Joan L. (silverlakelady) - , - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1003
Review Date: 4/15/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was one of the most heart-warming books I have read in long time! Your heart goes out to Enzo. What a great dog!
I think any animal lover will totally enjoy this book. Even if you are ambivalent about animals, you will have a hard time resisting Enzo. This story teaches so much about life and love.


Bangkok 8 (Sonchai Jitpleecheep, Bk 1)
Bangkok 8 (Sonchai Jitpleecheep, Bk 1)
Author: John Burdett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 9/14/2010


Fascinating look at a culture I have never known much about. Enjoyed the book immensely and have read book #2 and recently swapped for #3. Really got into Sonchai and his Buddhist outlook. What a gentle soul! It was amazing how he compartmentalized his life. As much as I am enjoying the books, I do not want to go to Bangkok!


Close Relations
Close Relations
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/14/2010


Usually I totally enjoy Susan Isaacs, but I had a hard time getting into this one. I think the reason for that was, it was about politics. It finally grabbed me around the 100 page mark. In the end, I did come to like it. I just love her Jewish mothers!


Dances With Wolves
Dances With Wolves
Author: Micahel Blake
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/14/2010


This book (and the movie!) is definitely one of my all time favorites. It reminds me of Larry McMurtry's Lonesome Dove. If you have seen the movie, the book is even better.


Eragon (Inheritance, Bk 1)
Eragon (Inheritance, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Paolini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 1/13/2011


Totally disagree with Darcie C. and her put down of this book. Have read all 3 books in the series and want more. Found the whole world that Paolini created as thoroughly engrossing. I don't think she is a real fan of the fantasy world. I find it easy to suspend belief in the natural world.


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 1/27/2011


This book starts out a little odd but you get caught up in it. I was a little leery of reading it since I did not like The Time Travelers Wife. The story is so intriguing because of the twin aspect. The characters are very charming, not to mention quirky! My book club wished that the ending had been different, but I found it to be quite apt.


A Long, Long Time Ago and Essentially True
A Long, Long Time Ago and Essentially True
Author: Brigid Pasulka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was suggested by a member of our bookclub who is Polish. She became interested in this book because it takes place in Poland. What a find! Two stories were woven together beautifully. The first story seemed like a fairy tale while the second was in real time. The author melded the stories so that the real story was revealed. Our bookclub enjoyed this book very much!


The Memorist (Reincarnationist, Bk 2)
The Memorist (Reincarnationist, Bk 2)
Author: M. J. Rose
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/14/2010


This is the second in a series. The premise is really interesting to me as it is about previous life memories and reincarnation. This book really grabbed me and took me along on the voyage. It intrigued me to the point that I read the first book, The Reincarnationist. That book, while interesting, was not as good as the second. I am looking forward to the third book, the Hypnotist.


Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Author: Rhoda Janzen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/27/2011
Helpful Score: 5


Was excited to read this one. However, it was a great disappointment. Janzen is not as funny as she thinks she is. She certainly enjoys flaunting her academic background. This book reminds me a lot of Eat. Pray, Love. She and Ms Gilbert have a lot in common. The book jumped around so much it was a little hard to follow. The ending was so abrupt I had to look at it twice. My opinion is don't waste your time.


Murder Most Medieval : Noble Tales of Ignoble Demises (Murder Most, No 6)
Review Date: 12/2/2010


I don't like short stories, as a rule, but this book was great! I've always loved medieval stories and these were right on the money. I'm looking forward to reading more books in this series. I liked the fact that you could read a story in one sitting. (I like to read full chapters before putting the book down. A little OCD, maybe?)


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 1/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This has to be the most sensual book I have ever read. My book club recently read this book and all the members felt the same way. It is not overtly sexual at all. Amazing that a man wrote this! Your heart goes out to the characters and their incredible lives. You can read this in 2 days because you can't put it down.


Talk Before Sleep
Talk Before Sleep
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 12/2/2010


The subject matter of this book is heartwrenching. It's the story of a woman who is dying from cancer. I usually am a big cry baby but this book is so lovingly written that I only cried at the very end. These women seemed so real and likable. I would recommend this book to anyone who might be going through a difficult time with a cancer patient. What a way to go!


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 1/27/2011


The Twilight series is just too much teenage angst for me. I find the Sookie Stackhouse series to be much more interesting, not to mention amusing also.


Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 570
Review Date: 3/7/2012


I found this book to be fascinating! I did not know the history of LDS and it gave you the whole story. It was written as one chapter of history and one chapter of the murder story, back and forth for the length of the book. (Had a daughter who was moving to Utah and insisted she read it before she went. It was also recommended to her by one of the persons that interviewed her. It's a real strange state and she has since moved on. Not a place for a single non-Morman female.) All of Krakauer's books are written in a very journalistic style and not as a story, per se.


1 to 14 of 14