Facebook

Judy B. (jdyinva) - , - Reviews

41 to 60 of 409 - Page:
The Black Box (Harry Bosch, Bk 18)
The Black Box (Harry Bosch, Bk 18)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/8/2013


A little slower than some Connelly books but I liked it nonetheless. Harry Bosch reveals the patience and methodology needed to solve a "cold case" and it was fascinating to read about. Harry's interaction with a rather nasty superior as well as with his teenage daughter were asides that gave the slow-paced novel extra interest. If you're patient, you should really enjoy the book.


Black Ice
Black Ice
Author: Matt Dickinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Burned out of their station, six desperate souls head out onto the ice for a three hundred mile trek in Antarctica's frozen winter to find rescue. In addition to the freezing cold, no food or medical supplies, the small group is running from a madman determine to prevent them from reaching their goal. One of the best books I've read in a while. Well written, exciting, a cliff-hanger. Please read!


Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1501
Review Date: 4/14/2007


Nora Roberts at her best. Good book.


Blindside (FBI Thriller)
Blindside (FBI Thriller)
Author: Catherine Coulter, Sandra Burr
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/14/2008


Fast paced, involving mystery typical of Coulter. I really enjoyed this audio book and recommend it.


Blindsided (Jane Candiotti, Bk 2)
Blindsided (Jane Candiotti, Bk 2)
Author: Clyde Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/17/2008


A hard-to-put-down very exciting mystery with great characters. You will enjoy!


Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1420
Review Date: 10/8/2011


A terrific book about huge forest fires and the brave men and women who battle them. A love interest (a very hot one) and a rash of murders to solve make this a tale that will hold your interest throughout. Great story.


Blood is the Sky (Alex McKnight, Bk 5)
Blood is the Sky (Alex McKnight, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 12/13/2009


What can I say? I'm in love with Alex McKnight. All three books that I've read by Steve Hamilton have been terrific. My husband groans when another arrives in the mail as he knows dinner will be soup or sandwiches and the bed is likely unmade. I cannot put them down; have three more on order. Said enough? Just give one a try but better be warmly dressed as those Michigan winters will chill you right through the book. Fabulous!


Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 3/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The thought of facing a huge grizzly bear frighten you? Add to that a murder mystery and a great cast of characters and you'll understand why this book is a winner. Nevada Barr is great and so is this book!


Blowout  (FBI Thriller, Bk 9) (Large Print)
Blowout (FBI Thriller, Bk 9) (Large Print)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/4/2009


Sherlock and Savich are back again solving two mysteries at once - a murder that occured 30 years ago and the garroting of a Justice of the Supreme Court. Joined by a yummy local cop, Ben Raven, and the daughter of the murdered Justice (romance afoot), the two FBI agents wrap up an exciting adventure in crime solving. Very good book typical of all of Coulter's. Great read!


Blue Smoke and Murder (St. Kilda Consulting, Bk 4)
Blue Smoke and Murder (St. Kilda Consulting, Bk 4)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/23/2010


I thought the book was excellent - a little romance, an involving mystery and a good bit of knowledge about the art world. I liked the characters a lot, especially Jill as a strong, stand-on-your own-woman. The bad guys were really bad; the good guys wise and wonderful. The story moved along nicely. Again, a very good book that you will enjoy.


The Blue Zone
The Blue Zone
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 9/19/2007


A really "can't put it down" thriller. I enjoyed the characters, the plot, the ending. Highly recommend you give this one a try.


The Bodies Left Behind (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent audio book but very long (12 hours)! Gripping tale of survival against the odds. Two women - one witness to a double murder and the other a deputy sheriff sent to investigate a hastily sent 9-1-1 call - flee into a wilderness area to avoid and outwit two hired killers. Well plotted with lots of twists that keep you on the edge. A winner!


A Body to Die For (Bailey Weggins, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/27/2013


Very enjoyable. Will look for more of White's books.


The Book of Names
The Book of Names
Author: Jill Gregory, Karen Tintori
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/22/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful story that moves along at a break-neck pace. Reminiscent of "Davinci Code." Characters well developed. Recommended for a really good read.


Borderline (Anna Pigeon, Bk 15)
Borderline (Anna Pigeon, Bk 15)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/22/2010


Fabulous story - I enjoyed every page. The Anna Pigeon series is always good and this one was just as satisfying.


Borderline (Anna Pigeon, Bk 15)
Borderline (Anna Pigeon, Bk 15)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 6/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Despite some of the negative reviews, I tried this book and am so glad I did. I found the characters fascinating and memorable, particularly Anna Pigeon whose personna is fleshed-out more and more with every Nevada Barr book. She, who has been so tough and strong in previous novels, is here vulnerable and fearful - yet still manages to solve the mystery of murders in yet another national park. I love the character of Paul, her husband. Wish I knew him in reality. What a lovely book. I recommend it wholeheartedly.


Both Ends of the Night (Sharon McCone, Bk 18) (Abridged) (Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 12/3/2007


I am fond of Marcia Muller's writing and this one doesn't disappoint. Well written; good mystery. I recommend.


The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 12/1/2008


Another great book by Connelly. This one links Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller (The Lincoln Lawyer) in a suspense-filled murder investigation and trial. A bit slow-moving but held my interest throughout and the ending was superb. I felt as if I were in the courtroom during the trial scenes. Highly recommended.


Breaking Her Fall
Breaking Her Fall
Author: Stephen Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 12/26/2007
Helpful Score: 6


A situation that could happen to any parent - love, panic, reaction. Hard to put down. A quick-to-read, compelling story of a father's love; a family in crisis. I really enjoyed it.


Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 6/20/2011


Certainly the best book I've read all year. The familiar characters (read Castillo's first two novels) Police Chief Kate Burkholder and FBI agent John Tomasetti join forces to solve three brutal murders in what should be peaceful Amish country. The action is fast-paced with surprises and questions throughout. As fascinating as the crime-solving, is the growing love between John and Kate. Both are damaged by their pasts; both are looking for a relationship that will heal their pain.
I cannot recommend this book (and this series) stongly enough. It is a winner.


41 to 60 of 409 - Page: