Joan C. (joan13) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 48 - Page:
Hocus Pocus
Hocus Pocus
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 10/26/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is classic Vonnegut sarcastic humor. I loved it! Dark, intellectual and witty. The main character is a vietnam vet, who also teaches at a university for learning challenged students of wealthy elite parents. There is plenty of infidelity. There is a prison, inmates. Social commentary. Read it-you will laugh.


Hoyle's Rules of Games
Hoyle's Rules of Games
Author: Albert H. Morehead and Geoffrey Mott-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/4/2011


Bring game night back--unite your friends and family. This is a great reference with rules for all your favorite games. Or learn something new...check it out! Have fun!


I'm Down
I'm Down
Author: Mishna Wolff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A very quick & easy read, a funny memoir by former model and humorist Mishna Wolff about her childhood--"too white" to easily fit in with her predominantly black neighborhood of Seattle, while simultaneously too poor and "black" to fit in with her rich white classmates when she is moved to a different school. Mishna can't dance, sing, double-dutch and is the worse player on her basketball team while her father desperately tries to make her "down." An entertaining look at her exploration of identity and race relations.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1047
Review Date: 11/18/2010
Helpful Score: 4


A totally unprepared idealistic dumb-ass decides to try living in the wilderness of Alaska and doesn't make it. I feel sorry for him and his family. But it was his own stupid decision.
I like other books by Krakauer, so my dislike of this one has nothing to do with the author or writing style-it was well researched and written. But, I think the guy who did this was in way over his head, perhaps a bit delusional. The story was a real bummer. Reading the book made me decide I have no desire to see the movie.
If you like stories were people set out to do things that are not a good idea, without a safe plan, and don't make it, this book is for you!


Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Author: Erik Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 2/2/2011


Sept 8, 1900--The Hurricane that leveled Galveston Island hit. This is the story of U. S. Weather Bureau Meteorologist Isaac Cline and the monster hurricane that devastated Galveston. Historical accounts of the devastation, the before and aftermath are all included here. Fascinating and tragic. If you have an interest in weather, hurricanes, turn of the century Galveston--this book wil thrill you. The sheer magnitude of the force iof nature and the human element are quite suspenseful. Larson really brings history to life! Fascinating!


Kovels' Antiques  Collectibles Price List 2001 33rd Edition (Kovels' Antiques  Collectibles Price List)
Review Date: 5/16/2012


A good reference to check values before purchasing.
Kovel's guide enables you to determine if the item in question is a treasure or junk.
This is a price guide, but not a replacement for real-world experience, training and study. Are you are an amateur collector? Or have you been collecting for years? This is a great reference to have at your fingertips.


Lawns (Ortho's All About Gardening)
Lawns (Ortho's All About Gardening)
Author: Marilyn Rogers, Warren Schultz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/19/2013


This book will teach you everything you need to know to obtain a great looking lawn. Lawn care aspects covered include seed selection, fertilizers, insecticides and pest eradication to mower blade heights,turf types. A must have reference book for anyone looking to take better care of their lawns, establish a new lawn, or repair problem lawns.
Very good color pictures and illustrations.
Simple and straight forward style.
It will help you to understand different grass types, weed varieties and how to treat them, how to select fertilizers and how much to apply based upon grass type, how much work you want to put into your lawn, and soil types.
Covers topics such as: What Makes a Great Lawn, Lawn Care,Building A Better Lawn,Problem Solving - weeds, insects and disease.


Love Lives: Using Astrology to Build the Perfect Relationship With Any Star Sign
Review Date: 5/10/2011


You will love this book if you are interested in astrology. It gives information for each sign separated out by male and female, because the two are not necessarily the same. There is helpful info about relationships between signs, not necessarily just dating relationships. Personality traits are broken down. A great astrology reference.


Lovers' Horoscopes
Lovers' Horoscopes
Author: Lori Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/10/2011


This book provides horoscopes for lovers, answering questions about compatibility and revealing star-sign characteristics to watch out for, etc.


The Men Who Stare at Goats
The Men Who Stare at Goats
Author: Jon Ronson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Now I don't even know if I want to see the movie. The book was just okay. It started good, but became a rambling meandering government conspiracy documentary going from tangent to tangent, on concepts loosely tied together. Entertaining and strange, not anything mind-boggling. All in all, a bit of a let down. Book was disjointed. I hope the movie was better.


Michael Langford's 35mm Handbook: the Classic Photo Guide
Michael Langford's 35mm Handbook: the Classic Photo Guide
Author: Michael Langford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/19/2013


This is the best basic handbook of 35mm photography(non-digital). A great reference.
According to Amazon's product description, there are sections on "cameras, film, solving picture problems, including isolating the main subject and photographing at night, tackling special projects such as photographing children, animals and recording electronic images, flash, accessories and special effects. There are easy-reference charts of condensed information on film types, lens fields, zoom lens ranges, filters, flash exposures, selling your photographs and a glossary of commonly-used photographic terms.


The Official Price Guide to Collector Knives, 13th Edition (Official Price Guide to Collector Knives)
Review Date: 5/16/2012


OVER 13,000 PRICES LISTED! From samurai swords to pocketknives and fighting knives, this is a great resource.
Lists of knives from all major manufacturers, including Bowie, Case, Winchester, and Ka-Bar--plus specialty and custom knife makers. Covering military knives, Remington sheath knives, and Marble knives--plus knife brands of the world, with info on dates of manufacture, trademarks, and value ranges. Author C. Houston Price has been the publisher and editor of Knife World magazine since 1979 and is a lifetime member of the Cutlery Hall of Fame.
Info on grading, buying, selling, age determination, spotting fakes.
FULLY ILLUSTRATED with 500 plus photographs.


The One That I Want
The One That I Want
Author: Allison Winn Scotch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/13/2010


I liked it better than her other book, Time of My Life, but still found the characters somewhat shallow. Maybe I just have a hard time identifying with the blonde cheerleader who marries the jock/sports star who was her highschool prom date. The writing style is good, easy to read. Probably geared to a late 20s or early 30s female reader who enjoys reading magazines or watching chick flicks. Just not my style. The premise of the plot and the lessons learned in the book were good. Nothing wrong with the writing, but not my cup of tea for reading.


A Prayer for Owen Meany
A Prayer for Owen Meany
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/31/2010


I absolutely love this book. It is one of my favorites. You will smile, laugh, you will cry. You will enjoy it, so I am not going to tell you about the details...just get it and read it!!


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 4/6/2012


This is a parable, addressing the challenges post-war German generations have had understanding the Holocaust. The Reader examines how the post-war generations should approach those who participated in or witnessed the atrocities.
A tale of 15-year-old Michael Berg, who has an affair with Hanna, a woman more than twice his age. She disappears one day, and he anticipates he will never see her again. However, after many years, their paths cross again at a trial where she is accused of a Nazi crime. Michael must then struggle with the implications of their relationship and what, if anything, he may owe Hanna.
A story of story of love, betrayal, war, and reading aloud.


The Seventh Scroll (A Novel of Ancient Egypt)
The Seventh Scroll (A Novel of Ancient Egypt)
Author: Wilbur Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/9/2011


An excellent follow up to The River God. Action-packed. Well written! 2nd of 4 in the Ancient Egyptian Series by Wilbur Smith. It brings the story from The River God into the paths of modern day characters...join them on their archaeological journey of discovery. Wilbur Smith does not let the reader down...you will want to read all four books in the series for sure. I know I do...Enjoy! Happy Reading!


Sexual Astrology : A Sign-by-Sign Guide to Your Sensual Stars
Sexual Astrology : A Sign-by-Sign Guide to Your Sensual Stars
Author: Joanna Woolfolk, Martine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/29/2011


I have had many years of enjoyment from this book and now it is time to pass it on...maybe you are the one who will enjoy it next.
Amazon.com describes it this way...
"Now you can discover the true happiness meant for you and you alone. This personal sign-by-sign guide shows you how to:

Chart Your Compatibility--Month-by-Month Matchmaking for Every Sign
Meet Your Mate--The Right Timing and Approach
Understand Your Own Needs and Desires
Please Your Partner--And Yourself
Fulfill Your Romantic Destiny
Sun signs are fine, but love signs light the way to happiness. The stars show you the way to navigate the romantic zodiac, liberate your sensual self, and achieve lasting love. "


Sometimes I Act Crazy : Living with Borderline Personality Disorder
Review Date: 11/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A great book to read if you, anyone you know or have a relationship with, or clients you work with have been diagnosed with or exhibit traits/symptoms of BPD, Borderline Personality Disorder. It explains a lot, and offers tips on what to expect, coping techniques, treatment, meds, etc.


Soul Survivor: The Reincarnation of a World War II Fighter Pilot
Review Date: 12/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Interesting story of a young boy's past life recall of life as a World War II fighter pilot. Not written on a professional level--it is the boy's parents putting his story and their experience into written format. Details their journey through this as a family, incorporating it into their own spiritual belief system and helping their son on his healing journey of discovery. I have read a number of "past life" books--if you are looking for a book to prove it is real, this is not the book. If you are skeptical, it will not convince you. But the story is great, and if you believe in this sort of thing,and can read for content and not style--you might enjoy this one.


The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (P.S.)
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (P.S.)
Author: David Wroblewski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 10/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


OMG!! I finally finished this freakin' book! A first novel for the author. Overall the story is enjoyable, well-written, but contains a bit too much detail about dogs, their training and breeding for me. The characters are well developed, including the dogs. The main character is a boy with no vocal ability to speak. He has enriching relationships with his family and the family dogs. He endures his own coming of age journey. A great book for dog lovers who enjoy reading long stories. Not my favorite book, but Stephen King loved it, so what do I know? P.S. I would rather actually read the real Hamlet.


21 to 40 of 48 - Page: