Joanne K. - , - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
The Bookshop
The Bookshop
Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 12/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Wow, this was boring! I don't usually mind a slow pace as long as the story is good or the descriptions are vivid and interesting, but I just didn't get anything out of this one. And I missed the humor too, I guess it was waaayyy too dry for me.


In the Merde for Love (Paul West, Bk 2)
In the Merde for Love (Paul West, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/16/2007


BEWARE... that this book is the SAME as MERDE ACTUALLY - one was published in the U.K. and one in the U.S., under different titles!


Jamesland
Jamesland
Author: Michelle Huneven
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up having no idea what it was going to be. It's great! It seems true-to-life and it's intelligently written, and at the same time, it's fun to read and has engaging characters that you feel you get to know. It sort of reminds me of Heir to the Glimmering World, another smartly-written story with interesting characters (but Heir was odd in a way that Jamesland isn't).


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3371
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Couldn't finish this!! About 3 years ago (before I knew about this site) I read 80 pages or so and couldn't stand to waste any more time on it. Wish I would have written down specifically what bugged me because now I can't remember, except for something about the way he presented the descriptions of the religions, it was too simplistic and cheesy somehow. But like at least one other reviewer says, maybe getting past the first 100 pages would have done the trick.


Merde Actually
Merde Actually
Author: Stephen Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


BEWARE... that this book is the SAME as IN THE MERDE FOR LOVE - one was published in the U.S. and one in the U.K., under different titles!


Merde Actually
Merde Actually
Author: Stephen Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


BEWARE... that this book is the SAME as IN THE MERDE FOR LOVE - one was published in the U.S. and one in the U.K., under different titles!


The Phantom Tollbooth
The Phantom Tollbooth
Author: Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 10/4/2007


I read this... let's see... I was maybe 11-ish? I have such a strong recollection of LOVING it, thinking it was very clever and wishing I could find more books exactly like it.


Rita Rudner's Guide to Men
Rita Rudner's Guide to Men
Author: Rita Rudner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The book is really a list of about 200 short quips about men, or men vs. women. Some of them I'd heard before; some were very original and funny enough to make my eyes water. And there's a bonus little flip-scene in the upper right corners of the pages of a man and woman dancing which is very cute. My mom and I had the book for quite a while before getting bored with it.


Second Hand
Second Hand
Author: Michael Zadoorian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I picked this up thinking of my brother, who's a junker. I'm not all that interested in the junking thing myself but this book was much better than I expected. It was very amusing, touching but not sappy, and the main character (Richard) had a distinctive personality that never seemed contrived. I kept thinking it was a memoir and not a novel.

The only negative I can think of is, in a few places in the book, there's a page or two that deals with animal cruelty: Richard's love interest works for the Detroit Anti-Cruelty Shelter. Nothing insensitive in the writing, I just hate thinking about it - way too sad. If I read the book again I'd skip those pages.


They Whisper
They Whisper
Author: Robert Olen Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/10/2008


Been a while since I read this one but I remember being impressed (positively I mean). I think it's the only book other than A Man in Full (Tom Wolfe) that I've read which was so thoroughly from a male's perspective. It was well-written, sensitive and intelligent and felt that I understood him and respected him, even though his focus was always sexual/erotic... male, remember. I almost wouldn't call this a novel, it's more like a view of life from the inside of this man's head.


Without Feathers
Without Feathers
Author: Woody Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I only read the first 30 pages, and I couldn't go on. It was just too silly for my taste. It just seemed as if he just wrote down whatever ridiculous image popped into his head, and the images were just too goofy to hold any interest for me. Probably it would be much better if he were "performing" it onstage. Maybe the rest of the book is better... but I'll never know.


1 to 11 of 11