Shelley C. (scollins) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/3/2012


Not sure what I expected from this book. It was just ok...


As Shadows Fade (Gardella Vampire Chronicles, Bk 5)
As Shadows Fade (Gardella Vampire Chronicles, Bk 5)
Author: Colleen Gleason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/3/2012


This was a good story but didn't seem to hold my attention like the others.


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 671
Review Date: 5/21/2011


Great book - looking forward to the rest of the series.


Black Magic Sanction [The Hollows, Bk 8]
Black Magic Sanction [The Hollows, Bk 8]
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 3/18/2011


My favorite so far in the series! Full of drama and fast moving.


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 505
Review Date: 4/8/2011


Beginning a new series with a new author is always a gamble, the MacKaylaa Lane series is worth the risk! I was pulled into the story from book one!

Book two continues to draw you into MacKaylaa world or intrigue and mysterious men. Dangerous secrets await...


Born of Night (aka Born of the Night) (League, Bk 1)
Born of Night (aka Born of the Night) (League, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 9/16/2012


Great story - The book was 533 pages and I sailed through it. Held my attention, I laughed, cried, cringed and related to the characters.

This is the story of Nykyrian who is a lost soul, assassin who has shut down his emotions in order to survive a life filled with pain, rejection, distrust, discrimination, hate, and regret. He has resigned to the fact that he will be alone the rest of his life and is ok with that. The problem is a certain dancer who has grabbed his attention with her dancing...


Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 6/12/2012


A big fan of J.R. Ward and the Brotherhood series. Looked forward to the new series and was not let down. Book one did take a while to get the story started and bounced back and forth between characters which I always find a bit annoying as I have to flip back to previously read pages to put pieces together. Once the story uncovered it was a story of loss, revenge, betrayal and love. An interesting twist on the fallen angels and I look forward to the next in the series.


Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 6/22/2012


The second book in the series the story is beginning to pick up and the characters are becoming more familiar. The age old story of Heaven vs. Hell with Wards twist. Love the fallen angels storyline and of course the four on the green.


The Dark Highlander (Highlander, Bk 5)
The Dark Highlander (Highlander, Bk 5)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 5/7/2011


Dageus MacKeltar the sensual, wickedly dark highlander is irresistible. Delicious...couldn't put it down!


The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 9)
The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 9)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 7/8/2012


This was my favorite book of the series so far. I love the story of Gideon and Scarlet.
This book made my heart ache, sing and made me giggle and at times laugh out loud. I love the Gideon speak and the scene with Cronus and Gid watching the sporting event was hilarious!
Looking forward to the next book.


The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 7/18/2012


As much as I love this series this was not my favorite book. I really like the character AMUN but the story was drawn out and never really went anywhere. The book could have been written with 100 pages less and it would have still been the same story without the fluff.


The Darkest Whisper (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 4)
The Darkest Whisper (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 4)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 506
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Great story of Sabin and Gwen. The people associated with Sabin and Gwen are each others enemy. The relationship is tested time and again. The ultimate test is for Sabin and Gwen in the last chapter of the book. This definitely sets the storyline for future books in the series.


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 723
Review Date: 4/8/2011


Beginning a new series with a new author is always a gamble, the MacKaylaa Lane series is worth the risk! I was pulled into the story from book one!


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 363
Review Date: 11/26/2009


Love, Love, Loved this book and to hear it is being made into a film - Nicholas Sparks is an amazing story-teller of the heart.


Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, Bk 10)
Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, Bk 10)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 4/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The story of Malkom and Carrow is one of my favorites. The vemon and a witch - opposites do attract. Malkom is in such a dark place both physically and figuratively when Carrow finds him, it doesn't seem possible for him show emotions such as love and tenderness. I adored the innocence Malkom possessed and his need to be accepted by Carrow. Malkom is my favorite character thus far.


Desire Unchained (Demonica, Bk 2)
Desire Unchained (Demonica, Bk 2)
Author: Larissa Ione
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 8/6/2011


I agree with the other reviewers this is a darker side to Shade and his sexual fetishes. That being said - I LOVED IT! I literally couldn't put this one down - forget the weekend chores I read this on a Saturday afternoon cover to cover!

Shade the tortured bad boy and Runa found more than she went looking for.

Runa is someone we can all relate to, having been rejected in a relationship. Life experiences make her stronger and she returns a year later to meet Shade in an dark dungeon.

Shade has a sexual appetite that can't be suppressed by the standard vanilla he has to take it to the extreme - pain and misery for his partners only. No emotional contact and he is always the one in control until he meets Runa in the Dungeon...


A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 4/26/2012


Great book! Picked this one up as a book club read. Hadn't heard much about the storyline so it was nice to see it unfold. The book does leave you hanging in anticipation for the second book of the Trilogy "Shadow of the Night" due to release this summer. I am looking forward to it.


Dreamfever (Fever, Bk 4)
Dreamfever (Fever, Bk 4)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 4/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Beginning a new series with a new author is always a gamble, the MacKaylaa Lane series is worth the risk! I was pulled into the story from book one!

Book four is my favorite of the series so far! The ending oh!!! KMM your killing me... Thankfully I waited to read the series until now and the Fifth and final book has been released. I am on my way to the bookstore to purchase it now!!

Dreamfever was a rollercoaster!!


Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark, Bk 11)
Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark, Bk 11)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 4/18/2011


I liked the story of Regin and Declan but wasn't my favorite. It jumped around a bit trying to give bits of history, some weren't relevant to the story. Still a good read and entertaining as always.


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 5/20/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Amazing twists and turns in the storyline - keeps me engaged. The books in this series are large 900+ pages but they draw you in and before you know it you have completed one and can't wait to crack the next one. 20 years since Jaime and Claire married and their love is stronger than ever.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: