have a copy of this book---very good for discussions on community helpers.


Dog Train
Dog Train
Author: Sandra Boynton
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Song titles are enough to bring a smile to your face: "I need a nap;" "the Boring song"; "(Don't give me tha) Broccoli."


1 to 20 of 93 - Page: