Amanda F. (Scooby2) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 97 - Page:
The 10th Kingdom: Do You Believe in Magic?
The 10th Kingdom: Do You Believe in Magic?
Author: Kathryn Wesley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 12/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have to say I love this book and the movie as well. It is one of my favorite books about romance, magic, the unexpected, etc. It has everything in it from wolves, evil stepmothers, trolls, goblins, magic, etc. It is definitely a book I would recommend to others. I wish there had been a sequel to continue the story.


13 1/2
13 1/2
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this book was great. It was a great stand alone book for Nevada Barr to write. It will keep you guessing up until the end and then leave you wondering how could someone be so cruel and evil. I would definitely recommend this book to others to read, even those who couldn't get into Anna Pigeon.


The Apothecary's Daughter
The Apothecary's Daughter
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 2/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first book by Julie Klassen and all I can say is Wow! I enjoyed reading this book so much, that I read it in one day. It kept my attention and kept me wondering who Lilly would end up with. Jule Klassen did a wonderful job of describing everything. This will definitely not be my last book by Klassen. I would definitely recommend this book to others.


Bad Moon Rising
Bad Moon Rising
Author: Jonathan Maberry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


All I can say is WOW. This was a great book and a great way to end the series. This was fast paced and well written, I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for another series by Maberry.


Black Hills Blessing: Buffalo Gal / Clueless Cowboy / The Bossy Bridegroom (Romancing America: South Dakota)
Review Date: 3/26/2010


This was a great three in one by Mary Connealy. She is a great writer and knows how to keep your interest. I read it in one sitting.


The Blackstone Chronicles
The Blackstone Chronicles
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 3/14/2010


This was a great book by John Saul. I loved how all of the stories were connected. It was creepy and fascinating at the same time.


Blood Duty
Blood Duty
Author: J. R. Tomlin, C. R. Daems
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/11/2011


I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story. There was adventure, magic, sword fighting and romance all in one. The story was well written and flowed nicely. I couldn't stop reading it. I wanted the story to continue further. I would definitely recommend to others to read the story of Tamra and Jessup.


Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Bk 4)
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Bk 4)
Author: Richelle Mead
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 1/15/2010


I thought that this book went nowhere with the story line. Although it was nice to get a history on Dmitri's live before he was "turned". It wasn't my favorite, but am waiting to read the next one to see where the story's going.


Blood Tide
Blood Tide
Author: Tess Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/11/2011


This was my first story by Tess Oliver and it will definitely not be the last. I loved this story from start to finish. I didn't want it to end. There is romance, adventure, murder, and vampires, what more could one ask for. I loved how the vampires weren't like the ones displayed in Twilight. I found myself rooting for Trixie and Beck, along with Mami and David. This story was well written and flowed nicely. It will not disappoint. I hope Ms Oliver revisits the town of Blackpool Cove and continues Beck and Trixie's story.


Breathe: A Novel of Colorado (Homeward, Bk 1)
Breathe: A Novel of Colorado (Homeward, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa T. Bergren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/3/2010


This was a really great book. I read it in one sitting, even though I had other things to do. I found the characters to be great and Lisa Bergren was great with the details and history from the 1800s. I can't wait for the next one to come out, "Sing" (4/1/10), this book left you wanting more from the characters. I would definitely recommend this book to others to read.


The Bridge of Peace (Ada's House, Bk 2)
The Bridge of Peace (Ada's House, Bk 2)
Author: Cindy Woodsmall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second book in the Ada's House series and is an excellent read. I enjoyed reading this book as much as the first one. I thought this was a sweet story about a young woman who has a scar on her face and doesn't believe she'll find love, along with teaching an older student in her class. I loved how the characters are connected and brought back from the first story. I would definitely recommend to others to read.


The Brushstroke Legacy
The Brushstroke Legacy
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/14/2010


I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a great read and couldn't put it down. Would definitely recommend this to others. Even those who haven't been able to get into her other books, give this one a try, it will be worth it.


Cajun Hearts: Dreams Come True in the Bayous
Cajun Hearts: Dreams Come True in the Bayous
Author: Kathleen Y'Barbo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/18/2009


This was a quick read about Latagnier, Louisiana. It includes: The Dwelling Place, Wedded Bliss and Building Dreams. All three of the stories were connected, which I enjoyed and gave a little background to Latagnier. These stories followed the others Kathleen Y'Barbo has written about Latagnier. I enjoy reading stories about Louisiana.


Chameleon: Book Two in the Ripple Series (Volume 2)
Chameleon: Book Two in the Ripple Series (Volume 2)
Author: Cidney Swanson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/1/2011


This sequel does not disappoint, if you haven't read Rippler, I highly recommend it. It picks right up from where we left Samantha and Will in Rippler. I loved how all the characters were brought back and more was explained about the rippler effect. I enjoyed reading about Sam's evolving ripple effect. I also enjoyed reading about their visit in Paris and meeting Uncle Sir Walter. There's plenty of action, mystery and a touch of romance to keep the reader's interest. I can't wait to read the third installment.


Chime
Chime
Author: Franny Billingsley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/22/2011


I really wanted to like this story, but was unable to get into it after quite a few chapters. I liked the concept of the story, but unfortunately it didn't pull me in.


The Christmas Singing (Apple Ridge, Bk 2)
The Christmas Singing (Apple Ridge, Bk 2)
Author: Cindy Woodsmall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this story was incredibly sweet and left the reader wanting to read more about the characters. The story was about finding courage to forgive someone for a past mistake and find love. This is a great quick read set around the holidays in two Amish towns. This story will not disappoint. I am hoping for another story on Mattie and where the next chapter of her life leads. I definitely recommend to others to read.


City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/28/2009


I enjoyed reading this book. This book does an excellent job of joining demons, Shadowhunters, werewolves, vampires, etc together. This is a book that will appeal to both young adults and adults alike. Cassandra Clare is an excellent author and I look forward to reading the sequels to this book. And anything else she writes. You won't be disappointed with this book.


Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type
Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/14/2010


This was a great book for kids of all ages. I enjoyed reading this one to my students and nephew.


Cowboy Christmas (Wild West Weddings, Bk 1)
Cowboy Christmas (Wild West Weddings, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 12/27/2009


I enjoy reading anything by Mary Connealy and this book doesn't disappoint. It has everything in it that one comes to expect from Mary. I will definitely be recommending this book to family and friends. I look forward to reading her next story.


Curiosity, with a Capital S
Curiosity, with a Capital S
Author: Tonya Trimble
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2012


I am so glad I received this from Library Thing to review. I thought it was a great story about a brother and sister who were inseparable during WW II. Stan, being the one with more curiosity always seemed to get in trouble but it always worked out for him in the end. Each chapter was a journal entry/story, and at the end there was always a lesson to be learned. I think this story would be great for children around 8-10 years old. This story was well written, from the view point of a child, and how they perceived the changes from WW II her family experienced. I really liked reading how the family was always there for each other and listened to one another. I would be interested in reading a story about Tracy next, since she's carrying on the tradition of being curious. Give this book a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.


1 to 20 of 97 - Page: