Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Marcie D. (PatchesMom) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
After the Fire (Large Print)
After the Fire (Large Print)
Author: Henning Mankell
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/27/2019


I bought this book for the Senior citizens library that needs large print. Not many seniors have read it yet. However, I've notice when they check out the book, it has been returned in just a few short days. They are not generally fast readers. So I can't determine, as yet, how it is generally liked.


The Amateur
The Amateur
Author: Edward Klein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/25/2012


easy to read, also factual. The author didn't excuse the subject b/c he is an amateur.


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/30/2011


compilation of Sarah's views re: current events


America: Imagine the World Without Her
America: Imagine the World Without Her
Author: Dinesh D'Souza
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/20/2018


Excellent book about our history and culture


America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
Review Date: 8/20/2017


Excellent and informative read. I enjoyed it as I have all of his other books.


An Unquiet Mind
An Unquiet Mind
Author: Kay Redfield Jamison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Author recounts her personal struggle with bi-polar illness.


Anything is Possible (Amgash, Bk 2)
Anything is Possible (Amgash, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/16/2020


EXCELLLENT NARRATIVE OF FORMER CHARACTERS IN STROUT'S PREVIOUS BOOK(S). i READ IT TWICE :-)


A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
Author: Sylvia Nasar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2011


a interesting psycho-biography of the brilliant yet complicated young man


Born Under a Million Shadows: A Novel
Born Under a Million Shadows: A Novel
Author: Andrea Busfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/12/2020


INTERESTING, ENGAGING NOVEL ABOUT LIFE IN A WARN TORN DOUNTRY


Breaking Wild
Breaking Wild
Author: Diane Les Becquets
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/13/2020


intriguing book, full of adventure but frightening when she was lost in the Mountains when hunting with her bow & arrowm


CODE RED
CODE RED
Author: Nancy Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/31/2009


Exciting, heart-stopping thriller, hard to put down, a medical mystery difficult to solve. By author of SPECIAL TREATMENT and SIDE EFFECTS.


Confusion (Cazalet Chronicle, Bk 3)
Confusion (Cazalet Chronicle, Bk 3)
Author: Elizabeth Jane Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/10/2019


Great Writer, Elizabeth Jane Howard, writes Wonderful books, The Cazelet family Saga continues. Now I must follow the Sequel by reading the next, "Casting Off" Can't wait. Thanks


The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
Author: Bernard Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/16/2011


Very informative! Best book re: Islam I've read in a long time.


Culture of Corruption: Obama and His Team of Tax Cheats, Crooks, and Cronies
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Malkin documents the evidence; can't fault her about the evidence she presents to readers who care deeply about good government.


The Dark Side of Camelot (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
The Dark Side of Camelot (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
Author: Seymour M. Hersh
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/19/2020


the book reviewed for me all that I had heard and read in the media since it first occurred.


Diplomacy and Diamonds: My Wars from the Ballroom to the Battlefield
Review Date: 2/1/2018


I enjoyed the book from the author's perspective, Earlier I'd read Charlie Wilson's War by Crile, so I had a fairly good idea if the intricate involvement of the contribution of U.S. arms to free the Afghanis from Russia.


A Distant Shore (Vintage International)
A Distant Shore (Vintage International)
Author: Caryl Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/30/2011


protagonist's difficulties of assimilation in another country, another culture.


Double Fold: Libraries and the Assault on Paper
Double Fold: Libraries and the Assault on Paper
Author: Nicholson Baker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/27/2018


I am reviewing the book for my library work, determining what to keep and what to copy. thank you for offering it.


Embattled Rebel: Jefferson Davis as Commander in Chief
Embattled Rebel: Jefferson Davis as Commander in Chief
Author: James M. McPherson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/3/2018


My son a history teacher loved it.


End Game
End Game
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/13/2019


Indeed, I did enjoy "End Game"


1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
Want fewer ads?