Facebook

Jane M. (nahgahgwon) - - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Blessings of Brokenness
The Blessings of Brokenness
Author: Dr. Charles Stanley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I have read of a few of Charles Stanley's books and have loved all of them. He is solidly based on the Bible. His writing is fresh. His words have changed my life. I remember reading this as I was walking through a very difficult time in my life. This book completely changed the way I saw that situation. I still don't like hard times or tough situations but I view them differently and approach dealing with them much differently.


A Change of Heart (Harmony) (Large Print)
A Change of Heart (Harmony) (Large Print)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I have read all of the books in the Harmony series and I have loved them all. This one was especially funny to me. I don't want to give it away. But I just can't help but laugh at some of the crazy ideas the friends in his church come up with.


The Christmas Scrapbook : A Harmony Story (Gulley, Philip)
The Christmas Scrapbook : A Harmony Story (Gulley, Philip)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/27/2009


This is perhaps my favorite of the Christmas books. The story is short but packed full of humor. Gulley has a way of creating quite vivid pictures with his words. The thing I remember most about this book is the part where is in his weekly scrapbooking class to make a scrapbook for his wife. He thinks he has improved his skills greatly when he somehow manages to glue is hand to the top of head. He then has to have his hair cut in order to free his hand. Then loses a layer or two of skin to the glue in a hand washing. In true harmony style he gets his head shaved upon returning home only to have it start the rumor he has cancer and won't be alive much longer. He injures himself which only adds fuel to the fire. I love it! I attended church with those same people growing up. they just had different names. It's a wonderful and quick read!


Elvis Takes a Back Seat
Elvis Takes a Back Seat
Author: Leanna Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book was a fast read and a lot of fun. As the other reader mentioned it is not especially deeply rooted in God's word and does not give you a sense of who the character really does believe in exaclty. But it is fun. It has a couple of twists that make it all worth the time. I enjoyed the book and then shared it.


A Fish Out of Water
A Fish Out of Water
Author: Helen Palmer, P. D. Eastman (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is my daughter's very favorite book. I loved reading P.D. Eastman growing up too. The story is quite simple. A boy gets a fish and is told how much to feed it and not to over feed it. But he does feed the fish too much and consequently out grows his dish, the bath tub then the basement. It's a fun story. My daughter never tires of it. It taught her that when we tell her not to something there is a reason why we say that.


Harry Bentley's Second Chance (Yada Yada Brothers, Bk 1)
Harry Bentley's Second Chance (Yada Yada Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Dave Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book after I read the Yada Yada Where do I go book. While I think this Harry Bentley is a nice man I was not so impressed with the book. I think the author was trying to hard to "sound black" in his writing. I found it somewhat stereo typical. I did not like the choices the character made with seemingly no consequences. I don't want to give the story away so I won't list the exact details. But I just didn't think it was the way a man of his intelligence and experiences should have done. I don't think that God rewards us when we make such choices as seems to be the case in this book. I have no interest in reading any books in the series following these two. It is not nearly as captivating as the Yada Yada books were. I don't like the characters nearly as much. Bought the books new on Amazon and was quite happy to swap them!


How Do You Spank a Porcupine?
How Do You Spank a Porcupine?
Author: Ronald Rood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a wonderful true story of how a family found and took in a little baby porcupine who was lost and abandoned by his family. It was a wonderful read. There are some pictures of Piney as he lived with the family. A wonderful story.


Ida Mae Tutweiler and the Traveling Tea Party
Ida Mae Tutweiler and the Traveling Tea Party
Author: Ginnie Siena Bivona
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book because I had seen the Hallmark movie that was based on this book. I think it was called "Bound By A Secret." Anyway, after reading the book I was a little disappointed. Not because the book was bad. The book was really a wonderful read. But despite a few things it was NOTHING like the movie. I know they change some things for the movies. But the entire premise was different. Had they changed Jane's profession to one of a traveling writer or reporter the book would have been completely unrecognizeable.
The book however is quite a nice story. It is about the love and enduring friendship between two women. Something only women can truly comprehend. It was full of details about their pasts and present all woven together in a wonderful tale.
I bought the book through the authors web site for a small amount compared to what used book dealers are trying to get now. It was autographed and numbered in a special limited edition too. I won't be trading this book. But I would certainly suggest it to any woman looking for a great read on a cold winter day or a warm summer afternoon.
www.ginniebivona.com


The King Who Rained
The King Who Rained
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2009


I remember reading and loving this book in third grade. I visited a friend this summer and enjoyed reading her copy to my daughter. She loved it. We read it over and over again. It was fun to relive the memory and make a new one too.


A Little GOlden Book THE WONDERFUL SCHOOL
A Little GOlden Book THE WONDERFUL SCHOOL
Author: May Justus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/29/2009


This was my very favorite book when I was little. It was one of the few I actually owned. We didn't have a lot of money and so the library was close and went every week. but this book I had before I learned to read and then read once I could read it myself. I just loved it. It was a happy book. When I was pregnant with my daughter I began scouring antique stores to find a copy for her as mine is without front or back covers. We eventually found a copy. Now I enjoy reading it to her. I just love this book. I have happy memories of learning to read this book.


On a Someday
On a Someday
Author: Roxanne Henke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have read all of Roxanne Henke's books. This one was the latest. Having read her other books my expectations were quite high. This book was good. But it seemed to take a different path than her other books. The other books were only written in the voices of the women. This one however included the voices of her husband and her son. Yet the daughter and other son were completely out of the loop as was her best friend. I think I just expected a bit more depth in characters as a big picture than I got. That is not to say that this was not a good book. I can honestly say except for Marley and Me she is the only author whose books make me cry EVERY single time. I have never experienced that before.
The story revolves around a woman who is a college professor. She is at a point in her life where her kids are all grown up and on their own. Her husband has his own successful business and things could reasonably slow down in life. Instead she goes out on a limb and takes the time to write a book. The book takes off like wildfire and she lands an interview on the Today show, speaking engagements etc. Her life takes on a whole direction. Things change in her family that also take on a whole new direction. I don't want to give the story away so I will stop there. It's a good read. Just not what I expected. She is a wonderful author that I hope will write more stories.


ROSES IN DECEMBER
ROSES IN DECEMBER
Author: MARILYN WILLETT HEAVILIN
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book many years ago after meeting the author and hearing her story. It is one of hurt, loss, hope and healing. I can honestly say that it was something I will never forget.


Where Did That Baby Come From?
Where Did That Baby Come From?
Author: Debi Gliori
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2009


My daughter loved this book when she was three. The whole story rhymes. It is an honest and cute look at life with a new baby. My daughter loved to finish saying the rhymes on the page. We read it so much she had the whole story memorized. We found it recently cleaning out her bookcase and we had to read it again. She still loves it.


1 to 13 of 13