Marcia B. (mbrown) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Call Me Anna : The Autobiography of Patty Duke
Call Me Anna : The Autobiography of Patty Duke
Author: Patty Duke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/24/2016


This was an interesting and honest book and i enjoyed learning more about Patty Duke's personal life. I found her personality and attitude very typical of "Hollywood" but still a good read if you want to know more about her, especially how she got into show business and her childhood.


Dana's Valley
Dana's Valley
Author: Janette Oke, Laurel Oke Logan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/4/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a very well written, very touching book. It made me cry more than I have with a book in a long time.


Genie: a Scientific Tragedy
Genie: a Scientific Tragedy
Author: Russ Rymer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/27/2018


Well written account of "Genie", including what little is known of her life after the experiments on her. Russ Rymer researched her parents life as well and i found that very interesting although not enough to satisfy my desire to know more about this poor woman.


In the Still of the Night: The Strange Death of Ronda Reynolds
In the Still of the Night: The Strange Death of Ronda Reynolds
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This book like all of Ann Rule's books was good. However, it was not one of my favorites. It seemed a little repetitive in some parts. The end was disappointing too but (without giving it away) hopefully that might change someday.


Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie
Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie
Author: Laurel Oke Logan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/23/2010


I really enjoyed reading about Janette Oke's family and her growing up years. This book really goes into the genealogy of her family, so if you're into that, you will really love reading it. Regardless, the book is well-written and kept me interested throughout. Laurel Oke Logan shares some very touching and even tragicly sad moments in their families' lives. If you've read Janette Oke's books for years, you should read this book.


Just Like Us: The True Story of Four Mexican Girls Coming of Age in America
Review Date: 7/3/2018


This is a very good, well written and touching book. It was very eye-opening for me as far as the difficulties of illegal immigrant kids living in the US. It made me feel angry, sad, proud, made me laugh and cry.


MURDER APPALACHN
MURDER APPALACHN
Author: Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/29/2016


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Author Jess Carr did some great research on the people involved in this tragedy as well as the Appalachian Trail. He describes the trail and gives really good insight to the world of hikers who take it on each year. I couldn't wait to get back to the book every time i had to put it down. Incredible true story.


Not Lost Forever: My Story of Survival
Not Lost Forever: My Story of Survival
Author: Carmina Salcido, Steve Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/10/2017
Helpful Score: 1


This book really touched my heart. Carmina is a strong, courageous woman to share her story of such unbelievable horror. I had a hard time putting the book down. I enjoyed the way the book went back and forth from the past to the present but in a flowing narrative, not confusing the reader. Although it was painful to read about Carmina's suffering and the agony she went through, I could sense the strength and hope in her writing. I highly recommend this book but you will cry for sure.


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1235
Review Date: 12/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book when I first started reading it. I couldn't wait to get back to it and read more about this southern farming family during the Korean war. It is written The story is told through a 7 year old boy's persepctive and it is funny, sweet, frightening, charming and sad. After a few chapters though it got really, really violent and graphic and I became a little repelled by it. I myself don't care for violence, blood, gore or any of that stuff but it may not bother most people. I don't normally read Grisham for that reason but since this book is a totally different type than his usual stories, I decided to try it. And I truly did enjoy it, kept my attention to the end.


1 to 9 of 9